We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean Herstory.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Eleven days..... into a six week Island hopping, Caribbean adventure i was lucky enough to reach Beautiful Bequia, my plan of 'non-action' was to spend time alone in a tranquil and peaceful setting and digest my journey so far ~

Arriving up at the Old Fort was a wonderful surprise of calm and serenity, almost surreal ~
I found myself unwinding at a pace that was most perfect yet quicker than anywhere else i had landed so far -
I had just been magically taken to Heaven ~ an Earthly one.

The Old Fort has a a wonderful energy ~ Freeing..... yet Grounding......
The Air is Fresh, Breeze Gentle and the Views (really are) Breathtaking.

Sitting by the stunning pool or many of the other comfortable areas in the grounds and absorbing the surroundings your in, ignite your senses, reminding you exactly why you looked for and booked such a place.

The rooms (as are the buildings) are Elegant and refined yet FORTuitously Strong -
Clean and very comfortable you have space to swing yet feel contained and cosy in your own personal area.
A home from home where you can relax, feel safe, have dinner and make plans to enjoy the Island and everything is has to offer ~
I will most definitely be back, in hope of embracing all of the above.....and the repetitive light & happy feelings that made me fall in love, with every second i spent there .

A Visit ~ Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Master Suite is amazing .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Fort - it was certainly a holistic retreat and we managed to rest while we were there. The views are amazing and the hotel has a historic charm to it. The staff - Shara and Josiah - we're excellent. Very welcoming and attentive. The food was very nice. Really enjoyed the lobster and the continental breakfast was lovely. The pool was amazing - you could spend all day there. The owners were very friendly, knowledgable and hands on too. Really enjoyed the dog's company in the morning - like our own little body guard.

However - as much as we enjoyed our stay we were puzzled by the prices for the rooms. Apart from the Master Suite which was amazing and worth renting, the rest of the rooms are very basic and dated and yet charged at 4* to 5* hotel prices. Mosquito nets had blood from previous Mosquitos on them which honestly was off putting and one of our windows had a piece of glass missing which made the air conditioning completely pointless if we hadn't noticed. Apart from the Master Suite the rooms weren't stocked with your usual shower gel etc. little touches go far.

All food and drink is charged in US dollars and prices of full breakfast, lunch and dinner was never really shared which made us a bit on edge not sure how much we were spending. Meals were overpriced as well although they were very nice. We were charged around US$10 for 4 rashers of bacon which was classed a full breakfast if you had it with the free continental breakfast. You wouldn't even be paying that in top hotels in London for that. In addition, when it came to settling the final bill a charge of 5% was going to be added if we would have paid by card which we weren't told about upfront. We would recommend to be a bit more transparent in terms of costs with hotel guests.

Whereas the hotel's charm is that it is secluded from the rest of the island it is quite expensive to get to other restaurants and attractions but worthwhile mixing your stay with eating out and eating in.

Room Tip: We recommend to choose the Master Suite which is the nicest room. It has no air con though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldFort, General Manager at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your comments! First I would like to say it was a pleasure meeting you both. I thought it quite coincidental, that we actually went to the same university in London almost 15 years ago and that we may have met during that time as we were also on the same exact course. You live in an area, Wood Green, where I used to be a lot when I was a student whilst living in London. I always have fond memories of that time in the past.

I would like to say thank you in praising our establishment and some of the various positive points you indicated:

1) The views are amazing!
2) The hotel has a historic charm!
3) The staff - Shara and Josiah - we're excellent
4) The food was very nice. Really enjoyed the lobster and the continental breakfast was lovely
5) The pool was amazing - you could spend all day there!
6) The owners were very friendly, knowledgeable and hands on too!

I would like to address the main issue of your review first in relation to pricing, as it seems to be your main issue. I am a bit surprised that you complain about pricing in your review, however when you arrived we gave you a complimentary upgrade to our newly renovated Master Suite (a huge 4 room suite, including a library, a sitting area and two balconies) which is one of the nicest suites on the island if not the nicest. Numerous guests stayed in this suite before and they all absolutely loved it! We upgraded you because that specific suite was available and thus thought it would be a nice gesture. It also goes for over double the rate to the one you booked and had it been a suite at any 4 or 5 star hotel anywhere else (like in London for instance) it would be even more. Half way throughout your stay, you said you would prefer a room with air conditioning. I am sorry but giving the nature of the historic building and the extremely high ceilings it is unfortunately difficult to install AC in every room plus we don’t see this necessary due to the constant trade winds that rise up steadily from the Atlantic ocean below making the place very cool. Upon your request we were happy to offer you another upgraded room (the Honey Room), which was actually praised by numerous magazines over the years. I agree that that particular room may be slightly dated however that still does not take away from the rustic charm and space it offers.

Actually our rates compared with other hotels on the island are not bad giving the fact that the rooms (even the standard ones) are huge and very spacious, i.e. Much larger than most other boutique hotels around and include several amenities such as our high-end faucets and square minimalism mosquito nets.

I am sorry but we did not know that a window was missing in the room (the staff did not mention this to management as it must have fallen out). We would have been happy to fix this problem had you indicated it. i.e. Surprised you didn’t say anything to us seeing that you thought we were, very friendly, knowledgeable and hands on too.

The mosquito nets on the other hand are made out of an extremely white material, i.e. one can see almost every single spot. Mind me, we are located in the tropics where there is an abundant amount of insects (you just can’t 100% get away from them). Regardless of this, I agree that the housekeeper should have done a better job in that regard; she must have overseen those specific spots, as the nets are usually always spotless. On another note, I am not sure if you know, but we only recently received back the net due to the fact that we sent it to St. Vincent to be repaired. If you look at them properly you will notice that they are quite large and almost identical being slightly oval. They look brown-red whilst Mosquito bloodstains are usually darker and splattered in different sizes in a much smaller area.

On the other hand, numerous businesses on the island state their prices in US$ (as it is set to the USD at a specific exchange and therefore gives a better benchmark; therefore it is the main business currency used) and also usually charge a standard bank credit card fee of 5% for any card transactions. During your stay you have been made aware of this possible charge when paying by card, even whilst booking as it has been displayed in your receipt and all over the website including the final invoice you received. Unfortunately it is a charge the bank requests for any credit card transactions and is passed on to the consumer. That is why I mentioned to you personally early on that it would be better for you if you paid in cash (once you had it). I.e. If you did end up withdrawing cash from an ATM you would loose a similar amount through the exchange and bank fees. I am sorry it is St. Vincent and the Grenadines. In regards issues such as these we are just not as developed as other countries in Europe, Canada or the USA where banks are a lot more accommodating (it is also a lot more competitive there).

About the extra charge for breakfast, this was definitely an error by the staff, as we would usually never charge that much for a few strips of bacon. I am surprised that you did not have eggs, pancakes or sausages with that? Our usual procedure is that we charge an upgrade fee from our rich and fulsome continental breakfast, if guests would like to have eggs and bacon or any other additions. You could have said something, as we would have been happy to give you the bacon for free.

In lieu of suggesting we could be more transparent in regards to our pricing. Seeing that we do not run an open restaurant to the public and offer our property only exclusively to hotel guests (that way our guests have utmost privacy), I am sure that you appreciate that it is hard to have a different menu every day, especially if guests have specific requests. This especially seeing that we are a small establishment and giving the fact that our kitchen is always happy to make adjustments any accommodate personal preferences (such as in your case).

On another note, not many guests would consider a taxi ride of 10 US$ – 15 US$ to be excessive especially giving the fact that it can be more in more developed countries such as the US or the UK for instance. There a taxi ride to anywhere usually costs at least 10 US$ minimum and that’s for the shortest and quickest distance possible. Of course it would be more if taking a taxi from one end to the other of the island.

The long-standing reputation of a beautiful property as The Old Fort does not deserve to be tarnished by some of the above points, when the most important aspects of your visit where met: Property, Location, Dining, Staff, Amenities such as pool, etc. Considering that you have predominantly complained about price, (we haven’t previously had any sole complaints on this) we are a little confused as why / how, when you where given a valuable upgrade to the Master Suite worth over twice as much as your initial budget upon your arrival.

We are always happy to learn how we can improve and make things even better for future guests and still do appreciate your comments!

Best Wishes, Quirin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you're looking for a romantic, perfectly quiet, peaceful getaway from it all, this is the place for you. We just stayed at the Old Fort for a week and had the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. The views are stunning and the rooms are authentic and perfectly appointed. The owners welcome you as if you are old friends and ensure that absolutely nothing is a hassle. We are hoping to get a group of friends together to rent out the entire house the next time we return to Bequia. Honestly, this stay was a dream stay…

Note: a stay at the old fort should involve renting a car as it's pretty far up the hill from the beaches. The view from the top is so sublime though, that it's definitely worth it. If you're looking for a hotel that's set in between bars and clubs for easy nightlife access, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a beautiful natural setting and a relaxing stay, you've just found the place to book.

Room Tip: The tower room and the rooms in the sugar house are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonjourBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Hi, thank you so much for recommending us. It was a pleasure having you and hope we can welcome you again in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have visited The Old Fort many times over the years & can't recommend it highly enough!! From the stunning views across the Grenadines, the charm of the hotel, the gorgeous swimming pool & the friendly & knowledgeable hosts - you will not be disappointed.

Being a family run hotel you get a cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, help whenever you need it and real knowledge of the island. Being on the mountain side you are not directly on a beach, but with a stunning pool for those early morning dips or evenings with a cocktail this really is a blessing - plus - Bequia is so small everything is close enough!

The hosts arranged many trips for us including a breath taking sail to the Tobago Cays & recommended lots of great other fun things & places to go. Living on site, they were always on hand for any questions or just for a rum punch by the pool :-)

I can't wait for our next visit!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank whitesandinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the hotel is beautiful set on the mountain side.the owners r great the fort is at the top but it is a long steep stair case to the topbut worth it stunning views but niot on the beach have to walk 1/4 mile down hill to beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Scott,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I were married a little over a year ago, and decided to go to Bequia for our honeymoon. After much research, we decided to stay at The Old Fort. We wanted something a little off the beaten path with lots of character. Our expectations were surpassed by the amazing, personal service of their extremely accommodating staff, not to mention the breath taking views you'll take in from its location. The beautiful beaches are a short stroll away, the pool is great too. They prepared a delicious breakfast each morning and made amazing dinner a couple nights that we chose to stay in instead of eating at a restaurant on the island.

The Old Fort is very charming and has a very historic ambience about it, though it had many modern renovations. We hope to go back to Bequia again one day, and one thing we won't be worrying about next time is where to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremiah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Owner at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Jeremiah,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards, Quirin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the most amazing wedding last year in Bequia and the wedding party stayed at the Old Fort for a week. Choosing to stay at the OF with our loved ones made our wedding even more special and meaningful than we could ever imagine. The week we spent at the Old Fort was and will always be one of the most memorable times of our life. Everyone at the Old Fort made our stay very special. Quirin the Owner was very welcoming and flexible with our demands before we even meet him! He promptly replied to all our emails and went out of his way to plan the perfect meal plan for our group. The OF itself was such a beautiful property with amazing views and grounds that take you back to what the Caribbean is suppose to be. The bedrooms were very clean and all had their own private bathroom and were decorated with taste. During the week that we spent at the OF we had 5 star restaurant quality meals made by the amazing staff. Our rooms were cleaned daily and the staff was always around to help. We used the infinity pool everyday and spent a lot of time around the outdoor bar. We can't thank Quirin and his staff enough for contributing in making our wedding so special and unforgettable. Our guests still talk about it with a smile on their lips. We will go back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawoyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldFort, Manager at The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Sorry about the delay in replying!

Thank you for your review of our historic estate hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to have been able to make your stay so enjoyable and for you to get a good taste of life on the island.

We have a great team here at the Old Fort and are grateful for your kind compliments! Important to note is that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms, so the accommodations will even be better in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Old Fort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
1.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
177 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
9.6 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate

Address: Historic Estate, Mount Pleasant, Bequia (Formerly Old Fort Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: £99 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate is the only fully restored historic plantation in St. Vincent and the Grenadines dating back to the eighteenth-century when the French first started settling the West Indies. Set high atop Mt. Pleasant with an estate that stretches over 28 acres all the way down to the Caribbean Sea, it features acres of orchards and views to beat anything you would find out on the open ocean. Its lush grounds are covered in traveller's palms, breadfruit, tamarind, banana and mango trees, surrounding one of the most beautiful pools in the world, happily slip sliding its watery way over the edge. Recommended over years by numerous international media, it has been transformed into the kind of hotel you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Fort, Natural Hotel & Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing