We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LEAF Cambodia Mondulkiri Elephant & Wildlife Sanctuary
Save
Review Highlights
Great day with the elephants

I’ve really enjoyed a day visit to this sanctuary. Started with a walk through the jungle followed... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
AndreaGambadoro
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
A wonderful day

We were picked up at our guesthouse. It was a little disappointing because the website said that... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2018
Charles D
,
Le Havre, France
via mobile
Read all 304 reviews
  
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
232
50
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
50
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional hut the river day tour surrounding villages sugar cane natural environment farming methods walking freely female elephants small trek spoke good english special moment local culture natural behaviour money goes overnight stay tasty lunch
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Booked these guys I cannot praise them enough. The guides had great knowledge of the area and were simply a pleasure to have around. We went trekking for a few miles and then cooled off at a nearby waterfall. After a simple but delicious luncheon in the jungle we fed the elephants and had a chance to spend time with them in the nearby river. What a great experience to have such close contact to these incredible creatures

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank HML808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

It was nice to spend some time hiking around the jungle, doing something active after a lot of time spent in cities. We spent the night in a village and drank some rice wine with our guide, who told us about life in northern Cambodia.

The highlight came on day 2, when we looked up his elephant, fed it a chopped up banana tree, walked around with her and bathed her in the river.

If you're spending lots of time around the cities and temples in Cambodia and Vietnam, spend a few days hiking around this area to relax and get some fresh air!

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We did the one day tour at the Sanctuary. We startet the day in the Nature Lodge and went to the Sanctuary by Minibus. The drive took about 15min and we could already feel the positive vibe of the native, young and english speaking guides! We then walked to a small outlook over the sanctuary valley and got some really interesting information about the conservation projects of the sanctuary. Afterwards we hiked through the bush, crossed a river (don't forget your drybag for peace of mind), and finally met up with 2 beautiful elephants. We watched them relax and eat in the wild which was wonderful! They are treated so well by the guides and even get banana trees chopped down by the guides and brought to them! Must be an awesome life as an elephant here! Afterwards we walked to a secret waterfall, had very tasty lunch there and went for a swim. Then we met up with the elephants again and helped the locals to wash them. You could even sit on the elephants whilst washing them, absolutely lovely! The day ends with a visit in a small village where you can see the daily routine of the local tribes. I can really recommend going on a tour here! For only 45$ this is for sure one of the best spots to spend some time with elephants and the money goes directly to the conservation of the forests and wildlife.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank JPBaldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We booked an elephant day trek and a motorcycle day tour to the waterfall with Mr Den. On the first day, he drove us to a local village where we met our lovely mahout and guide, Mr Tuk, for the day. We the trekked through the forests, met an elephant named Mr Pull, and walked with him to some small rapids where we were able to swim with and wash the elephant before hiking back to the village. Our requested lunch was packed and brought as well.
For the motorbike tour, Mr Den first taught us how to ride our own motorbikes before we set off. He was very helpful, drove at a reasonable pace and waited for us when we went swimming at the waterfall/ziplining. All around fantatsic day.
Mr Den even took care of us when we were staying in Mondulkiri, driving us to and from our lodge whenever we wanted and giving advice on local things.
I would definitely recommend Mondulkiri adventure tours, Mr Den, Mr Tuk, and Mr Pull the elephant to anyone in the area! Thank you!

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Izzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

I spent a few days volunteering for the Sanctuary. It is a good project with cool people and marvelous forest and hill views. They are providing support and retirement for local elderly elephants as well as other projects. It will be time well spent going on a day or overnight tour or volunteering your time to help out with their projects.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Pehr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews