We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, quirky and very peaceful”
Review of Nature Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rustic, quirky and very peaceful”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The place is set on a hillside overlooking rolling hills, the bird song and trees are very restful after being in Phnom Penh for too long. It was so cheap to stay. The cabins were rustic but very clean and comfortable, and they had a lot of friendly pets. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is not that great but breakfast was fine. The food wasn't that great anywhere in Sen Monorom we found, but the people made up for that, so happy and friendly. Well worth the drive.

Room Tip: So quit, peaceful and relaxing, it wouldn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    123
    50
    25
    14
See reviews for
36
138
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here in July for a few days and it was a good choice -- it was quiet, not too far from town, and the bungalow we stayed in was cozy. No complaints whatsoever about the accommodations.
The restaurant, however, is was a different story. First of all, most of the food was overpriced and mediocre; do yourself a favor and eat in town, the food is better and it is cheaper. Second of all, despite the restaurant's claim that they maintain "Western hygienic practices" in the kitchen, my wife found a hair AND two fish bones in her cheese sandwich! Third, the staff. While the staff were nice, the service was often slow and sporadic. I understand that the Nature Lodge aims to help disadvantaged and at-risk Cambodians and it may just be a case of too many cooks spoiling the broth, but it should not take half an hour to bring a baguette and a cup of coffee. In addition, one of the bar staff tried to charge me for a bill I had paid the night prior -- again it may have been a simple mistake, but another indication that the staff need to communicate with each other better and perhaps work out a better system of serving and keeping track of expenses. All in all, skip the menu, but do go for a beer in the evening to chat with fellow travelers, the atmosphere is good at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naturelodge, Manager at Nature Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you for your review,

We appreciate your feedback.
Operating at a remote location is always challenging, most of our products are local, but certain products are unavailable at times because our shipments may come in late. Despite Sen Monorom having no supermarket and we do our best to keep consistent.

We are ahead of many changes and a new meal plan for 2015

With regards

The Nature Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel saved us after a horrible experience at another hotel. They gave us a reduced rate and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The hotel is perfect for connecting you to transportation around Cambodia and activities around the area. I particularly recommend The elephant Valley project (EVP) a NGO and after seeing and washing the rescue elephants there it's very important to stay clear of riding elephant activities due to the effect of over working takes on their spine and ribcage.
The food was lovely and plentiful after busy days and the lodges are very cute. Despite being built in a way that does allow the odd big entry their height means that this is rare and the mosquito nets were brill. They speak very good English and there is a great atmosphere in the bar every evening. Don't expect a phone in the room and ask for towels - they aren't kept in the rooms. Overall we loved our stay and will go back when we return to visit EVP again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed in the nature lodge for 3 nights and we were stunned by the beauty of the area.
Check-in was not smooth as the front desk manager was newly hired and he didn't know all the procedures too well. Additionally he had to handle the orders of the restaurant so he was quite overwhelmed. But he was always friendly and we will miss his 'soorryyy sir' when an order was missed or something was not as it should have been. We had a lot of fun together.
Bungalows are lovely, we really liked the 'outside' shower. Rooms are clean, mosquito nets are available, bed is comfy and towels are available as well. It was nice to hear the rain on the tin-roof in the night and the horses, cows and sheeps 'eating' close to your bungalow and chewing grass.
It was very peaceful. (be prepared to stand in a lot of mud during the rainy season)
The only things we didn't like was that behind the logde, they were throwing all kind of rubbish into the nature (why they call it 'nature lodge' if they are destroying it?!). This definitetly is a very big minus from our side!
The menu was unfortunately full of 'western' food, like burgers, pizza and spaghetti and only few kmer dished could be found. This depends on your taste, but if you are in Cambodia we would have expected more traditional food (you don't have too many other options as the town is a bit far away). But the restaurant/reception area is amazing and we really enjoyed sitting in this lovely 'tree-house'.
Pick-up and drop-off service was also not as described and promised but we managed to get where we wanted.
Tip: bring your torch as it can be very dark on the way back to your bungalow.
Overall it was a great experience. Eventhough some things need improvement, but keeping in mind, that you were in the middle of nowhere, eveything was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nature Lodge Review

We arrived at the Nature Lodge (NL) around 6pm after taking a private taxi from Phnom Penh. For around $80 usd you can set up a private taxi through the Nature lodge to pick you up in Phnom Penh. I suggest setting up the taxi through the Nature lodge because they are cheaper than reserving one in Phnom Penh (which can run upwards of $130 usd). The over all drive is about 5 hours of very hectic and crazy Cambodian traffic but made all the much better in a Toyota Camry with AC, a driver with good taste in tunes and room to stretch out and let the horn blowing serenade you and the bobbing and weaving rock you to sleep.

After arriving at the NL we were promptly checked in paid for our taxi and asked if we would like anything to eat or drink or would we like to go to our bungalow. We opted to drop our stuff off at the bungalow and then come back up for dinner. We stayed in bungalow A8 and it was everything that I expected it to be. Some people have complained about the spaces in the floorboards and the bathroom not having a “proper drain” but for the amount of time we spent in our bungalow I barely noticed. The bug net was in good shape, the spaces in the floors and sidewalls allow for a great breeze (which was much appreciated as we were there during the hot season 96 -8F or 36 C) and wonderful sleeping temperatures. The shower has ample hot water and pressure but does cause some water to pool up on the floor, but we aren’t talking kiddie pool in the bathroom here folks, just a small puddle that drains out with in the hour. We had one night/morning of ants deciding to share our bungalow with us. Fortunately for me the ants found my traveling buddy much more agreeable than me so they only “bugged” him for the night. We told the staff about it the next morning before we went out trekking and when we returned our room had been cleaned and the ants taken care of.

Every meal we had at the NL was delicious and served promptly. The staff is so attentive, extremely friendly and ever so helpful. The fresh baked bread and fresh fruit with their delicious coffee was my breakfast every morning followed by amazing dinners in the evenings. At night they supply you with a candle at your table, good tunes and great drinks. We never found the prices to expensive for the amount of food or quality of the drinks. Some of the waitresses do not speak the best English so I’m not sure if that came off rude to previous guest but they definitely do their best and were a joy to have around.

We took our first day at the NL easy to recover from long journeys and hung around the lodge watching movies that they provided, reading and shooting pool. Our second day was spent out in the jungle doing the day elephant trek to a waterfall. The Bunong mahouts were great and treated the elephants extremely well. Our English speaking guide/translator was amazing! I can’t explain how great he was to have along. I rode our elephant in to the waterfall but my traveling buddy decided to trek in and had an absolute blast with our guide. He was so informative and just down right sweet. Once we arrived at the waterfall the mahouts lead the elephants out into the jungle to forage and then come back to enjoy lunch with everyone.

While at the waterfall we enjoyed fried rice wrapped in a banana leaf (which was much better than the other tourist who did not book with NL and were eating out of Styrofoam containers) plenty of water to drink and good company. My binoculars became a hit with 3 of the young (boys) mahouts and they had a blast looking through them and I got some amazing pictures of the future Birders of Cambodia! Absolutely a once in a lifetime chance that I will cherish always. You do hang out at the waterfall for an expected 2 hours but it can by chance be much longer if the mahouts have trouble relocating the elephants (again the elephants are just let go into the jungle to forage while you eat and may travel great distances). Once found the elephants are brought to the swimming hole and you are allowed to get in and help bathe them. Another once in a lifetime chance that was absolutely fantastic. Our elephant decided that it did not want to be found so we actually ended up hiking back out with just our guide. But we didn’t mind one bit as it allowed me more birding time.

Our last full day was spent on the back of some Honda 125 scooters, scooting around Sen Monorom to all the great tourist spots, Bur Sar waterfall, smaller waterfalls, coffee plantation with a great food, and the Sea forest. As I don’t ride motorbikes I road on the back of our tour guides, his name was Cham and he was an absolute delight to ride around with. We played song games where he would sing an American song in Cambodian and I would guess what song it was. He pointed out birds to me, areas of interest as well as teaching me Cambodian and me teaching him some English. One full day of a guided motorbike tour with 2 people for 20 bucks was not bad at all in our opinion. We were exhausted when we returned to the NL ate a good dinner and hit the hay.

My overall experience at the Nature Lodge was fantastic. I only have one complaint and that was the view. Keep in mind that we went during the dry/hot/burning season so the views most places were not that great. The view from our bungalow over looked some small rolling hills, a big red dirt field and the roofs of buildings, so not exactly the rolling green mountains I was hoping for. You could also sometime hear the traffic from the town as well. But as we did not spend much time in our bungalow this really did not hamper the experience at all. Town was also a great place to go and walk around. Get a motor taxi for $1 each way and enjoy!

Thanks for an amazing first time stay in Cambodia Nature Lodge!! I will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdbiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambogia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from Sunday afternoon until Monday morning and we really enjoyed our stay.
We were warmly welcomed by the staff and the check-in was smooth.
Our bungalow was lovely: we had soap, 2 bottles of water and towels. The room was absolutely clean and so were the small balcony and the bathroom.
The water wasn't too hot but nevertheless warm.
We had a lot to eat: the schnitzel with mash, a pizza and a burger. They were all ok for the price. The shakes were cheap and awesome!
We'd recommend the ham&cheese sandwich, which we had the other morning.
All in all we had a wonderful time.
The only thing we didn't like was the fact that nature lodge offers elephant riding. We are strictly against this and we prefer to walk with the elephants in the jungle and not to touch them too much as most of these beautiful animals have been treated pretty terrible. ... But that's just our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ercassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Check this out for sure- the little huts were beautiful and all the staff were so kind and chatty. Loved talking to the very lovely and very friendly Nà from the restaurant about how he wanted to be a teacher.
If you are driving out on a moto, part of the road is very sketchy, especially after it's rained- motorbike noobs maybe hire a driver until the rainy season ends!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sen Monorom hotels
1.7 mi away
Mayura Hill Resort
Mayura Hill Resort
#1 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigenous People Lodge
Indigenous People Lodge
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.7 mi away
Happy Elephant Bungalows
Happy Elephant Bungalows
#3 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
Diamond Mondulkiri Resort
#2 of 8 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
Chantha Sreypich Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Sen Monorom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.0 mi away
Phanyro Guest House
Phanyro Guest House
#4 of 14 in Sen Monorom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge

Property: Nature Lodge
Address: Comka Tai village, Sen Monorom 11202, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Mondulkiri Province > Sen Monorom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Sen Monorom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature Lodge is a budget bungalow resort, located on a hill slope overlooking Sen Monoron town, Mondulkiri province, in the northeastern part of Cambodia. We are an eco-friendly, social enterprise with a passion for the Cambodian nature and the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Cambodia/Sen Monorom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing