We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four thumbs up!”
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tony
Ranked #51 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

A wonderful hotel in a great location. An easy walk to the Acropolis, the Plaka, and the new museum. Comfortable room and even managed to fit four beds so we could all stay in one room. The bathroom was very small but it actually added to the charm. The renovated rooms that Tony showed us look fantastic and we hope we can stay in one of them next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

So, we were a little skeptical based on Frommer's Guide which rated this as a student type hotel. When we wrote Tony, we got back quick, great, detailed emails with a promise of newly renovated rooms at 70 Euro per night (a real bargin) in a wonderful location just 15-20 minutes from Plaka area and the Acropolis. There were four of us and each couple got a very clean, newly renovated room with AC, hairdryers on request and even an electrical adapter. One room was small and the other spacious but both really terrific. The location was in a family neighborhood, felt very safe, and actually 15-10 minutes from Plaka and Acropolis as advertised. Tony and family/staff were very accommodating with lots of helpful suggestions. let them get you cab to Airport. There were lots of younger student types there but we really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankandJane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We had three nights in Hotel Tony. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is good in a very safe part of the city. The hotel is close to the metro but please be aware it is up a steep hill if you have lots of luggage. Bedroom was fine, bathroom was exceptional for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Athens is a filthy, crowded, traffic-snarled metropolis gagging on too many smokers, too many tourists, and too many illegal immigrants selling worthless tchotchkes. In the midst of all this roughness, there are some diamonds to be found. The Acropolis, the New Acropolis Museum, & Tony's Hotel - a modern sanctuary in an ancient city.

Tony's is ranked so highly here for good reason. He provides excellent accommodations (see pictures) at an excellent price (€75/night - CASH ONLY!), and has an excellent location in a whisper-quiet residential neighborhood.

To top it off, he takes tremendous personal interest in your happiness and satisfaction. The first night we were there, his WiFi connection to the internet was down, and I couldn't get online. I called to complain about it, and he took care of it immediately the next morning. After that, he checked in with me every single day to make sure I was able to get online and the connection speed was satisfactory.

Tony takes great pride in his place, and is eager to show off his most recent renovations while excitedly telling you what he's going to improve next. I think it's fair to say that he could probably charge twice as much as he is now, and it would still be a good value.

Don't bother lodging anywhere else. Stay with Tony and use the money you save to treat yourself to one of the fancy restaurants just a short walk away. Tony is bringing back the good name of Athens one guest at a time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnadivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at Tony's Hotel twice in August 2010 and enjoyed it tremendously both times. The place is modern, clean, recently remodeled and bright -- and Tony himself is friendly and charming. He or an employee extended such courtesies as arranging a cab at 2:30 a.m. I highly recommend Hotel Tony, which is convenient to Plaka, Syntagma and is at the foot of the Acropolis.
Tom and Christa

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom71Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I applaud Tony and his family for their successful efforts to give their customers a great room at a reasonable price. We stayed in the newly renovated apartment (huge, immaculate, ultra modern decor, granite counters, and impeccable workmanship). A reasonable walk to the Acropolis, the new museum, Temple of Zeus, Plaka, etc... And just 75 euros! Plus, English is well spoken, and the lobby is staffed 24/7, so someone is always there to help you. But please note: if you're going to Athens, go for the history. It's shocking and disappointing, but truth is, Athens is covered in graffiti and cat urine - so don't waste your money on the fancy hotels - they're surrounded by it, too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_am_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My budget was for a medium-priced hotel; the problem was that a lot in Athens seemed to be in seedy locations with pickpockets. At the last moment, I found Tonys. He was so welcoming and helpful beyond belief to a jet-lagged family. I had no worries about safety in his neighborhood. Also, location, location, location - the hotel is a gentle two street walk to the Acropolis - a drop-dead sight when lit at night. Because we booked late, we couldn't get a family suite, but 2 standard rooms. They were basic, but the AC worked in the sweltering heat and the location was quiet. I look forward to my next trip to Athens and to Tonys.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuieKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#24 of 284 in Athens
723 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#34 of 284 in Athens
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Kimon Athens Hotel
Kimon Athens Hotel
#71 of 284 in Athens
334 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 284 in Athens
629 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 284 in Athens
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Address: 26 Zacharitsa | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £52 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing