We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Very Clean”
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #45 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Very Clean”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel Tony is within walking distance from the Acropolis and is located in a middle-class, residential area of Athens. Our best moments included going to the local bakery run by two girls, a souvlaki place across the street from the bakery run by Nicholas (reputed to be one of the best in Athens), and the fruit stall which stocks the local, fresh, seasonable fruit for a reasonable price. Tony's hotel may not be fancy, but it is very clean. He had sent Nikos Tolias to pick us up from the airport and Nikos became our guide in our travels around Athens. Tony is completely involved in all aspects of running his hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kombody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    183
    29
    15
    8
See reviews for
172
239
34
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Tony's the last week in March. It was very comfortable, very recently renovated, and scrupulously clean. There was a micro, fridge, water kettle, sink and dishes. The Friday morning we were there, there was a farmer's market right in front of the hotel where we bought fruit. We stopped at the bakery Mama Psomi, a couple blocks down and bought spanakopita (the best you will have in Greece! Hands down!), tiropita, yogurt and juice from the cooler, and had a wonderful breakfast on our balcony. (Mama Psomi is one of the best reasons I know of to stay at Tony's. They're at 42-44 Zacharista.)

Tony has spared no expense in updating this hotel. The fixtures are all high quality and the balcony door seals off outside noise exceptionally well. Unfortunately, nothing seals off the interior noise. The rooms surround a central staircase of marble and all the comings and goings--which are many on a Saturday night--echo loudly up and down. If you don't sleep well, or, like us, were dealing with jet lag, it leads to sleepless nights. In the busy tourist season, the noise might be worse. I would recommend this hotel for very sound sleepers or those with excellent earplugs.

One thing to note before making your reservation, our bed, billed as a king, was actually a queen.

Lastly, we had to get a cab to take us to the bus station, so we asked Tony to call one. He did so, and told us the fare should be 8 to 10 Euros. The driver, he told us, was a "good friend" of his--who charged us 18 Euros. Moral? Get your own cab, you can't do any worse.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is over the front door. When the hotel is busy, you'll hear everyone c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Tony our first two nights in Greece. Tony was wonderful, he checked us in at midnight because our flight was delayed, as well as called the airline the next day to check on our bag that didn't make it. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and in a great location. It is about 10 minutes to walk to the Acropolis and the Plaka neighborhood, and three blocks from the Metro. The rooms are very quiet as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very close to all the sights and very comfortable. Athens in May was way better than we expected, so you could easily spend more than the 3 nights we did. Tony and son were very helpful. wifi was down which cant be blamed on the hotel

Room Tip: room was kind of underground and not very light, but if all you want to do is sleep etc. it is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wozza261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent one night at Hotel Tony on our way through Athens. The location is perfect, just a short walk away from the Acropolis and the Metro in a quieter area of Athens. Our room was modern and clean, just a little bit noisy (we could hear other guests packing and talking through the walls). Newly upgraded rooms were great with a kitchenette area for those staying for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale Fl.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A bit far from the airport but worth it as we were in walking distance to the Parthenon, Acropolis and many nice restaurants and shops on Drakou St as well as the metro on Drakou St.

We had a newly renovated room with 3 beds. The 2 twin beds were very hard, the full bed was ok. The bathroom was a nice size. The shower (no shower curtain) makes the bathroom floor all wet.

The location is very safe as we walked everywhere at night without a problem. The hotel has cameras and you need to use your room key to enter the building.

The room had a fridge, plates, cups and utensils, microwave, hair dryer (upon request) and a balcony.

Tony Sr. told us things to do, restaurants to eat at and places to see. He even gave us directions. Strofi and Mahn Mahn are fantastic ! Strofi has a wonderful view of the Acropolis !



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Overall, this is a really nice stay for the price. The pros: absolutely great location- easy walk to the Parthenon, to cafés, and to the train station. Tony is great and very personable. And the bathrooms had recently been renovated, and were beautiful. The cons: the wifi was out for our entire stay, their credit card machines were down and we had to pay cash for rooms, and the beds were hard as rocks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Property: Hotel Tony
Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing