We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #45 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 with my girlfriend. The room was very clean and modern. The fridge and sink in the room was bonus. Loved the location right near the foot of the acropolis. The neighborhood felt very safe.

The hotel is less than a ten minute walk from a metro station which made it easy and cheap to get to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LithiumPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    183
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
172
239
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed end of september in hotel tony. What a really brilliant gem of a hotel. Dont be worried about the outside look - its in a local neighbourhood but really lovely boutique rooms. They are not massive but the one we stayed in had a lovely balcony aircon and a rain shower. Beds we comfortable and the hotel seemed very quiet.

Tony really really want to make his place the best he can and is really helpful. We got there late and he arranged a taxi - he was on site to let us in - and recommended good eateries close.

The hotel has a brilliant location for the all the locations you want to view. We never used the metro as we could walk.

Excellent value for money and when we come again we will stay.

Thanks Tony -

Room Tip: Dont go budget - its a little more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_Murch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We must've gotten the smallest room in the hotel. For 3 women, we felt like we were in a sardine can. We were in the basement and according to the hotel, it's considered the 1st floor. We definitely didn't get the nicer room like the other travelers.

When you're in the basement = no wifi, no internet access. We only got wifi if we stepped outside of the building or in the lobby.

The bathroom was "super" small, shower was very narrow and I'm a petite woman and I had trouble moving around and you can't contain the water from making a mess of the floor. For some reason, the Greeks installs the towel bar 7 feet high. I could barely reach to hang my towel. Just odd.

The AC was working well during the Sept. heat wave.

My first night, I woke up itching my legs. My friends and kept getting bit by bugs or something during our stay there. I mentioned it to the owner, Tony and he said, "That's impossible! In 27 years, no one has ever complained!" Funny how everyone says that and yet you can't refute the evidence. Anyway, Tony was a good character.

A decent location, we walked everywhere, no need to taxi. The beds were terribly hard and my back hurt every morning. I had to lay down additional two layers of blankets to have some cushion. If you like extra firm mattresses and feeling springs, you'll love the beds here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank power_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed a few nights in September 2013 and really enjoyed it. The location just can not be better really - 10-15 minutes walk to Acropolis and many nice eating places. The staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Very special Thanks to taxi driver Nikos recommended to us by the hotel for airport/Rafina pick up and drop off.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonanza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our trip in Greece started in Athens where for two night we stayed at Hotel Tony. Very pleasant experience. The room is freshly renovated, modern bathroom, fifteen minutes to Acropolis, comfy mattress. Tony told us that he is in the business for forty years and it reflect on how he deals with his guests - professional and with the heart. I loved the neighborhood, it doesn't feel like tourist busy street. You live among locals and it gives you nice vibe of being local. I wouldn't say its cheap, but EUR 85 is fare price for what you get. The biggest impact on me was (laugh or not) marble staircases to and in the building. They are gorgeous :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iribra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was worried about this hotel before we checked in because of the relatively low price compared to other hotels in the area, but I could not have been more pleased. Our room, which was in different building from the front desk, was newly remodeled. It was very quiet and spacious with one double bed and two twin beds. There was also a refrigerator and kitchen sink. The location is in quiet area just a short walk from the Acropolis and numerous dining options.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you are going to be in Athens, you must stay at Hotel Tony. This is a family run hotel with a great location, beautiful and immaculate rooms and unbelievable service, all at a very reasonable price. Our trip to Greece and the Cyclades was in celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary. We had many things that we wanted to see and do while in Greece, the Acropolis, the museums, Santorini, great food, etc. etc. Having been in Greece many years ago, we knew that visiting Athens could be a fantastic experience, but like any big city had many risks to take into consideration. After reading the excellent reviews in Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at Hotel Tony's the first night and see if we could get some assistance in scheduling the additional ten days in Greece, Santorini and another island in the Cyclades. We were really hoping that Tony, the proprietor of the hotel, could provide some help in putting the final details together for our trip, and to that end we told Tony that we would probably stay two or three additional days at his hotel.

Fast forward, we had probably the best vacation ever. Upon arriving at Athens' Eleftherios Venizelos Airport at 4:00 am in the morning, Tony had arranged for a cab driver to meet us at the airport and drive us to our hotel, where Tony met us at 5:00 am in the morning to personally check us into our room. The next morning, Tony helped us set up our trip by referring us to an excellent travel agent, who helped us put together our trip to Santorini and the island of Naxos. Tony personally helped us book a room at a beautiful five star resort in Naxos, and we even got to eat at his cousin's fantastic restaurant, Typografio, in Naxos. He provided us with excellent recommendations for restaurants, sites, etc. while in Athens. We started each morning with a fantastic breakfast at a bakery that Tony recommended, which was a nice five minute walk from Hotel Tony. However, everything was a 5-10 minute walk from Hotel Tony, The Acropolis, the Museum, the Plaka, subway, etc.

Hotel Tony is fantastic. However, the service and hospitality of Tony, his wife Charo and their son Vasilis was truly awesome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Property: Hotel Tony
Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing