We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No drinking water”
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Areos Hotel
Ranked #26 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No drinking water”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stand in awe as Antony at the front desk told me the room does not come with drinking water.

This is my 2nd stay in Areos. The 1st was in a deluxe double room that came with 2 bottle of water. Since I am transiting, I booked a small room. To my shock, it did not come with drinking water. At 1st, I thought it was a mistake but Antony confirmed it.

So if you book a small room, BRING YOUR OWN WATER.

Room Tip: Dont book small room, no drinking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank family4A1baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    239
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
82
303
44
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a really good stay in the Areos hotel, it is small, friendly, clean and had excellent service. Good sized rooms, immaculate bathroom and staff that went above and beyond. Great value for money!

The area behind the hotel is not the best, but it is more than possible to avoid this and get in and out of town easily.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better as noise from the bar travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

It was no problem getting a room there without booking or callling before. The whole employees were really friendly. The room was clean and looked new. Like it is in big cities, it was a bit too loud, at least we got the room next to the elevator... At the included breakfast you get everything, but you need to pay for coffee?!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here 6 nights 27 Jan to 2 Feb 2014 in Room 504 at a rate of EUR 47/night single incl BF (winter room rate). (Note that the street sign in Athens says BOUMPOULINAS not Bouboulinas as TA has it)

Based on the fact that I could stay here for EUR47 per night, this place was fantastic value for money and just my kinda' place. I absolutely loved it and I don't give a 5/5 very often ...

This is a trendy boutique hotel with all mod cons. I had really friendly checkin and all the advice I needed - staff were really kind and helpful - thanks to Adonis for help with onward Thessaloniki planning. The room had a comfy bed, pillows were great. The bathroom was huge - although the setup was odd with no shower screen - the shower cube was huge so water didn't seem to splash out much. I had a HUGE terrace with sun chairs and a view over the nearby rooftops. It was GREAT!!

It has a gorgeous breakfast and bar area - modern and yet intimate and cosy. I spent several hours working with wine in hand on the ground floor. I noticed quite a few business people were doing the same thing. Breakfast was simple - but I had all I needed - the Greek yoghurt mixed with some of the homemade jam was wicked.

I could easily walk 30 mins from the hotel through the city to Ermou Street (main high end shopping street) and then only a short distance to the beginning of Plaka (old town) district. I had no problem walking as a single lady in the evenings along the main streets of the city - Ermou St, Monastiraki Flea Markets and Acropolis/Plaka district.

I found the train from the airport quite confusing - lack of English signage and very unhelpful staff who were tired and disinterested. NOTE WELL so you don't need to ask them - buy your ticket to the city EUR8. Then go down to the platforms - there are only 2 platforms - one saying Metro and one saying Suburban Train. You need to take METRO (Blue Line) and go 16 stops (approx. 40 mins) to Monastiraki Station then change platforms and take Green Line (direction Kifisia) 2 stops to Victoria Station.

From there it is a little confusing to find Areos - as the street signage is limited even if you have a good map. Best go at day time - I arrived at night and it took me 30 mins to find the hotel ... keep your eyes out for the Radisson Blu Park Hotel neon signage - make your way to Radisson Blu - when standing in the door of Radisson looking out, turn right, walk to the next corner and turn right again. Walk 20m and on your left is the small entrance to Areos.

I loved it ALL, had a ball - no negatives for me!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 504 with the huge terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had the opportunity to spend three nights on business at this hotel recently. Its location on a side busy one way street close to Areos Park off Alexandra Avenue is close to the Athens Archeological Museum and the Polytechnic University- walking distance to the main streets of Athens. It is a recently renovated boutique hotel with great interior design touches and decent sized bedrooms equipped with a nice large double bed and a great bathroom with a nice size bathtub!…If you are on business the room does not have a proper working desk and chair but a stool to sit on to work; there is also not sufficient light in this room to work comfortably at this desk. There is no restaurant but a cafe attached to the lobby (which is open until late at night) that offers a small menu and where one goes for breakfast in the mornings. The buffet breakfast is adequate with all food items(including coffee etc) and utensils at the breakfast table/display (no attempt for any service was made which meant I had to go to the breakfast buffet table each time I wanted to refill my coffee cup- there was one waitress clearing the tables). I liked the nice warm fresh greek Bougatsa (a typical morning greek sweet). My room with a small balcony and nice view of Lycabettos Hill in the background was very noisy and I needed ear plugs to sleep. Also the hotel corridors are not property noise insulated so you can be disturbed by other guests during the night….Now the staff is outstanding always helpful and available! Well worth visiting again but I will be looking for a room at the back of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at Areos hotel with a friend for 3 nights during our vacation trip. I choose this hotel due to positive guest comments on various hotel websites and very attractive price. My expectations were not only met but exceeded.
Here are several point that I'd like to comment about:
1. Location is quite convenient - only 5 min walk to subway station.
2. Rooms are recently renovated, very comfortable, warm and clean
3. Mattress and bedding are just perfect as for my taste.
4. The bathroom is modern and of sufficient size. Water pressure in shower is very good.
5. Breakfast is very good as for 3 stars hotel
6. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Coming from hotel business myself and being quite critical about hotels and services, I couldn't find anything negative I've seen or experienced at Areos hotel. Everything was just up to standard. Thanks to hotel team for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lyudmila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Everything was excellent (cleaning the room every day, breakfast up to 10:30, short distance to the metro station etc.), but most of all the kind staff, who agreed to change the date of our stay without any problem! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#24 of 326 in Athens
1,325 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,173 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victory Inn
#43 of 326 in Athens
297 reviews
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 10 in Kifisia
550 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Property: Areos Hotel
Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#28 Family Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing