We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings....Sea Lice?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Reviewed 20 February 2012

2 couples - 21 nights - 50 yrs young!

Sea Lice - scroll to the bottom for info.

We've traveled the world and have stayed in 5 star Hotels as well as hovels in the hills of Ethiopia for $3 a night where the only light and heat was from a small candle.

On this trip we wanted to escape the cold Canadian winters and head for sun and beach at an affordable price. As always, we relied on TA to scout out our lodgings and we were not let down.

There was a mixed bag of reviews about Honey Cottages but the majority were very positive and Choeng Mon looked like the place for us and the price for the beach front room was to tempting.

Airport is only 10 minutes away and it cost us 500 baht ($17) to get a ride in a brand new SUV for the 4 of us. Lots of cabs waiting outside the airport. It cost us 400 baht to return to the airport, as the hotel made the arrangements for us....10 minute trip.

We write this with mixed feelings about the place even though we spent 21 nights there.

POSITIVES:

- Right on the beach, with a terrific infinity pool that a allows you to stare at the ocean only 30 yards away. No other hotel on that beach has that kind of setting and there are a couple of really nice hotels here.

- Cleanliness of the rooms. Everyday our bedding was completely changed. Fresh large bath towels and beach towels daily. A couple of bottles of water provided daily. We did have a problem one day with an infestation of little bugs, but the hotel spayed the room and no further problems. Hey, your in the tropics and you've got to expect this...no big deal. $300 a night rooms have the same problem.

- We had room #15 (beach front) first room on the beach right beside the pool, with a fantastic view and sound of the ocean literally yards away. Nice patio with chairs to sit on and take in the morning view. See the 'negatives' about this room though.

- Fridge in the room and 'whisper' air conditioners (easy to use).

- Friendly staff, always willing to help....as long as they could understand you. We were surprised by the limited English that the staff spoke. The best staff person was the terrific lady that worked behind the bar 7 days a week 12 hours a day....she was a wealth of knowledge.

- Location on the beach. It's located at one end of the beach with plenty of shade and sun for everyone. Plenty of people walking by for those that enjoy 'people watching' but far quieter then the center of the beach.

- The Boathouse Hotel is 2 doors away and is a beautiful resort to walk through to get to the main street. We always walked through that hotel because of the beautiful grounds and at night with it all lit up, it was really beautiful.

- Breakfast on the beach. Nice breakfast with the average choices, included with the room.


NEGATIVES:

It's a shame, it's just some really simple things that could really make this a fantastic place.
It's a lovely small boutique hotel run by a family and they simply cannot see that the place is not being kept up. Nothing some paint and regular cleaning wouldn't take care of.

The cleanliness of the pool, bar and beach area are really lacking. Obviously when there was some flooding, they placed sand bags all along the beach. Every other hotel cleaned them up, but not Honey Cottages...still sitting there partially covered in sand littered along the beach in front of their place.

Heck, we pulled out a dozen of them ourselves, with the owner watching hoping he would get the message...Nope.

- The pool and bar area floors, tables and chairs are dirty. The only time they were ever washed down was when we did it ourselves. Seriously....food is dropped and walked over, we saw dogs and kids pee on the floor, on more then one occasion and nothing ever washed.

We watched kids and dogs pee all over the place and some parents thought it was cute???
I guess European kids from about the age of 7 and under, don't wear swim trunks on the beach?? I understand 1-3 yrs of age at most...but 7 and a little girl....call me old fashion I guess?

- Sundeck chairs, tables and cushions are filthy. Never once saw them clean the chairs or tables. Every other hotel hangs the cushions over the top of the chairs, so that if it rains, they will at least drain out. Not Honey Cottages....the lounge cushions are old, rotten and full of holes. Every morning we'd grab the towel from our room and wash our chairs and tables down.

- Room #15 while great view and location, you had to put up with the noise from the bar. On more then one occasion I had to call the front desk at midnight and ask them to have the music turned down and that was only because we could see that it was only STAFF at the bar playing pool.

Also, the craziest thing was our bathroom was attached to another rooms bathroom. A partial wall in between, but open at the top! Whenever your, talking, showering or using the toilet, the room next door can hear EVERYTHING and can even SMELL (you know what).

We have mixed feelings about this place. We love the location, the view from our room, the infinity pool, the friendly staff, the clean rooms, but the rest of the cleanliness was a real turn off and I can only see it getting worse.

I'd never stay here for 3 weeks again...a couple of nights, sure. Which is a shame, as it's pretty darn expensive to find ocean front rooms at such an affordable rate.

We visited the entire island and next time we would choose Lamai to stay at. Not crazy like Chaweng, but has far more choices in restaurants, browsing and a terrific beach.

Choeng Mon's main street is about 3 blocks long, with about 15 restaurants, 10 massage places, 10 tailor shops, and few shops selling tourist stuff.

SEA LICE - are in the waters of Choeng Mon beach. We never encountered them at Chaweng Beach, or Lamai Beach or Bophut Beach.

You'll feel little bites...I thought I was just having to scratch a lot. When you get out of the water, they will persist around the bottoms of your swim trunks. We just took a shower and that got rid of them.

I must admit, I love the ocean and the sea lice never prevented me or the other couple with us, from going into the water....not until the National Marine Park tour.

They were terrible at the beaches on the National Marine Park tour. We took the tour to do some snorkeling, along with hundreds of other people, but of the 3 beaches we went to, I bet we saw less then 10 people do any snorkeling and not for very long....should have done the kayaking.

Definition of Sea Lice:
The larvae are large enough to be visible to the naked eye but become nearly invisible in the water - unfortunately the only reliable method of identifying when sea lice are present is by the appearance of the rash on other swimmers or divers. During summer months high concentrations of these stinging larvae may float in "clouds" or "blooms" that affect large areas of beach or ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rainmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

Fantastic location literally steps away from the beach.
Sunlounges, pool & bar very handy.
Efficient airconditioning.
Rooms serviced daily, beach towels provided, good wi-fi reception.
Hotel restaurant a short stroll up the beach, best location of all restaurants on this beach.
Quiet due to low season, staff very kind & helpful.
Great massages available on the beach, beach vendors not "in your face" & very cheerful.
Restaurants nearby, all along the beach.
Those complaining about the rocks on the beach must have been incapable of walking the 20m required to get clear sandy access to the water!
Don't get a fright due the dismal track down to the hotel from the road & access the main street by walking along the beach.
The one thing would have improved things for us would have been flatter pillows in addition to the one thick one provided as both my husband & I prefer a low profile pillow. Staff lent us the sofa cushions which are a better sleeping height! Airport transfers efficient but at extra cost (similar to that of a taxi).

Room Tip: We chose a beachfront bungalow, away from the pool / bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maccadamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very good value for money, clean rooms, good location . Staff is very kind and friendly . The room and public area were extremely clean. It was very quiet and nice. The pool good design , near a fine bar. In the hotel restaurant great food .Massage at the super, made every day . Are many shops just outside the hotel . Close to the car rental agency .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We took a trip to Choeng Mon to have lunch at Honey Seafood Restaurant connected with Samui Honey Cottages. It is a lovely setting under the trees on the shore at the end point of the beach.

Although there was a number of staff standing around with only about 5 tables of guests we had to signal a staff member every time we wanted to order food, ask for napkins or more drinks. Our starters & mains were well presented but lacked any decent taste or flavour. After all the good reviews we were disappointed with our meal.

Just before we left a female chef set up 2 tables out in the direct sunlight on the sand & placed 2 trays of frozen fish on them. These fish looked neither pre cooked or smoked just raw frozen fish. It didn't take long before the flies were swarming. When we noticed the specials board for that evenings meals, you guessed it, it was fish!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bintang_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The location of these cottages is magnificent. Would strongly advise to pay the little extra and get the 'beach front' cottages. The cottages are a little dated and could do with some TLC however they are clean comfortable and air conditioned. The one we had was virtually on the beach and a million dollar location.
Some of the cottages around the pool area are pretty close together with could be a problem if there were noisey neighbours.
The property is quite a small one which is great as you get to know the staff and mangement. There is a neat small pool and a lovely little bar right on the beach.
The restaurant is a little walk along the beach and serves a 'menu' breakfast which after two weeks became a little boring but the staff, upon request, would provide variations.
We ate there at night and was probable the best restaurant we ate in and very reasonable as well.
There are a lot of restaurants along the beach, and many up on the main road (short walk).
Previous reviews have complained about the rocks on the beach opposite the Honey cottages and it is true it is not ideal for swimming directly in front of the cottages ubt it is only a short walk along the beach to an area where there are no rocks and it is a lovely area for swimming.
Overall we loved staying here as the cottages were comfortable and the location is magnificent. How anyone could complain they are too dear is beyone me.

Room Tip: Little dated- not 5 star but comfortable for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here last week with my family (2 adults, 2 kids). Booked a family connecting room, which was two rooms (main room with two double beds, safe, TV, fridge etc - connecting room with double bed - large bathroom with separate bath and walk in shower). Room was clean and light and very spacious, and the breakfast in the restaurant (a short walk up the beach was lovely) but there were down sides. Our room was right next to reception and in a small block with rooms above. It wasn't particularly private and we were disturbed by noise from either the reception or other guests most evenings and early mornings. Moving was not an option as this was the only family room - and anyway, the noise from the beach bar in the evening would have meant we were jumping from the frying pan into the fire!). The towels and sheets were very tatty and worn - one towel fell apart when we used it! And the pool, although a nice addition was very small and the water murky.

If all of this sounds like nit picking, I should clarify that we paid THB5,000 a night which isn't budget in Thailand, especially as this was not high season. This place used to be a very basic beach bungalow place back in the day and has since been upgraded and the space capitalised on - but I don't think the standards of service match the price they are charging. The price per night was only slightly cheaper than one of the bigger hotels, with much better facilities just down the beach. Staff were also not as friendly at times as you'd normally expect in Thailand (for example, we ask about the possibility of a babysitter one night and were told a blank no, they didn't have staff, without suggesting an alternative. In a cheap and cheerful place ok, but when you're charging more, I expect more!).

Location is great though - Cheon Mon beach is perfect for families, really shallow water and pretty clean beach, some sellers walking about but not in your face and plenty of lovely places for a massage. Also some great, cheap food options - again with lovely staff who are friendly and helpful.

We had a lovely week but would probably not return to this resort unless we could work out a different room configuration.

Room Tip: Ear plugs for the family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ettibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A friend of mine, who lives in Bangkok, recommended this hotel and the location. The hotel is very nice, beach view and garden view bungalows are good (we stayed in both) and the hotels restaurant is also very good. We had breakfast included, and it was very good, too. The swimming pool is just a dream, almost inside the beach; they even serve cocktails inside. Ask for Sopa, she is the one reasonable of the bar, makes the best cocktails we ever had in our 6 weeks trip in Asia. And if you need anything else, she will help you. We planed our day-tours after talking to her and hearing her opinion, she speaks very good English and helps you with anything else, you may need.
The hotel is not the typical Thai-tourist-place, it is quiet, familiar, every Wednesday they offered free cocktails with snacks (like very good spring rolls or squid etc). The beach is a bit smaller than the more famous Chaweng-Beach and because of this more quiet, but we rent a motorcycle and after seeing the whole island we were even happier with our choice. For us it was the nicest beach of the whole island.
We will definitely stay in this hotel again, if we come back to Koh Samui.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lausch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
0.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
1.3 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
722 reviews
8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#25 of 51 in Lamai Beach
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#4 of 10 in Choeng Mon
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort

Address: 24/34 M.5 Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Honey Cottages)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range: £20 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort. Are resort on the beach front of choengmon beach running bussiness by family style resort area are on the beach facilities service bar and restaurant swimming pool near beach and beach sun bed service thai massage is available waiting for your holiday looking for relax beach resort looking for samui honey cottages beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Honey Cottages Hotel Choeng Mon
Samui Honey Hotel
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing