We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Gecko Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladyville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gecko Bungalow
Southington,Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay Scott & Michelle are great hosts and provide a clean and comfortable place. They picked us up at the airport and helped us navigate our way around. Would definitely stay again. If traveling to Belize this is a great place to stay overnight.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AWHEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hale, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Cute bungalow, attractively decorated. Breakfast was amazing, the fruit platter lasted us 3 days. Scott & Michelle are knowledgeable about the area & Belize in general when they were available to talk. They suggested a couple of good restaurants & places to visit. Didn't particularly care for location as it is in a subdivision like area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Gecko Bungalow was phenomenal! 4 friends and I stayed for only 1 short night before we had to catch an early morning flight - wished we could have stayed at least a few days longer! Scott and Michelle were outstanding. They picked us up from the airport and we instantly loved them! They know the areas well and can give great recommendations for place to see and things to do. The Bungalow itself was awesome as well - 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and a kitchen - which we didn't even use because they made a spectacular breakfast in the morning. All around, one of the best and most fun places I have ever stayed in throughout all of my travels!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

To start with.....I've known Scott and Michelle for 20 years so for me it was an awesome reunion! My wife Rayna and I were there on a belated honeymoon and had an amazing experience! Belize is such a beautiful country with many things to do and see. The Bungalow itself was extremely comfortable, clean and relaxing. With all the cool sounding birds and gecko chirps it made waking up in the morning all that much better. We spent a few days cave tubing, zip lining and exploring Altun Ha while we were on the main land. But, our favorite spot to be was on the isle of Caye Caulker! Soooo relaxing with a low key feel to the place with great drinks, swimming and awesome food! We also love San Pedro, it was a little more fast pace then Caye Caulker and much bigger. All in all our trip was amazing! We can't wait to book our next trip back! Thanks again Scott and Michelle! Give Mitch, Evan, Tig, Juice and Scout our best!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buhl, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

If you want a fun loving couple who will share the Belizean experience with you, then this is the place to stay. From the cute little 2 bedroom bungalow with all the amenities to the wonderful conversations and breakfasts, you will not go wrong. Michelle and Scott are like family now. They open up their hearts and home to those who are traveling to the mainland of Belize. Do not miss staying at this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

From the time we were greeted at the airport I felt like I was seeing family. There was eight in our group and Scott, Michelle & Krueger truly opened their home to us with fantastic accommodations. Oh and the breakfasts, out of this world. Not only the abundance of fresh fruit, but the presentation was off the charts with Scotts' beautiful fruit sculptures. Not to be outdone by the flavorful breakfast. And of course there was Mitch, He was equally amazing. I have a feeling our boys made a lifelong friend with him, all of them for that matter. I'm still amazed at all we were able to fit in in such a short time(7days), but none of it would have been possible without the help of all of them.
They most definitely went above and beyond and they haven't seen the last of us. Oh and I have to mention their great relationship with the local authorities. Thanks to that we were able to pull a fun prank on my son which was absolutely priceless. Where else can you find all that?
Thanks again Scott, Michell, Krueger & Mitchell!! Till the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieO5029889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, ID
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently spent a week at the Gecko Bungalow in Ladyville! After a year and a half of getting to know Michelle via Facebook, it was great to finally meet her in person! She exudes warmth and it didn't waiver at all during our week stay! Michelle's husband, Scott was equally as warm, their hospitality far exceeded anything I/we have ever experienced - they treated us like family! We had a group of 8 of us and their accomodations worked out great! The bungalow is very cute and comfortable, including the beds - and that's important to me! Our mornings started out with freshly brewed coffee and great breakfasts prepared by Scott; his fruit platter's were gorgeous and equally as delicious - oh, the fruit there, was out of this world!
The bungalow was tucked away just outside (probably still in, but felt far removed and isolated) of Ladyville; it is centrally located and easy to get to and from wherever it is you need to go. We booked it for the full week, however, we did go to Caye Caulker and spent a few days as well! I would highly recommend to ANYONE to stay at the Gecko, but secretly, I would like to keep it a secret so I can get it anytime I want! We will be going back! I wish much success to Michelle and Scott!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank merleidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladyville
5.6 mi away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
556 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza
9.8 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel
7.9 mi away
Bachelor Inn
Bachelor Inn
#6 of 7 in Belize City
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bamboleo Inn
Bamboleo Inn
#1 of 2 in Ladyville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Bungalow

Property: Gecko Bungalow
Address: 6 Mayflower Crescent | Lake Garden, Ladyville, Belize (Formerly Casita de Lyons)
Region: Belize > Belize District > Ladyville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ladyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and safe with a personal touch, and just minutes from the Airport. This is a private 2 bedroom Bungalow done up with fun Caribbean colors, nice kitchen, bath and AC in the rooms. One additional bedroom in the main house with its own bathroom and AC can accommodate your larger party of 6 (call for availability). Great location to be your base for all of your great mainland vacation excursions here in sunny Belize! See more pictures at facebook/geckobungalow. US Phone 208,285,7000. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gecko Bungalow Belize/Ladyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing