We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Fort
Nearby Hotels
Frangipani Hotel(Belmont)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Hotel Bequia(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bequia Beachfront Villas(Friendship)(Great Value!)
US$230
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Reef Bequia(Bequia)(Great Value!)
US$212
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Young Island Resort(St. Vincent)
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mariners Hotel(St. Vincent)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
88
13
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
13
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun roomgrenadine islandsstunning viewscontinental breakfastpumpkin souprum punchbeautiful pooltop floortobago caysperfect balanceold world charmunique placecatch of the dayour honeymoonrenting a carvisit bequiafriend of mine
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you're looking for a romantic, perfectly quiet, peaceful getaway from it all, this is the place for you. We just stayed at the Old Fort for a week and had the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. The views are stunning and the rooms are authentic and perfectly appointed. The owners welcome you as if you are old friends and ensure that absolutely nothing is a hassle. We are hoping to get a group of friends together to rent out the entire house the next time we return to Bequia. Honestly, this stay was a dream stay…

Note: a stay at the old fort should involve renting a car as it's pretty far up the hill from the beaches. The view from the top is so sublime though, that it's definitely worth it. If you're looking for a hotel that's set in between bars and clubs for easy nightlife access, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a beautiful natural setting and a relaxing stay, you've just found the place to book.

Room Tip: The tower room and the rooms in the sugar house are amazing!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonjourBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Hi, thank you so much for recommending us. It was a pleasure having you and hope we can welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have visited The Old Fort many times over the years & can't recommend it highly enough!! From the stunning views across the Grenadines, the charm of the hotel, the gorgeous swimming pool & the friendly & knowledgeable hosts - you will not be disappointed.

Being a family run hotel you get a cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, help whenever you need it and real knowledge of the island. Being on the mountain side you are not directly on a beach, but with a stunning pool for those early morning dips or evenings with a cocktail this really is a blessing - plus - Bequia is so small everything is close enough!

The hosts arranged many trips for us including a breath taking sail to the Tobago Cays & recommended lots of great other fun things & places to go. Living on site, they were always on hand for any questions or just for a rum punch by the pool :-)

I can't wait for our next visit!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank whitesandinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the hotel is beautiful set on the mountain side.the owners r great the fort is at the top but it is a long steep stair case to the topbut worth it stunning views but niot on the beach have to walk 1/4 mile down hill to beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Scott,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I were married a little over a year ago, and decided to go to Bequia for our honeymoon. After much research, we decided to stay at The Old Fort. We wanted something a little off the beaten path with lots of character. Our expectations were surpassed by the amazing, personal service of their extremely accommodating staff, not to mention the breath taking views you'll take in from its location. The beautiful beaches are a short stroll away, the pool is great too. They prepared a delicious breakfast each morning and made amazing dinner a couple nights that we chose to stay in instead of eating at a restaurant on the island.

The Old Fort is very charming and has a very historic ambience about it, though it had many modern renovations. We hope to go back to Bequia again one day, and one thing we won't be worrying about next time is where to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremiah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Owner at The Old Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Jeremiah,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards, Quirin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the most amazing wedding last year in Bequia and the wedding party stayed at the Old Fort for a week. Choosing to stay at the OF with our loved ones made our wedding even more special and meaningful than we could ever imagine. The week we spent at the Old Fort was and will always be one of the most memorable times of our life. Everyone at the Old Fort made our stay very special. Quirin the Owner was very welcoming and flexible with our demands before we even meet him! He promptly replied to all our emails and went out of his way to plan the perfect meal plan for our group. The OF itself was such a beautiful property with amazing views and grounds that take you back to what the Caribbean is suppose to be. The bedrooms were very clean and all had their own private bathroom and were decorated with taste. During the week that we spent at the OF we had 5 star restaurant quality meals made by the amazing staff. Our rooms were cleaned daily and the staff was always around to help. We used the infinity pool everyday and spent a lot of time around the outdoor bar. We can't thank Quirin and his staff enough for contributing in making our wedding so special and unforgettable. Our guests still talk about it with a smile on their lips. We will go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews