We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning resort in beautiful setting with fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently spent eight nights at sala samui after the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff,from the general manager to the staff at the pool and restaurants, the spa and the reception were all incredibly friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I arrived from Bangkok feeling quite ill and chef nick made me chicken broth and rice, sorted out medication for me and was genuinely concerned, as were all the other member of staff. We loved the pools, the one to the left,looking at the beach, was for adults and the one nearer to the restaurant was for all to use. The beach bar was great for snacks and happy hours twice a day. The restaurants menu and wine list were extensive and they would make anything you asked for whether at the restaurant or rom service. The food was delicious and quite international alongside all the usual Thai traditional fare. There were a few themed nights if you wanted to participate - a beach BBQ one night, Thai evenings with dancing and a live band playing Thai music. Another evening we were serenaded by an English singer who sang anything from ed Sheehan to crowded house brilliantly.
There are several kayaks you can take out free of charge to kayak along the shoreline and maybe go the next bay along. We did this a few times. The pool attendants sorted out sunbeds and parasols and kept your glasses plied with fresh water all day long. Coconut chicken and crispy squid were lovely for light lunch at pool bar.
We had a gorgeous complimentary Thai massage which I would highly recommend. There is an extensive spa menu to enjoy.
There is a shuttle bus which runs in the hour up til ten at night to chaweng if you want to stock up on all the usual goodies and maybe take in a ladyboy show or just have a meal. The cost is just 300 baht per person and is just charged to your bill
We stayed in a pool villa which gave us our own private piece of paradise to go to after an exhausting day spent at the pool. The room was spacious with a huge bed, daybed and large flat screen tv which proved handy for night time viewing of Wimbledon! The bathroom has an outside shower, bath, wc with plenty of towels. You are given toiletries, dressing gown, slippers, umbrellas, tea coffee facilities, mini bar not too expensive. By your pool are two sunbeds and another sheltered daybed with fixed huge parasol which you will be very grateful for. It reached 98f whilst we were there!
If I have one piece of information that is not connected to the hotel it is that the half day tour of the island was not very good. We had booked this prior to leaving uk and they take you to some awful dirty and slightly quirky places. Maybe leave it at that.
So all in all the hotel, staff, food, amenities etc i give 100% and highly recommend it to you all.
ps forgot to mention that I was sent a huge bouquet of orchids from the staff wishing me a
A speedy recovery!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 with pool. Lovely room very near to pools and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear "louiserobertson2001",

Thank you very much for your long, extensive and very positive review of your recent stay at SALA Samui. From ther entire team at SALA, we sincerely hope you have recovered completly, and we would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALAS Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is our second visit and it won't be the last. Well located away from the frenzy of Chaweng. The beach is nice and the facilities great. The various room layouts are interesting and comfortable. Having said all that, the staff really make it ideal. We were both a family (12) for 10 days and a couple for a further 5 days and the staff really were exceptional and helpful to all. We had a couple of minor health issues and the staff were helpful beyond necessary.

Room Tip: The pool villa rooms are great and can be private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear "Chris M",

Warm greetings from the entire team at SALA Samui !
Thank you very much for your great review of SALA Samui, and we will be delighted to welcome you back a third time !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! The check in process was efficient as we were sat down at the desk in the open air reception and provided with a cold towel + refreshing drink. Escorted to our fantastic room...whilst being shown the direction to all the facilities...we settled in very quickly. The biggest + for this resort is not the fantastic pool/restaurant area on the beach, nor the quality of the facilities - but the friendly, personalised service and "cant do enough" attitude of all the staff.
We we're planning our return whilst on the drive to the airport!

Room Tip: go for the plunge pool...great to laze in before/after dinner with a cocktail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maurie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear "Maurie_10",

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to thank you very much for your kind words, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our experiences at this hotel were excellent. I booked a holiday for my wife's 30th and requested a couple of items in the room before we got there. The hotel staff via email including the General Manager were very very helpful. When we got to the room it was perfect.
We had a problem with our luggage as British Airways had not sent our bags through to Ko Samui - the hotel staff took control and said they would investigate and come back to us - sure enough we had our luggage later that day.
I must say there was nothing that was too much trouble for the hotel staff, they really made the holiday exceptional.
The food was great, the beech was divine, the pool villa was amazing, the setting of the hotel is nicely laid out, staff would top up our drinks while we were on the beech - I cannot recommend this hotel enough.
The General Manager, Dick, was such a nice guy. I emailed him before the holiday just to obtain some answers to a couple of questions I had - Dick emailed back and put my mind at rest.
I would like to thank all the staff and Dick for making our holiday one to remember. All the best

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Irfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear signature "Irfster",

Thank you very much for you positive review of SALA Samui. We are truly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that your wifes birthday was as special "as it should be" !
We would be delighted to welcome you back in a near fuiture

Kind regards from the entire team at SALA Samui ,

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We spent the first part of our week in Samui at the SALA for 4 nights on our honeymoon. I want to begin by saying that we spent the last 3 nights at the Banyan Tree (5X the cost) and the entire time we were wishing we were still at SALA. From the moment we arrived until the time we checked out we felt so valued by all the hotel staff. This resort is full of honeymooners, but we still felt like we were VIP.

Our villa was so relaxing and homey. We spent most of our time at the beach but on the odd days or evenings when we wanted to be in the villa, our private pool was such a treat.

The beach is lovely! Perfect for swimming and just the right amount of action happening. Not to busy nor too quiet. The staff constantly brings water to ensure you aren't going to suffer from dehydration. Every so often a little guy would set up a stand in front of the beach massage and he sold BBQ skewer, corn on the cob, fresh fruit and it was all so fabulous! Support this little guy, the food is delicious and so cheap.

The dining is exquisite. The cuisine felt so at home, but also had many Thai options... there was so much to choose from. Great breakfast with a menu and buffet, we could either order a la carte or do the buffet or even both! Pangea's pizza is to die for! Multiple happy hours make the drinks even more affordable, take advantage! Or you can walk to the local 7-11 to buy liquor as well.

We only had one bad experience while we were there the whole time, and the resort compensated more than enough for their mistake. They seriously pride on customer service! Such a treat.

SALA Samui is truly a little piece of heaven and if you are debating your stay here, I would highly recommend that you book. The value is excellent, you'll feel spoiled for what you pay. If Thailand weren't so far we would quickly return to SALA in a heartbeat. Hopefully we can return for our anniversary one day!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank jheonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear "beacbumjr",

Thank you very much for your extensive and flattering review ! We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I really don't know how there are any negative reviews of this resort - I think you'd have to be fairly nitpicky to see something wrong. Everything was fantastic from beginning to end. We were picked up at the airport promptly and even though we arrived rather late in the day, we were greeted upon check in with cold towels infused with jasmine and ginger and mint iced tea. We were brought to our absolutely beautiful pool villa suite, with our private daybed and pool and spacious villa suite. It was stunning, even at night! We spent 6 days at the resort. We dined at the main restaurant on the property which was great and had a great selection of lunch and dinner options. Breakfast was OK - the menu was the same everyday, but not a big deal as it was accompanied by a breakfast buffet. We also ate at Pangea, the Italian resort. Most of the staff spoke English and was really well maintained. We did not spend much time on the beach, but did enjoy the public pools for a few hours. The spa was wonderful - we took full advantage and had a few treatments. We booked offsite events through the hotel - like Muay Thai and Ziplining - both seamless. I would definitely recommend Sala and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on the pool villa suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Angelack,

Thank you very much for your great review of SALA Samui !
Although the basic breakfast menu is the same, we always have "daily breakfast specials", rotating on a 7 days cycle, one day it's steak and eggs, another day it's salmon fishcakes and the next day it can be Chorizo Eggs,etc . The 5 hot dishes + 2 cold salads on the Asian buffet selection is also changed every day..and so is most of the pastry, and the selection of coldcuts etc, and the daily breakfast pass arounds that the Chef offers in the mornnig is also different every day, -one day its warm Cinnamon Rolls straight from the oven, another its warm strawberry croissants or miniature BLT sandwiches, etc. We do put in an effort to offer a as varied breakfast as possible, -but most people tend to eat "the same" every morning, whereby the basic menu remains the same.
Overall, we are very happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay, and on behalf of the entire team, we would delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is very nice and the staff is very helpful, attentive and always has a smile on their face. I would definitely recommend the hotel and go there again. The Sala Villas with their private pools are just great and the hotel is just great for relaxation. The beach is usually not so crowded. The only minor downside is the air condition, which was a lil bit loud.

Room Tip: The Sala Villas are just a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ealj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear "Ealj",

Thank you evry much for your positive review of SALA Samui, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
6.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
10.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,646 reviews
4.8 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort

Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: £149 - £689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing