We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When the 17th Century meets the 1970s”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Hotel

The Swan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Harleston B&B and Inns
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“When the 17th Century meets the 1970s”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Swan is a fantastic old building; fine timbers, exposed fireplaces, wonky floors etc etc. That's what the communal areas are like. However once we opened the door to our room, we left the 1770s for the 1970s.

I was disappointed with the room. Now I know we ordered a family room, not a honeymoon suite, but a little bit of class or charm would have been nice. Instead we got a cavernous room full of beds, a cupboard and a tv (circa today) on some drawers. To clarify, I'm not complaining about the beds- it is family room. The room was clean and tidy, just very soulless. This is heightened by the fact you are surrounded by character in the communal areas.

The en suite matched the room- dated but clean. My main issue was that even though I had a shower in the morning, once I got home I had to have another due the water pressure being unforgivably low.

In the Hotel welcome folder, there is mention of wifi. However the hub/router was not on for the whole weekend. We were out most of the weekend so I didn't have much use for it, but it would have been nice to check my emails.

We couldn't leave our car in the hotel carpark as there was a farmers market at the Swan. Fortunately there is a free carpark a short walk away, but when you have a one year old and all the accompanying paraphernalia, it makes it very annoying.

The main saving grace was the breakfast and accompanying staff. Good fresh food and lots of it. The employees were very accommodating and helpful.

My main problem however was the price. Even though we got a group discount, the price didn't reflect the hotel. I think that for the price being asked you would expect more. The fact the staff are helpful, the central location, cleanliness and breakfast is good saves this from being a 1 scoring review.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barsnacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    14
    11
    8
See reviews for
22
25
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Where to start?
It's a 16th Century Inn that needs a little TLC. The staff are very nice but it has a very quirky/eccentric feel about it. I stopped there on a business trip because it was convenient and would do so again, not sure if I'd stay with the family.
Three major points:-
1) The bedrooms were boiling hot.
2) The breakfast was excellent.
3) It was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We held our engagement party here, despite prior arrangements with regards to the buffet, the food they provided (for a stupid price) was disgusting. The only plus was that as long as we paid for some buffet, we could provide some of our own. My friends and family cooked food far superior to the 'professionals' at this place.
We had booked out most of the hotel rooms and a relative organised the 'honeymoon' room at a cut price as we had provided so much business. The lovely manager was only too happy to give us this concession. Then it comes to the owner, he then tried to charge the highest price for our room despite the prior arrangement (which I had seen written in their bookings) and really argued the toss with us. Even prior to the event when we were dressing it up he barked at me and told us that no-one should go into any of the hotel rooms if they weren't checked in to that particular room, no bad behaviour would be tolerated etc etc. I pointed out that he had no reason to expect this of our party, and should it happen by some fluke (this was a family affair with young children) then he would be within his right to seek action. It was a ridiculous assumption and very offensive. Had family not been visiting from all over the country to celebrate this occasion we would have called it off there and then.
The room we had was a four poster, should have been amazing. Unfortunately you could see the filth and dust building on the fabric surrounding the bed.
We had one bar man provided for our private room (that we paid for) and had pre-warned them of the large number of our party. That lead to us waiting for a ridiculous amount of time to get a drink as the poor barman was rushed off his feet.

It would seem that whoever is running this place is not in touch with the hotel or private function side of things
It was unclean, unfriendly (not the staff's fault!) and the breakfast in the morning was awful. I have to say that I can't believe this is the staff's fault, who could possibly work happily under such an officious man.

A few months later my family wanted to go in for a carvery. DO NOT BOTHER. The poor staff clearly have no guidance and do the best they can but have no clue on service. The food was absolutely awful. I know the meat has to sit out for a while in a carvery so the best can not be expected, but when it came to the vegetables and potatoes, well they were pathetic. Limp veggies with no flavour, terrible roasties and an uninviting room.

AWFUL PLACE. Sell it to someone that would actually care about the building and it's staff

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

thank you to the proprietor and staff. we had a lovely twin bedded room, clean bathroom etc., for our stay on 16th march 2012. and you could open a window! - hate the hermetically sealed rooms in modern hotels. the swan is beautifully and authentically old, also comfortable and homely. we felt that the staff and owner really cared that we had a nice stay. the only down side was noise from outside, but not their fault - merely the usual drunken teenagers to be found anywhere
these days... i would recommend this hotel, and would like to return.

Room Tip: only saw our room, so couldn't say if others would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-sea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The hotel is an old building full of character, the rooms are creaky but thats fine, its an old hotel. they are clean and met our needs for a one night stay. The bar had lots of atmosphere, Bar maid was miserable though.
Breakfast was good, and served with a smile. One of our freinds had there purse stolen from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Dining area is cold and shabby. All six of us agreed it was the worst meal we have ever had all of it being cold, should have been a HOT carvery. Not enough roast potatoes available, the staff said they to 'put some in the oven' and would bring some to the table, which although they cooked them they forgot to serve them, but at least they were hot! We complained main course was cold, but still the dessert, Hot sticky toffee pudding and custard was only luke warm. To be fair most of meal was nicely cooked, but it was just served cold. After complaining 10% was knocked of meals and we were offered 10% discount on another meal, not that we would ever go there again. To add insult to injury the owner tried to apolgize about veg, he did not accept meat was cold and came across as being rude.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louie442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My Husband and I stayed here over the Christmas period, and found The Swan to be a traditional country pub (which we love) with very helpful staff and a warm welcoming country atmosphere. The food is exactly what you would expect to find, traditional pub food at very reasonable prices, and didn't have to wait long dispite the amount of other diners. Our bedroom was lovely and warm on arrival and in the style of an old English country house. Overall a very pleasant stay and excellent value for money with a lovely breakfast to set us up for the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which dispite being above the bar area was very quiet, as away from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harleston
0.1 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
6.6 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wortwell Hall Barn
Wortwell Hall Barn
#1 of 7 in Harleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 19 The Thoroughfare, Harleston IP20 9AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Harleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Harleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Harleston, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing