We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LEAF Cambodia Mondulkiri Elephant & Wildlife Sanctuary
Save
Review Highlights
Great day with the elephants

I’ve really enjoyed a day visit to this sanctuary. Started with a walk through the jungle followed... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
AndreaGambadoro
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
A wonderful day

We were picked up at our guesthouse. It was a little disappointing because the website said that... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2018
Charles D
,
Le Havre, France
via mobile
Read all 304 reviews
  
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
232
50
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
50
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional hut the river day tour surrounding villages sugar cane natural environment farming methods walking freely female elephants small trek spoke good english special moment local culture natural behaviour money goes overnight stay tasty lunch
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Hanging out with elephants for a day is awesome but for $50 we didn't really do anything. I don't know what I expected and perhaps there was a lot of hanging around because there was only 4 of us and there can be up to 15 but we arrived to observe the elephants and feel them but after abut 1 hour or so we all just sort of stood around then went back to the hut for lunch and a 2 hour nap in the hammocks. Then back to wash the elephants. it was a 9-4 day but could have done everything in 3 hours.
we had an awesome time it was just not well planned as a full day. Our guide had excellent English and was nice and helpful. Lunch was tasty.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

I had a great experience. Started the day trekking through the mondulkiri jungle where I got to visit three waterfalls (one of them really worth it), and at the end of the trekking (took almost 6 hours), we went to see an elephant and swim with it. All in all, an amazing experience.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

I decided on Mondulkiri Adventure Tours 1 day Elephant Trek because I wanted to get up & personal with a elephant and I wanted it to be community based tourism. On this trek you can ride on the elephant, which in my opinion is not hurting or stressing the animal. There is a cane basket on the elephant's back (bring a cushion because it is bl**dy uncomfortable but sitting on the elephant's neck (you know like a mahout!) is awesome. The real mahout walks along side.
On our trek from the village to the river (about 2kms) our elephant stopped many times to feed on the vegetation. The track gets a bit steep as you get close to the river but elephants are slow, careful and sure-footed so we were never concerned.
Down at the river you get off & the cane basket is removed & the elephant wanders off across the river into the dense jungle to feed by herself.
There are small grass huts with raised floors which you stay in to eat lunch. Lunch is provided (simple but tasty noodles & bottled water). A lady walked out of the jungle with her couple of small children with a bamboo backpack filled with cans of drinks (soft & beer) & some cans of tuna or other fish. $1 each & $1 per person to camp in the hut so don't forget to bring along some $1 notes.
In theory we were going to wash our elephant but the river was running fast (it was the wet season) & she decided she just wanted to frolic in the rapids, totally submerging & even floating down the river a bit. She played around for about 1.5 hours & by the time she came out we didn't have time to wash her. But who cares, it was wonderful to see her enjoying herself so much & disregarding her mahout's calls to get out - haha!
You go back to the village along a different route and your bum is happy when you get back to the village and hop off.
I loved it!

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank WarwickA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Booked these guys I cannot praise them enough. The guides had great knowledge of the area and were simply a pleasure to have around. We went trekking for a few miles and then cooled off at a nearby waterfall. After a simple but delicious luncheon in the jungle we fed the elephants and had a chance to spend time with them in the nearby river. What a great experience to have such close contact to these incredible creatures

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank HML808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

It was nice to spend some time hiking around the jungle, doing something active after a lot of time spent in cities. We spent the night in a village and drank some rice wine with our guide, who told us about life in northern Cambodia.

The highlight came on day 2, when we looked up his elephant, fed it a chopped up banana tree, walked around with her and bathed her in the river.

If you're spending lots of time around the cities and temples in Cambodia and Vietnam, spend a few days hiking around this area to relax and get some fresh air!

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews