We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine hotel nothing too spectacular.”
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Areos Hotel
Ranked #22 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a fine hotel nothing to complain about as a base, it's clean, comfy and the free internet is very welcome. If you're looking for warmth and character you may be disappointed though. Be aware also that it is on a hosipal route and ambulance sirens can sometimes be heard from hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portlairge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

After one night at Hotel Areos, my husband said to me "You have to write a great review for this place on TripAdvisor!" This little boutique hotel is a diamond in the rough. My husband is a US servicemember, and we live in Germany, thus we have significant experience with European hotels. Hands down, this onehas been the best value for our money of anywhere we have stayed.

Our room was small yet very stylish, and we had our best nights sleep here of anywhere in Greece (including rooms 3 times the price). The bathroom was fantastic (something we realized is key to making a hotel room luxurious), and we loved the large shower with rainwater showerhead. My husband also wanted me to comment that the small, rotating red and blue LED lights in the ceiling above the bed made his day. They're fun, but don't worry: you can turn them off. :)

Breakfast (included in our price) was wonderful. It's not an American spread, but it's much more than the the typical European breakfast buffet and included some hot food. Add to that the chic atmosphere in the breakfast room, and coming down in the morning was a delight every day.

The ONLY downside to the hotel was the location. Yes, it close to a metro stop. Yes, it is nearly on top of the National Archeological Museum. And, yes, it is walkable to the main tourist areas of Athens (perhaps a 25-30 minute trek). My husband and I walked every day. However, we love it when our hotels are right on top of the night scene so that we can dance then easily walk home. We were too far from the action to do that here. Nonetheless, if we head to Athens again, this hotel would be our first choice. It's a steal!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirl_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Μaybe the best choice for a tourist in Athens. Very reasonable prices for such a hotel, extremely clean, nice rooms, spacious bathroom & shower cabin, newly renewed, good breakfast, very friendly staff. If you are tourist you will enjoy it. Close to Athens Archeological Museum. Only think is that it is not that close to a metro station (10’-15’ minutes walking).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sx_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel is close to Victoria station in Athens. Rooms are modern (apparently the whole building has been renovated very recently), very clean and have air conditioning. Ours had a balcony too. The adjacent street is somewhat noisy, but traffic noise is hardly noticeable with closed windows. The bathroom is equipped with a big shower. The hotel seems to have no wifi, but staff gives you a network cable for your laptop and Internet is free of charge.
Staff are very helpful and friendly in any regard. Overall this hotel is great value for money and highl recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mko_edersleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I can't imagine there would be a large choice of hotels in Athens that are in such a convenient location, with such friendly service at this price.
There might be places that are cheaper, there might be places that are better located, there might be places more luxerious...
... But the combination was spot on for our needs.

The hotel is best suited for people wanting to explore Athens and not sit in the hotel all day. Spot on for this.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanMagousha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubibakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksar1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 285 in Athens
1,439 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 285 in Athens
1,217 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 285 in Athens
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 285 in Athens
503 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#57 of 285 in Athens
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#21 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#28 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Areos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing