We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very impressed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Granary cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Harleston, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryan H
1 review
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

18/06-14-21/06/14
Short break away with my partner and our Beagle! I think that the photo's do not do this place justice - It is a lovely cottage in the countryside.
Don't listen to the bad reviews, some people are professional moaners!
There's a good 'dog walk' along a bridleway just down the road and visit to Harleston, Bungay and Beccles is a must. Highly recommend CC Marine boat hire in Beccles for £90 a day.. Sounds a lot but is well worth it, you'll see what I mean (e.e mooring up to a pub beer garden :-) )
Stay at Granary Cottage! It's an ideal base

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_minford
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, charming property full of character in a beautifully quiet location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family, in particular my 11 and 8 year old adored our short stay at this cottage. The conversion has made the most of a small property showing its rural qualities to the full. We appreciated the property because of it authenticity and it was what we had expected from the listing. The kitchen was well equipped and we had all we needed for a young family including an outside space. There were televisions and DVDs in each room, enough to keep everyone happy. The area was rural as we expected and beautifully quiet with a real "getaway," feel. Our host was very accommodating before and during the stay especially as we booked at the last minute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property character
Liked least: distance to local pubs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunflower...
staffordshire. england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Musty, Damp, Unloved”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We booked Granary Cottage for three nights at the beginning of April, it was musty, damp and unloved, stopped one night and then left for home!! Did get a refund for some of the cost from the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area was nice
Liked least: The accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
I gave a refund just out of goodwill and cannot agree with any of their comments as they are simply untrue. These people didn't even bother to come and tell me they were not happy and that they would be leaving early. All I can add is that the cottage had been properly cleaned, aired and the heating put on. Unfortunately you just can't please some people.
The cottage has no damp in it and the carpets had just been professionally cleaned leaving a fresh lemon smell. The toilet was new and had never been used and the washing machine was also new having been replaced within 2 days when the other one stopped working. The people who arrived immediately after loved the cottage and said they would be coming back. I think the guest book in the cottage tells the true picture and most guests have loved staying.
I include in this response two other reviews so that people can make their own mind up and as the owner I am more than willing to answer any queries or concerns about the cottage.
Snowy
Leicestershire
JULY 2010
5 out of 5
We three had a lovely week in Granary Barn, so well converted and comfortable, very good kitchen with everthing, comfortable bedrooms
and a very friendly and caring host
Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2010 Date of Stay: Jul 2010 Source: HomeAway
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Did you find this review helpful?

Mc2009
Sheffield
LOVELY WEEK IN NORFOLK!
5 out of 5
Had a wonderful week in Granary Cottage - delightful base with everything you can wish for! Dishwasher, washer & freeview TV meant it was a hassle-free base to relax. The bedrooms were comfortable and well-equipped, and the conversion as a whole was very well done. Having taken the bikes with us, it was fantastic to be able to use the outhouse to store them securely. With its location and surrounding opportunities a week didn't seem long enough! Finally, our hosts were brilliant and many thanks to them for making out summer!
Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2009 Date of Stay: Aug 2009 Source: HomeAway
Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Did you find this review helpful?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superdrea...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely average”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was conveniently located for our requirements, but took a bit of finding as the entrance being opposite the non-existent 'colourful village sign' was not a great deal of help. I have to say it was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever tried to sleep in, definitely needs a new mattress. The brick floor in the passage way just does not work, cold and uncomfortable on your feet when visiting the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Generally in need of a good clean and attention to detail such as the loose hot tap in the hand basin, fridge door not closing properly.
With a little TLC this could be a lovely little cottage, and as my wife always says, the owners of rentals should live in it themselves for a week and they would then see the faults.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge area
Liked least: The bed and brick floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Having read this review I notice that the village sign has been removed, maybe for re-painting so I will not mention this when giving directions in future until it has been put back.
As to the cleanliness of the property I have just had all the carpets professionally cleaned and the cottage is thoroughly cleaned between lets so this is something of a mystery . Certainly when I went to meet the people staying there was no mention that anything was not to their liking and they commented that they thought the cottage was very nice. I always say to people that if there are any problems at all they should come and let me know as we live next door and can sort any problems out.
I am putting a rug on the brick floor outside the bathroom so no need to walk the couple of steps on the brick floor. It is a shame that the question of the mattress was not raised after the first night as I could have put another one in there and I will be putting a better one on the bed. Nobody else who has stayed at the cottage has told me that they found it uncomfortable but the problem is now being addressed. As to the fridge the catch is broken on the freezer compartment but it still closes and keeps food frozen and the fridge is de-frosted between lets. There is nothing amiss with the fridge door.
I would say that generally the cottage is well maintained, the washing machine is brand new and there is a new toilet in the bathroom. If we are made aware of any problems in the cottage they are addressed without delay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$104
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing