We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable restaurant”

J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Harleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: European, British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable restaurant”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A good and varied menu and reasonable prices. The staff are very friendly, attentive and efficient. They also have special offer days which give even greater value. Their 'own' real ale is very pleasant.
Booking is advisable, especially at week ends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth G, Manager at J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    63
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not so good this time”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

4 of us had a Saturday night meal. At 7pm, they had run out of the main vegetarian dish and had only one portion of the fish main left. That is pretty poor planning for a popular restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth G, Manager at J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We apologise we weren't able to accommodate you on this occasion. We are confused about this as we have multiple fish and vegetarian options available at all times. We may have sold out of one dish in particular but there are many others to choose from. We always try to accommodate where possible. If you would like to discuss this further please email me.
Enquiries@jdyoung.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No kids in resturant after 5!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Jd's owner only worried about selling food,good service in resturant and good food.but kids can't be in the resturant after 5 which is a bit odd,could understand if was 7 or 7.30
.but if it's a drink you want thereis normally only one on bar no matter how busy they are,so it can be a long wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happydad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth G, Manager at J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
'No under 5 year olds after 5pm in the restaurant'
This policy was put in place due to receiving many complaints from diners. However young children are more than welcome to eat in the bar area after 5pm.

As you can appreciate volume of bar customers cannot be predicted. We always have more than one member of staff working at all times, we apologise if on this occasion you incurred a wait.
We do hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My hearty congratulations to the management and staff of J D Young in Harleston. My family and I had Sunday luch there in February 2014 and had a very enjoyable meal.

The menu is varied, the food quality superb, and the service friendly and prompt. This venue must surely qualify as one of the best places to eat in the area. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehogge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth G, Manager at J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are please you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

value for money. good service. good food. always feel confident to take our visitors there as we know we will not be disappointed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Harleston, Norfolk
Harleston, Norfolk
 

Been to J.D.Young Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing