We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Harleston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For a 60th birthday treat we found this a friendly, welcoming pub restaurant that provided a good menu, good service and the food was enjoyed by all. Nothing to complain about and we all enjoyed the celebration and the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    14
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a meal here with friends on a Saturday evening, it was quite busy, though half the restaurant was empty so everyone was crammed into one half why?
The menu is quite extensive and there were quite a number of things I fancied.
This did not include the Crocodile steaks, or other supposedly exotic dishes on the menu for effect!
The food was OK ish, and the service started very well, but we were not offered more drinks, (money lost there) and no one asked if the meal was OK.
We had to ask twice for the desert menu, after waiting for rather a long time for this and the following deserts, we were the only ones left in the restaurant. We then felt rather un-welcome, especially when one of the staff started counting up the till behind us. It was OK but not brilliant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karnak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
207 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Must be good because you would never know it was there!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were recommended here to eat by the B&B owner where we were staying. It was a 5 minute drive away but off the beaten track. A lovely country pub, nice gardens, an exciting menu, not what you'd expect. There were a few flies, but during peak farming season hard to avoid so not the pub's fault, but perhaps they could put some traps/candles up. Anyway, good food, although my steak wasn't cooked how I asked for it, I got the impression it was how the chef thought it should be rather than how I wanted it. Service ok, but the owners appeared to be dining and keeping a very close eye on things so not sure how it would be if they weren't. Clearly popular, so a good sign of a pub considering it is out of the way of passing traffic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam0pc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfair reviews”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have eaten at most of the restaurants in this area now and can honestly say that they get it right at the Black Swan. This is a good dining experience with nice people. Not sure that some of the previous reviews have been very honest. This is a country pub doing a good job of looking after its customers. It has something for most people so give it a go in a relaxed environment with good friends! We have met Percy the ginger cat...he is a lovely chap as well!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rangie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This IS one of the worse dining experiences ever.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Travelling back home we decided to stop at this quaint looking pub for a meal, don't let the outside fool you ! As there were only 2 of us on a Monday evening we really didn't have to expect to wait long, however the starters took over an hour to arrive and in that time the waitress did not approach the table to ask if we wanted another drink or to apologize for the wait.
When they did appear the goats cheese was very nice although a strange concept served with dry biscuits, the tiger prawns were disappointing, 4 prawns on 2 skewers with a slice of pepper for over £6. The waitress took the plates when finished, still no offer of a drink. We then waited for the main, the Caribbean chicken breast had been 'sold' to me by the bar tender taking our order at the table as a mild spicy dish with fresh pieces of fruit making it succulent!
It arrived as a dried chicken steak to hard to slice with a tinned peach and pineapple on top served with bland veg. The Super Mucky Duck burger was advertised as 2 half pound burgers it was in fact 4 small cheap supermarket burgers which after trying one tasted so disgusting was not eaten. The chicken was sent back untouched, an alternative was offered but by this time we had spent nearly 2 hours in the restaurant having had no service from a teenage waitress with no customer skills looking at the pub CAT clean its genitals next to us and just wanted to get home.
Don't stop at the Black Swan they have rude staff,a no care attitude from elderly landlords who couldn't even come over and apologize for the terrible food and service. drive a bit further down the road plenty of alternatives
I

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rumbumbaccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Harleston, Norfolk
 
Harleston, Norfolk
Harleston, Norfolk
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing