We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing beats this lovely view!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diodos Archaias Agoras

Diodos Archaias Agoras
Ranked #68 of 3,596 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Monastiraki
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nothing beats this lovely view!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Diodos restaurant is one of our favorite spots for my wife and me. It’s very close to monastiraki train station, about 10 minutes walking distance. It’s located next to the railway tracks but this doesn’t make it disturbing at all. On the contrary we believe that it’s one of the most impressive spots to gaze the Acropolis with the lights on. The scenery is just unique and all this at an affordable price if you choose to dine or even just have a drink.
The food is very good, and I’ve noticed that it gets better and better, year after year. We usually order a meat plate for two or a combination of meat and fish. These dishes include a variety of many interesting delicacies (pork, chicken, sausages etc.). The sweet they give for free to guests (usually panakota) is amazingly tempting for a guy who’s on a constant diet (yeah right).
I recommend it to all of you. If you don’t like it or if there are no tables free, don’t worry because there are so many other options nearby. So many restaurants side by side and almost all of them with an amazing view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    180
    39
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place for a Greek meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went in the evening and choose this restaurant because we saw it was almost full and with a lot of Greek people. This is normally the best sign. Very tasty pork souvlaki and especially the pork giros. Good portions and nice service. Also not expensive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Domitri was very welcoming and the food and coffee was very nice.
Greek salad, fried zucchini, squeaky cheese and crusty herb bread.
Very good service .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

After several days in Athens I finally found somewhere that takes credit cards. This meant that I could order what I wanted and not just what I could afford with the cash I had in my wallet. I mention this because it made me happy and might bias this review. Another thing to mention is that I keep trying to order grilled sardines and finding either that no fish is on the menu, or it's on the menu but they are out of sardines, or they have grilled sardines on the menu but tell me I can only have them fried. At Diodos I finally got grilled sardines and they were just what I wanted. Nothing incredible, just well cooked fish. I also had grilled eggplant, which was delicious. And they brought me a free dessert (everyone seemed to be getting one). If I looked to my left I saw the Acropolis, and if I looked straight I saw the Temple of Hephaestus in the ancient agora, which is right across the street. The sardines were 8 euros, which is the same as other places in this neighborhood, and the eggplant (an appetizer) was 7 euros. The service was friendly. It's not gourmet food, but I don't know what they could have done to make it any better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D57896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The restaurant is in a very convinient place, just in front of the Agora exit at Adrianou street. Probably after climbing the Acropolis and visiting the ancient Agora you will be hungry and that's the place I would suggest you should have your lunch. I would suggest the mix-grill (adequate for three adults) and for a salad, the Ntakos. The meet quality is good and you will certainly enjoy the view. The service is also quick and quite helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KostasMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diodos Archaias Agoras also viewed

 

Been to Diodos Archaias Agoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing