We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel and restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by name and that was the first indication that this place really does try to be the best. I enjoyed the food from the plantation. The room was excellent with a great view of Spring Bay. The service was the best of anywhere I have ever stayed. They were absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 30090Laura_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a lovely spot for a quiet peaceful relaxing family or other holiday. The swimming pool was very relaxing and calm. There were lovely lunches and great walks in the plantation. The dog offen joined us which was nice.The beach was really nice as it was only a short walk from the hotel. One day we took our lunch down there.

The plantation cottage is ideal for for a family as its seperate from the main hotel but you still get everything and more as you do in the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and the service was great.The food and drinks were the best. I particually enjoys everything.This is a great place to go.

Room Tip: The plantation cottage is proberly the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffyflamingos12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at Firefly Bequia in February as part of the Best of Both Worlds package. We had visited Bequia a few years ago whilst sailing so knew that it was a very unspoilt island and were not expecting Firefly to be anything too "fancy". However, we couldn't believe how beautifully this property has been renovated. The restaurant looks out from the hillside down to the ocean - beautiful. The 4 rooms are a little further up the hillside from the main building so the view from the large terraces are even more spectacular. They have the most wonderful space - the double showers are a unique and quirky touch! The beds and pillows are simply the most comfortable we have ever slept in (thank you Liz!)
This is a very laid back place. There is no formality at all - both at Firefly and around the island. You soon find your walking pace slowing to match the atmosphere but it's a nice walk down to the main town to have a drink and watch the yachts coming and going if you can manage the hills!
The food is very tasty with a lot of the produce coming from their own garden. We loved Bequia - it is very laid back and friendly and Firefly fits in perfectly with the character of the island.
We hesitated before submitting this review as it really is an unspoilt, well kept secret in that part of the Caribbean and we want to keep that secret to ourselves! Thank you to everyone who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: All very similar but if you can get one on the top rather than the ground floor go for that one as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majoreyeswater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I can't praise the Firefly highly enough - the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Luxurious, huge, an absolute pleasure to stay in. The balcony (with beautiful furniture) has views across the plantation and to the sea and beach beyond (a 5 minute walk). We loved every minute and didn't want to leave. The food is delicious, the pool is gorgeous and the staff are fantastic. A special thank you to Ernie, Donovan and Ken for making our stay so special. We had the entire place to ourselves for 5 out of the 6 nights and it was heaven! We loved the plantation pets too - Anna, Judy, Vivi and Ginger! Bequia itself is very special. Whilst we could easily have remained at the Firefly the whole time, we hired a car and got out and about most days. Lower Bay beach and Princess Margaret beach are amazing. We wished we had stayed in Bequia for longer (and not bothered with Barbados at the beginning of our trip). The two islands are incomparable with Bequia winning hands down in the beauty and friendliness stakes. A perfect time on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and were not disappointed. The view from the upper rooms is far reaching across to the coast. The rooms are well appointed and spacious, linen changed everyday and rooms cleaned and made up to a high standard.
We enjoyed all the hotel animals especially Judy, Anna and Vivi! And let's not forget the visiting pig!! Food and drinks were delish, although some people might find the menu a bit limited if there for any length of time-we stayed 14 nights. Not really a problem for us - it was one less thing to think about!
All the staff were lovely and very helpful, making sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is in walking distance of Port Elizabeth, the turtle sanctuary and even the main beaches....if you enjoy walking! But there are still the local taxis which are very good, flexible and reliable.
Bequia is a very beautiful island with happy friendly people...one that we would happily return to.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sea Cotton, an upper room. We would say it has the best view, with a very large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benji123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

10 days in Bequia was just perfect for this miserable winter and Firefly shone once again. The rooms remain spectacular and the setting is just wonderful. The pool is a bit rundown but remains a beautiful oasis and nothing beats the long walks along the coast with Judith & Anna (Firefly's sweet dogs).

We went with the meal plan and, aside from gaining weight, were delighted on the whole. Breakfast is great, box lunches for the beach are a true guilty pleasure, tea & homemade cake was occasionally resisted, and dinners were for the most part very good. The only disappointment was BBQ night which was a miss.

Both the house & bar staff are friendly and very helpful. A delight. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is a beautiful, 5 star, boutique hotel, hidden between green hills, with a wonder ful view of palm trees and the ocean. We loved our room, with a walk-in double shower, elegant bathroom, walk-in closet, luxurious bed linens, etc. The view from the terrace was spectacular. It was very pleasant to relax at the side of the swimming pool, enjoying the sun and the silence. Truly, it is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever been to.

Disapointments? I do appreciate the fact that the kitchen uses products from the plantation. Does it have to be the same salad with a ready-made dressing (yes, I can tell the difference) or the same mixture of undercooked veggies (carrot and green peas) soaked in garlic that accompanied every lunch and every dinner? I do understand that we arrived a few days before the high season kicked in, but did tuna have to be a catch of the day for 3 days in the row? And does everything need to have either coconut milk or garlic added to it? Both ingredients are great, but an excess is an excess (think coconut milk based soups, rice stewed in coconut milk and coconut milk added to every curry they served). Having said that, I must add that there were dishes that we enjoyed. But the overall quality of food was way below a 5 star hotel that has a constant access to fresh fish, fruit, vegetables, etc.

We were also astonished by the fact that the pool has not been cleaned even once during our stay. Swimming between decaying leaves? Not so much fun. When we arrived at the pool one day, we found that the staff did not bother with cleaning the cups that we left there the day before. Also something unusual for a hotel of that class.

If you intend to play tennis at the tennis court that the website boasts about, think twice. It's in a very bad condition. I would even risk saying: unusable.

Local beach is small and covered with rubbish. Cows use it as their own promenade.

On the other hand, the staff pays attention to details like preparing your room for the night - pulling down the mosquito net (mosquitos are numerous and always hungry), leaving a couple of flickering candles, dimming the lights, etc. This is all very nice and thoughtful.

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay there, but it seems like the hotel management needs to work a bit on some details that spoil the general impression.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zephyrsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etiamiter, Manager at Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that things were not up to the standard we set for ourselves. I have spoken to the staff concerned but I am sorry you experienced it. Your holiday with us should have been perfect, that is what we want!

The tennis court is not actually mentioned on our web site or advertised as we are aware that it is not as great as it should be! Guests are very welcome to use it if they want to and many people find it funky and fun for a knock around, but it is not up to Wimbledon standards thats for sure! However, there are some excellent tennis courts on Bequia that serious players can use for a small fee if they want.

Thank you for staying with us, and our apologies that it was not as perfect as it should have been.
All the best

The Firefly Plantation Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Bay
2.2 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
158 reviews
22.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
10.2 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mustique
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel

Address: Spring Estate, Spring Bay, Bequia
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Price Range: £228 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with a casual, 'Chic-Caribbean' relaxed atmosphere. A short walk through the palm groves leads you to Spring Beach. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms, all with fabulous views, king sized beds, walk-in closets, wifi, air-conditioning, music systems, luxury linens and amenities. A fun and friendly bar welcomes visitors and locals alike. The restaurant serves excellent local cuisine based on fresh produce grown on the plantation. The staff are attentive and service excellent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing