We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great staff”
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Areos Hotel
Ranked #21 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
São Pedro do Estoril, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel has charm, a great location (near the rowdy Exarchia quarter and the subway), beautiful balconies, comfort... well, no gourmet breakfast. So what?

Room Tip: Ask for a higher stage, as you'll get a larger balcony and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    233
    53
    6
    5
See reviews for
81
293
42
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

There might be several reasons to stay here:
The Archeological museum which is two minutes from the hotel;
Value for you money – the stay in the hotel is cheap regarding its quality;
A green park in front of the hotel;
Amicable staff.
But everything costs something. In this case you shouldn’t wait for a breakfast – it’s terrible, I’ll find nothing interesting in roundabouts – the center is far from here, take care of your meal much before you go to the hotel – there is nothing worth visiting close to the spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We booked this last minute, as with most of our accommodation on our holiday. When I took a closer look at the map, and requested instructions on how to find the hotel, I very nearly cancelled the booking.
Being our first overseas trip, the use of 3 separate trains to get to the hotel was more than a little daunting, and coupled with the fact that some found the area questionable, we were a little worried.

We arrived a our last stop for our 5 min walk to the hotel, and were greeted with armed riot police on the corners, due to the political unrest at this time. This made us nervous, as it looked to be a poor part of Athens.

When we found the Hotel, we received a very friendly welcome, with excellent advice on where to visit and eat ( Rozalia Restaurant is great).
Our room was spotless, and much nicer than expected and walking in the area was very safe, in fact, we felt a little silly for our earlier concerns with the area, as it was common to see the riot police throughout Athens at this time.

Travel into Athens centre was very easy via the metro, even though this is only our 3rd time using trains, and its only 3euro for a 24hr ticket.

Highly recommend this Hotel, great service and price, location is close enough for convenience to Athens, and no doubt quieter, and the service from Iosef at the reception has been outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Great reception, check in was quick and efficient and very friendly. Room was amazing very stylish, spacious and super clean. Bed was very comfy. Lovely balcony with a great view. We were given great advice on where to eat locally and food was amazing and cheap. Train station was fairly convenient and we found getting around Athens a breeze. Breakfast was terrific (Try the yoghurt and honey..so yum) and even the morning we were leaving breakfast was supplied and we left early before breakfast had started! Thanks so much! Drinks in the bar are great with terrific staff. We had a wonderful stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The reception was very welcoming and extremely helpful with any questions we had. It was clear that the hotel had thought a great deal about style and design. It was super clean everywhere. The breakfast was continental with a few extras such as olives, cheese pies, and spanakopita. The breakfast room is light and stylish and relaxing. The buffet was constantly refilled and kept spik and span. The room was very clean, well designed, very light with an excellent bathroom. The room has black out curtains and a huge balcony with chairs, umbrella and sun beds and a view of Likavitos Hill (room 603). The free internet worked wireless and wired, uninterrupted. The area is ok, only a 5 minute walk from Viktoria metro and very close

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenelopevanSchliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastoria, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent Hotel, Convenient Location, very clean, Best Value for Money!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaleia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here even though we were a little concerned about the reviews about it being in a dodgy location. The location ended up being fine - Athens has some dodgy areas but if you take the metro into town you'll avoid any problems rather than just walking from the hotel. The staff will point you in the right direction if need be.

The hotel is a lovely boutique hotel with fabulous rooms which are super clean and certainly better than we expected. We ordered room service on the first night which was great, and staff gave us fantastic recommendations for dinner on the second night. Breakfast (which was included) had a wide variety of food and was more than enough to get us going for the day.

There was a strike (happens very regularly) and the hotel gave us good ideas of what to do even though our tour was postponed till the next day. The tour company rang the hotel who bent over backwards to ensure we still got to do the tour (at a discounted cost) by negotiating with the unrelated tour company.

Can't speak highly enough for this hotel given how cheap it was.

We would recommend taking a car service to and from the airport which is a set price rather than relying on taxis (which strike often without warning). The price is as much as you'd spend on a taxi, but reliable and nice clean cars.

We really enjoyed out trip to Athens and would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#1 of 10 in Kifisia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,180 reviews
Victory Inn
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Property: Areos Hotel
Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#28 Family Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing