We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Valley View

Welcome to Valley View - the start of a wonderful holiday. The steps lead down to the front door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Valley View - the start of a wonderful holiday. The steps lead down to the front door.
Steps leading down from parking area to front door The light and welcoming entrance hallway and front door - the bedrooms are off to the left.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Welcome to Valley View - the start of a wonderful holiday. The steps lead down to the front door.
Steps leading down from parking area to front door
The light and welcoming entrance hallway and front door - the bedrooms are off to the left.
The large and comfortable lounge/diner with large screen TV, DVDs and games for those wet days.
The lounge / diner looking towards the door to the conservatory - the TV is to the right.
The attractive well supplied kitchen from the hallway looking towards the door to the conservatory.
The well appointed kitchen viewed from the door to the conservatory.
The master bedroom looking towards the patio door to the decking - hear the birds in the morning!
Another view of the master bedroom showing the corner shower and small TV
The attractive twin bedroom which is located off the hall between the two double bedrooms.
The second double bedroom with patio door out to the decking
The recently refurbished bathroom with over bath shower, basin and toilet.
The warm and airy conservatory - perfect for breakfast /tea /relaxing if you can't sit outside.
The sun trap decking - perfect for outdoor dining or just relaxing with a glass of wine.
The decking area looking towards the conservatory with the views over the valley to the right.
The lower garden courtyard area accessed via steps.
The centre of the village with the Castle Hotel and sea front seating.
The outside eating area at the St Brides Hotel in the village centre.
Boats at the top of Little Haven beach with the Swan bistro behind.
The beautiful sands at low tide leading from Little Haven to Broad Haven.
The wonderful sands at Broad Haven with Stack Rock in the distance.
Evening view over St Brides Bay from cliffs between Little Haven and Broad Haven.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Little Haven, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Teedandco
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Following a family wedding in Wales, we were looking for a cottage to finish off the week before returning home to the north of England. Valley View appeared to fit the bill and after explaining our request to the owner, he happily agreed to allow us to book a shorter than normal stay. We arrived late on Sunday night to find a warm, beautifully furnished cottage awaiting us.
As we had no food with us, we wandered into the village the next morning in search of breakfast. There is nowhere in Little Haven that offers breakfast (the cafe has closed and the pubs didn't open until 11am) but we were told by the information office that there were cafes and a shop in Broad Haven which was only a short walk along the beach. You can probably walk to Broad Haven in about 15 minutes but as we were distracted by all the fabulous shells on the beach, we took a bit longer! After an excellent Welsh breakfast we headed into Haverfordwest for supplies (there is a Tesco, Morrison, Aldi and Lidl so plenty of supermarket choice) so that for the rest of our stay we were able to prepare breakfast in the well-equipped kitchen which we then ate on the veranda listening to the birdsong - bliss!
We were very lucky with the weather as the sun shone every day so we didn't spend a lot of time in the cottage, but had it rained there were plenty books, games, DVDs etc. to keep us entertained.
Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. Now back home I miss sitting reading in the conservatory or watching the birds from the bedroom window.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful peaceful location
Liked least: The very narrow single track roads leading to the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for this review. I am delighted with the comments as this is just the experience that I try to create for my guests and it is very reassuring that your stay was the sort of break you were hoping for. I cannot guarantee that the weather will always be suitable for al fresco sitting and dining, but the cottage is warm and comfortable and well provisioned for enjoying life whatever the weather decides. It is not clear at the moment whether the Cafe will be reopening or not which leaves a gap in the early morning meal provision in Little Haven which I regret. Let's hope that the gap will be filled soon but in the meantime, guests should make there own arrangements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Place To Stay At.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a brilliant time at Valley View despite storm Barney accompanying us. Great accommodation - very spacious, cosy, secluded, relaxing and well equipped. Great location and places nearby. Brilliant for dog walking in the valleys and on the beaches. Very nice pubs in the village, we particularly enjoyed the Swan Inn which hosted us during a power cut - very welcoming. Marloes beach is lovely at low tide and worth the trip. We highly recommend valley view and will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having expectations significantly exceeded
Liked least: Returning home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for this warm and positive review. I am so pleased that you found Valley View and the surrounding area to be a great place for your holiday despite the bad weather. It is truly a place for all weathers! Thank you for leaving the cottage in such a tidy state when you left. It makes such a difference when getting things as homely as possible before the next guests' arrival. You are welcome back at any time and I look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopkinsto...
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here with my wife and dog and was really surprised with the size of the property, three large double bedrooms, utility room huge bathroom, cloakroom and toilet, with large outside decking area and heated conservatory, great for watching sunrise and seeing birds and squirrels on feeders. The place is tastefully decorated and absolutely crammed with artefacts and memorabilia from all over the world especially South East Asia, Indonesia and the Orient. Loads of storage space and seating ( I claimed the leather recliner and footstool ) large dining table and just about every utensil and amenity you could require. I met the owner David Gardner who is a very nice man and very hard working. The only downside is that the property is going to need money spending to bring into the present but I would not hesitate to stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Artefacts etc.
Liked least: The hill as I have limited mobility at present
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for this warm review. I was pleased to have the three of you as guests at Valley View and I was grateful that you left the property clean and tidy when you left. It makes such a difference.
I am not sure what is meant by the last sentence and it is the first time such a comment has been made. A new washing machine and tumble dryer were purchased during the late summer and a replacement oven is the next thing on the agenda. The property has been let every week bar one since April so there has been no opportunity to carry out some of the external redecoration and tidying work required as a result of the weather this year. I will contact you to see what you are referring to specifically.
I look forward to welcoming you back whenever you can make it.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam A
2 reviews
“Delightful”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned home after spending a lovely week at Valley View. We received a warm welcome from David on arrival and found the cottage well equipped and superbly located within 5 minutes walk to the beach and 3 village pubs. The quiet location made it an ideal place to watch the birds feeding on the bird feeders outside our window.
We would recommend this property for a family holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you for your warm review, Pam. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and its surroundings. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests at Valley View and I look forward to your planned return. You would be welcome back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kara934
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant location, 5 minutes walk from coastal path and Littlehaven Village, choice of 3 pub/restaurants. Well presented with secluded balcony and courtyard garden

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review. I am so pleased to have welcomed you back as a repeat guest and that Valley View again provided you with what you wanted for a relaxing break. I look forward to another return visit whenever you can make it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb3sc
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Valley view was a beautiful cottage in a superb location. So glad we stayed there! It had everything we needed and was very spacious. The cottage was very comfortable and a lovely touch by David the owner to leave a welcoming bottle of wine. Little Haven is a stunning place and we loved it there, we can't wait to return. If anyone wants a relaxing break away, we recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you for your warm and positive review after your stay at Valley View. I am so pleased that you appreciated the facilities and the setting of the property and that it provided you with the base that you were looking for for your holiday. Thank you also for leaving it so clean and tidy after your stay. It is much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to Valley View at any time you feel like more rest and relaxation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobBat
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house and location”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at half term with my children aged 12 & 14 and my elderly parents. The bungalow was perfect for all our needs and wants, with lovely decor and well supplied kitchen. Especially the location of the bungalow was enviable, as we only needed to cross the road to be able to see the sea and wander down the track to the beach at little haven and the lovely pubs/restaurants there, however the cottage is very quiet (my parents said they hadn't slept so well in years!) and especially the south-east facing veranda gives ample chance of observing the local birds. None of the other Pembrokeshire attractions are very far away and as we only had space in the car for five of us, my husband was able to cycle to Martin's Haven and St. David's to meet us there on our excursions. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is considering going to Pembrokeshire with 3 generations! Hopefully we will be able to come back sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you for your warm and positive review. I am so pleased that you found Valley View to be a great centre for your family holiday and that it worked for all three generations! As you say, it is ideally located for enjoying all the local and surrounding countryside and its many amenities and for providing a peaceful haven if you just want to relax. Thank you for leaving the property so clean on your departure - it makes such a difference! You are welcome back at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing