We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base for a stay in Athens”
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #34 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for a stay in Athens”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel Tony is a great option as it is conveniently located, lovely modern rooms and all for €80 a night!

We stayed in the new building which has just finished renovation which I recommend. The room has a large fridge, sink a microwave in the kitchen area and even ice cubes in the freezer for a g&t on the balcony. The bathroom is also modern with nice fittings and a strong shower.

Tony and his son seem to run the show and were friendly and keen to help offer suggestions and do anything they can to help.

The only downside for us was the lack of a safe in the room but you can leave valuables with Tony at reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    187
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
181
247
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel situated in quiet area near the Acropolis, Agora and the new acropolis museum. The room is not big, but there was everything you need - small kitchen with a few dishes and so on, kettle and microwave.
The owner, Tony, payed us outstanding attention, he was very friendly.
On friday there was a street market, we bought very tasty vegetables for a few euros.
Very nice place to stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelK_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is not an upscale hotel (possibly a two star,) but certainly pleasant enough. We had a room in the old building with no balcony, which was a disappointment, but the reservation was last minute. Hotel Tony is in midst of a renovation, which means a refuse bin directly outside the front door. Our room was extremely clean and the mattresses were fantastic. The windows have metals screens that shield out any noise at night (which is limited given the neighborhood). Hotel Tony is in an excellent location. It is in a good, but non-tourist neighborhood where we felt comfortable walking home after dinner with our children. It is in easy walking distance of all the sights (Acropolis, Acropolis museum and Plaka). Tony is a wonderful host and extremely helpful giving recommendations on restaurants. That said, Tony indicated that they accepted credit cards, but when I went to pay Tony said that the credit card machine was not working so he sent me down the street to a cash machine. Tony also suggested that there were croissants and rolls for breakfast, but I saw nothing that indicated that service was offered during the stay (though there is instant coffee in the room. Overall a pleasant stay with relatively good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordhgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Hotel tony is located at the foot of the Acropolis and within a stone's throw from sygrou-figs metro. But having said that, the metro was down on the day of our arrival and taking the bus subsequently walking to the hotel was a nightmare.

The whole district in which the hotel is located is supposed to be an upscale residential area hence the surrounding houses were all pretty-looking, dotted with nectarine trees and cafes.

We stayed at the studios instead of the main building and it was nicely renovated with a white marbled patio and electronic card entrance. We also did not have any issues with the room except that the ambient temperature was centrally controlled and hence not optimal for us.

We would suggest traveling with a bag pack if staying at hotel tony as the roads were sloping.

All in all, it was an excellent hotel. Good job !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacrimalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Tony is close to Acropolis, but in a non-tourist neighborhood. Really enjoyed the neighborhood restaurants -- take advantage of the recommendations from Tony and his son! I enjoyed sitting on balcony watching the street scenes. Tony and son are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Mattress was fantastic. Stayed with our 2 kids in an adjoining room so perfect for families. Only downside was that they are doing some remodelling work right now (in the daytime only) so lobby and some floors are a bit messy. Place will look fantastic when completed.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, ask for adjoining rooms. We stayed on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRanch_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alemania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed three night at Tony's hotel in Athens. The hotel is great, located a few minutes away from the main attractions. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. Tony organized a transfer from the port and gave us useful recomendations and tips.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peru-alemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good:
Friendly proprietor
Comfortable beds
Windows that keep out the noise, and a grill that keeps out the light.
Posh granite/tiles etc
Very, very clean
Mini kitchen very useful
lots of low energy LED lighting
Nice location - convenient but real. Not a tourist trap, put close to tube
wifi that works perfectly - as well as at home

Not so good
Being in the annex means that there is no lobby - nowhere to wait for others if you are in more than 1 room
The ground floor room for 4 has no balcony, which is a loss in itself, and makes the room a bit cramped. We were 2 + one small 9 year old, and that was enough for the room.
No shower curtain, so water goes all over the loo, which you then have to dry.
Made for very tall people - towel rail 2m high, cupboard for glasses very high up
There is a kitchen, but nowhere to eat - 3 beds and a small table would have been better, or as I say, a balcony room would be better
Lighting very white - a bit brutal
Cleaners very keen on moving towels out of the bathroom every day (why?)
Towels low rent - out of keeping.

So yes, I recommend it, and expect that the rooms with balconies are 5*

Tip: From tube walk up Drakou, and then along, rather than along Leof Syngrou Andrea and then up - it is less steep that way, and Drakou is pedestrianised, whereas Botsari Noti has very narrow uneven pavements.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony, in the annex. There is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,030 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
722 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#54 of 326 in Athens
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#42 of 326 in Athens
587 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Property: Hotel Tony
Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing