We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tamarind Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looks to good to be trues, no its not  it is true and  it is perfect.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Looks to good to be trues, no its not  it is true and  it is perfect.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Spring Bay, Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have been visiting Bequia for the last ten years and this is by far the best villa we have stayed in - and we were lucky (with forward planning) to have booked it for four months. The situation is very quiet and peaceful and the view over the bay is beautiful. The villa is exceptionality well equipped and maintained. John and Dianne are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble. You arrive as visitors, leave as friends. We will return!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you Jenny and Bob for the very positive review , we always try to give our guests the best holiday ever on Bequia and having a nice place to stay is top of the list.

We hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards

Dianne and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missliss1...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best swimming pool vista ever !”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Bequia is a lovely little Caribbean island, still with the painted colorful houses and vibrant flower filled yards of old. Very charming and quaint. Its is small with lots of curvy hills, and this villa sits about 3/4 of the way up one of the hills less than 10 minutes from the main town.

The villa starts on the second story with the garages,pool room and laundry underneath, and so the extra elevation affords one a sweeping view of the countryside below, and the endless ocean vistas. You enter around the rear of the villa down a lovely flower lined pathway and into the kitchen and living area. The entire villa is done out in soothing Caribbean colors, light tile floors, pretty soft turquoises and creams and so although compact, is very soothing to the eye and seems spacious and uncluttered. The kitchen is well equipped with every bowl, plate or glass you may need, including serving and Tupperware (not always a given in these rentals) and so was a pleasure to cook in.

The bedrooms are on either side of the great room, with one being reached through the extensive bathroom and walk in closet, which is great if you are travelling with kids as it gives you more separation at night. Both bedrooms lead out to the verandah as well. The bedrooms have very pretty mosquito canopies and very traditional wood beds. The netting is imperative as there are tons of grasshoppers and whatnot at night and it is best to put all the netting down before sunset. We also learned to give a good spray of bug spray behind the furniture and in the closets during the day, when the mossies would be looking for these cool areas to rest in. Once one has a plan in place, it is all quiet manageable -but be aware- you are in the deep tropics here, and there is lots of insects. They are often quite pretty, giant moths and multi colored beetles, and so we really enjoyed seeing them....just as long as they weren't in bed with us.

The exterior of the villa, which is almost 50 percent of the space, is magnificent. There is a generous roof overhang for shade and protection from the little rain showers, which happen sporadically, just long enough to cool everything down. There are a couple of seats under the overhang for perching in when one needs respite from the heat. The huge dining table is located in a deep alcove, so it remains cool and dry and a perfect spot for alfresco meals.There are good sun loungers next to the pool. Not in any of the pictures, is an excellent couch and table set at the end of the long verandah under a ingeniously rigged umbrella, where my husband and I enjoyed our morning coffee and watched the sunrise over the ocean- brilliant way to start !!! The pool was a miraculous temperature all day and night- so perfect for swimming at all hours, no waiting for it to 'warm' up. It is cantilevered over the hill, and so the effect is that you are swimming out to sea. There is an underwater ledge at the deep end, ideal for sitting and sipping a cold beer or cocktail and admiring the view. The sky is fantastically large, and watching the little puffs of clouds transverse the sky and cast shadows over the ocean and the out lying islands, was enough to fill all our days. Even our teenagers were taken with how many shades of blue developed as the sunlight played through the clouds and how the ocean glistened, it was truly enthralling.

The hosts were lovely people and made us feel welcome immediately, explaining how everything worked. Their house is next door, up a hill and separated from the villa by an extensive and lush garden. They keep a very respectful distance but are there at the drop of a hat if one needs fresh linens or any other thing. The house keeper and grounds man kept the villa crispy clean and were friendly but unobtrusive.

One of the highlights of the holiday was the fresh tropical fruit and veg from the "rasta" market down in town- a great bunch of folks who love to haggle and cajole. They will offer you tastes of the sweetest melons and sour sops and mangoes -delicious ! Make sure you walk to each booth first to see who has the best of each item and then try buy a little from each -this keeps it equitable and everyone happy. We never did find the fisherman, which was a disappointment.

Beaches and restaurants were lovely, as is the stone walkway along the cliffs in town where all the restaurants were, but honestly our best time was spent on the lovely verandah, eating our day's "catch" of fresh fruit and watching the clouds whizz across the ocean. This villa is better than its pictures and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, you and your family were an absolute delight and we look forward to welcoming you back again .
Bequia is such a special place and still unspoiled by commercialism , lets hope it stays that way a long time to come.

Thank you again for your kind words.
John and Dianne White
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJH888
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“First class location and hospitality”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Location is stunning. The facilities reflect the degree of personalised attention given by Dianne and John. Their preferred taxi driver, Noel was always on hand to take you wherever you wanted if you did not want to hire a car. We would highly recommend the villa for couples or families who want that extra special holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind words, Tamarind Villa is a special place for every one to enjoy this unspoiled Island in the Caribbean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caribblu
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Might impact the availability for our next visit if we were to say anything too good about Tamarind - it's perfect”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for nearly a month at Tamarind and fell in love with Spring Bay and especially the people. The villa is generously proportioned with 2 large bedrooms off the huge lounge / kitchen. Everything is provided for and in excellent condition and the caretakers are truly amazing and close by if you need anything. We lazed away on the sun terrace with nothing to hear apart from the surf in the distance and the odd calls from Hawks high up or the local Rufous-vented Chachalaca which is something never forgotten. The views of the bay across to Baliceaux Islands and Mustique in the far distance were sensational, and the private pool, cool and inviting and a good book and a rum punch and bitters to round it off. To get around we hired a moke from Bronte of Gideontaxi and had a really enjoyable holiday.
When you go you'll never want to leave and we need to keep Tamarind a close secret.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnOxfordC...
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful - idyllic”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The villa is situated on a hillside overlooking the sea. The views are even better than those shown on the website, they are truly delightful. Also the deck and pool are totally private so you can just saunter out in the morning and RELAX. The pool itself is in the sun all day which makes it nice and warm, but there is also sufficient shade for people like us who do not like to sit in the sun all the time.

The villa is in excellent condition and everything is of the best quality. We were met by the owners Dianne and John who had prepared a lovely evening meal for us on arrival.

This is not a cheap holiday but if you are looking for a luxurious relaxing hideaway it fits the bill perfectly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2016
Thank you for your most positive review, it was very thoughtful of you to take the time to write it and I am sure other travelers will find your comments helpful when in choosing where to stay on Bequia.

Kind regards

John and Dianne White
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbowls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Tamarind for 4 nights in late November. If every rental was like this we would never stay in a hotel again.....

John and Dianne arranged for transport from the airport and greeted us as we arrived. A quick tour around showed off the highlights of this beautiful villa, and that evening we tucked into the homemade dinner, fresh bread and beers and wine they had left for us. All were delicious - Dianne is quite a cook.

The villa itself is beautifully decorated, and occupies a great position commanding views out over the bay. Spectacular by day and night. Being a small island nothing is more than 15 mins drive away, and we enjoyed exploring the bay's, beaches and hilltops as well as the many beach bars and restaurants. Having said that, the villa is so nice, we typically ended the day with a dip in the pool and food and drinks there whilst taking in the view. One night we treated ourselves to having a chef friend of Diane's come round to cook - do this - the food was exceptional and she is a very fun lady.

A fantastic villa in a fantastic location, run by a lovely couple who couldn't do enough to help. The guest book says it all when you have people visiting time and again. We hope to join them by doing so ourselves!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Hi Simon, Thank you for the very excellent review, we have made a few improvement since your stay and we hope you will come back again.

Kind regards

Dianne and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooneymoo...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and secluded honeymoon pure heaven!”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Tamarind Villa on Bequia for our Honeymoon in May 2013 because we wanted a luxurious peaceful holiday away from the crowds of other Caribbean destinations. We read the other reviews and thought it looked perfect. IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!
Tamarind Villa is heavenly, our hosts were so helpful and welcoming. A pot of minestrone soup and freshly baked bread on arrival, just what we needed after a long journey. Diane even arranged to fill the fridge/cupboards with shopping to keep us going for the first few days, in true Bequia style we just had to settle up with Doris in her shop whenever we got a chance- no hurry.
The views from the villa are stunning it is very private and very peaceful. We were collected from the airport by lovely Noel in his pick up- the best taxi I have ever been in EVER! We had the option of hiring a car for our trip but opted instead to make use of Noels driving services whilst there- we are fans of a cold beer with lunch after all. His number was already programmed into the prepaid mobile phone that came with Tamarind Villa and on the one occasion he was unable to pick us up he sent his wonderful son to collect us instead. We were there just into the quiet season so he wasn't too busy but should we return would probably rent a vehicle from him at least for a few days to explore more.
The Villa itself is exquisite they have thought of every little thing you could possibly need and more. The rooms are large and open with a fantastic high ceiling, the kitchen is fully equipped and the fridge even makes you ice. The TV could have been bigger but was fine for us. We would have enjoyed Air con in the bedrooms at night but that's just us being picky! the sea breeze was cool enough.
When you first walk in, it really bowls you over the views are incredible and the property is so beautifully decorated it has the WOW factor. The pool is ample size for a few lengths and dips to cool off with a really cool bench at the deep end. There was lots of outside relaxing space with beautiful furniture and a wonderful outside dining area that we used loads. We dream of coming back here, we had two weeks of bliss here.
If you want to get away from it all in style this is your villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and luxury
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;