We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super room, awful sunbeds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Radcliffe on Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super room, awful sunbeds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Great room that was spotless, large, comfortable with big shower and towels changed every day. Great location at the quiet end of Choeng Mon beach. Good breakfast with lovely service at the Honey seafood restaurant a few yards along the beach. The big criticism is the SUNBEDS! If only they would spend a bit of money and buy some new ones. The beds are so awful that they were hardly used, consequently leaving the bar very quiet. Bar staff spent their time playing pool instead of cleaning their bit of the beach as all the other businesses seemed to. I really think that having 12 clean, new, unbroken beds would be much better than having 30 ramshackle dirty beds scattered along the beach. Increased bar and snack income would pay for them in a couple of weeks! Having said all that, if we return to Choeng Mon, I will consider Honey Cottages along with other possibilities

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ddickinscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    46
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Near the tip of the best beach on Koh Samui, is the charming and warm and welcoming small resort of Samui Honey. Having stayed in many of the hotels on this beach -- Choeng Mon beach -- which has superlative swimming, this resort has the friendliest and least pretentious of staff. When one arrives it feels like you've walked into an enclave of a lightly caring Thai family. And, as well, along with a great team of staff, one has a choice of rooms that not only are quite close to the beach but also allow one to revel in the lushness of a well-maintained Thai garden, with plants and trees and flowers everywhere along beautifully maintained garden paths. So a guest has the experience of the best of two worlds -- the beach, and the thriving of a greener expression of nature. Samui Honey also has a restaurant -- with nuanced meals, both European and Thai, and a bar right near the pool. This was a perfect place to get away from all the noise of the world, to allow a certain peacefulness and trust and fun and joie de vivre to seep deep into my blood and bones.

Room Tip: each of the rooms have their own unique quiet appeal and feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were only here for a stop over between Ko Tao and Krabi, but would have loved to stay longer. The Samui Honey cottages are perfectly located in a quiet corner of the lovely bay of Choenmong, Ko Samui. It is a charming little hotel with nice comfortable rooms. The rooms are all situated around a charmingly landscaped little courtyard with pool and koi pond. The girls at reception were sweet; the boys serving in the bar/restaurant a little inexperienced and a tad disinterested it seemed.
The only disadvantage of this lovely bay is that they're allowing jet skis.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

So Samui Honey Cottages are on the beach restaurant on what I think is the best bit of beach in samui.
Its a large peninsula of Golden sand with a high or low tide walk across to a small island and at low tide sand bands to play on. Very safe and great for space (very large area)
Bar and massages are right on the beach and the food is very good

The Cottages are simple but functional. Clean and well furnished (do not expect 4/5 star) tho the bed was better then some 5 stars I have stayed at

We sat out most evenings 2 feet from the beach watch the world go by, fab!

The owner is quite a local character full of chat and stories but pays very good attention to his guests!



Pool is small but great if you like to sit have a drink and see life pass by.



Great for families.........



Would I go back?



Yes

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for a week in June and had a wonderful holiday. Originally we were going to use it as a bit of a base to explore but we didn't go anywhere for the first 5 days as we were enjoying the place so much. As others have remarked, the occasional bit of tattiness (come on, it is a 3 star!) is more than offset by the upsides- friendly and helpful staff, an owner who is the "host with the most" and the unique opportunity to just walk out of your cottage staright onto the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had an experience of a lifetime staying here. Its clean, modern rooms are well designed around a green courtyard, with a pool near to the beach. The beach is so close that within a few minutes you can be in the sea. The owner is a jolly sort who obviously cares about his guests, staff, and property. Everyone seems to care if you're enjoying your stay...but leave you alone enough so that you can have solitude.It is a perfectly pitched place that offers you the best of a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms laid out on its twisting paths seem to have quiet and are close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clouzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Enjoyed 3 relaxing weeks at this friendly and peaceful family run boutique hotel on the beach. Prior to booking we did read several mixed reviews on TA about this hotel and area. For a beach front cottage with breakfast included, this looked like the ideal place to escape for a few weeks.

We certainly enjoyed our stay but would not return to this property again for a number of reasons.
If you are looking for a quiet area in Koh Samui, then this is the perfect spot, especially for those with small children, as Choeng Mon Beach is a protected Bay and very shallow water with a nice sandy bottom.

* Beware of Sea Lice in the Bay! * Just do a Google search on Sea Lice, they are as annoying as Mosquitoes and do bite! This was our first encounter with Sea Lice having traveled to many tropical destinations in the world. They ruined our snorkeling trip to the Marine Park as well, the bites were nasty forcing us and about 100 other people on the tour from the water.

Here's what we enjoyed about this hotel:
1 - Small family run boutique hotel
2 - Nice infinity pool steps from the beach
3 - Individual beach front cottages or a choice of ocean view or pool side rooms
4 - Breakfast included daily at beach side
5 - Friendly pleasant staff
6 - Rooms cleaned daily with bottled water
7 - Very good in room free wifi
8 - Air conditioned rooms
9 - Small fridge in room
10 - Electric kettle for instant coffee or tea (supplied)
11 - Great value for what you receive compared to North American prices for same

Room for improvement:
With a few improvements, this quaint hotel could become a premier property and easily raise their prices without any difficulty or complaints what so ever!

1 - Curtains in our room were worn, see thru and blood stained
2 - Shower drain kept clogging and backing up daily
3 - Lounge chairs and pool area filthy (With a little effort, table and chairs, food scraps, etc., could be easily cleaned by staff working the bar)
4 - Many times we observed people come right off the beach and use the pool and help themselves to the limited number of beach loungers, without staff caring at all.

The pool and grounds were clean and tidy, but with a little extra effort, this place could be superb! Because of what we observed and experienced, unless the little things mentioned above and a few others are taken care of, we would not return to this property again. There are less expensive properties next to the beach that look very well maintained.

If we were to return to Koh Samui, our choice would be Lamai. A beautiful stretch of beach with lots of restaurants and shopping, but not crazy loud and busy like Chaweng Beach.

Room Tip: A nice selection of rooms to choose from to suit your tastes and budget. There are individual cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Mon hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirati Beach Resort
Kirati Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort

Property: Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
Address: 24/34 M.5 Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Samui Honey Cottages)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort. Are resort on the beach front of choengmon beach running bussiness by family style resort area are on the beach facilities service bar and restaurant swimming pool near beach and beach sun bed service thai massage is available waiting for your holiday looking for relax beach resort looking for samui honey cottages beach resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Honey Cottages Hotel Choeng Mon
Samui Honey Hotel
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing