We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Areos Hotel
Ranked #19 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights.
Check in/out went smoothly and reception gave us good hints for places to have dinner etc.
I believe the hotel is a 3 star hotel, but the rooms could easily be rated as 5 star. We especially liked the modern bathroom. We had breakfast included which was nothing out of the ordinary, but fulfilled it's purpose. Service was friendly and polite.

When deciding which hotel to choose I noticed that many hotels including this one had reports of a dodgy neighborhood. We only saw a few bums on the streets nearby, but they seemed to mind their own business. Athens is strange in that way. Next to the hotel there are a few building that are in very bad shape, but just 1 minute walk away there is a big museum and other buildings that are in excellent condition. In short the area around Victoria is actually quite cozy and not too touristy compared e.g. to Omonia or Monastraki. Reception gave us excellent local restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    228
    51
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
290
40
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

This hotel was wonderful a real hidden gem, run by lovely people. We stayed here for 3 nights from June 11th – 14th at the start of island hopping. The outside looks like an old apartment block, but inside it is immaculate and modern. Check in was smooth and we were directed to a lift to take us up to our room. The rooms are modern, clean and minimalistic, perfect for us. Plasma wall TV, laminate floor, ample storage and electronic safe in bottom of wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning absolutely fine. There was a small fridge also. Our room was very quiet at night.

The bathroom was to die for, compared with other Greek hotels. Massive shower cubicle that could have accommodated 6 people, good sink with large surround. Loo fine. Fully tiled. Shower was waterfall type with separate arm that could be detached. Ample white towels provided each day. Maid service was faultless. A few toiletries are also provided.

Breakfast was buffet style and very good, ample tea and coffee, fruit, cereals, pastries, toast, jams, eggs, yogurt, honey. Like the whole hotel, the breakfast room was stylish and welcoming.

We took the cheap option to get to it from Athens airport, that was a 2 person metro ticket for E10 in all. We changed trains at Montastiraki (took about 30 mins from airport) for the other line to take us to the Victoria station (local train, older and packed with regular commuters). Just 2 stops along the line was Victoria. Get out up steps and walk straight ahead. Turn right at top of road, walk to major intersection, cross the road and keep park on your left. Hotel is at top of Bouboulinas.

This hotel is within a couple of minutes walk of the main archaeological museum. We also walked to all the main attractions from this hotel and it was a pleasant walk each day. You will pass many street vendors down October or September streets – but this simple adds to the enjoyment of the real Athens.

As far as evening meals go, the hotel does not have a running restaurant but snacks are available from the excellent bar (massive club sandwiches etc, wonderful but calorific puddings and good coffee). The hotel recommended that we tried local restaurants nearby which we did and we ate with the locals – which was cheap and good. Turn left out of hotel, turn right at main road, walk a minute up the busy road and cross over. Take left fork in road and you will find 2 local restaurants. Both are good and inexpensive.

Taxi to Piraeus cost us E22.50 and took about 10 minutes at 6am. Our ferry was 0745. If you have a later ferry the travel time would be far longer as the traffic would be horrendous if leaving the hotel at say 8am.

Basically this is a lovely hotel and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJHNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This hotel is a gem. To be ranked 11th our of 250+ hotels in Athens and its price was incredible. supberb value. The hotel is brand new - very tastefully done - Large bathrooms, beautiful fixtures that I would have expected in a 5 star hotel. Very calming atmosphere, great for our last night in Athens. Price was so reasonable, we could afford a separate room for our teenage sons. they loved it! It is not in the hub of activity- but close to good restaurants and the university. You were amongh the Athenians. Lovely church across the street to attend Sunday morning liturgy.I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a fine hotel nothing to complain about as a base, it's clean, comfy and the free internet is very welcome. If you're looking for warmth and character you may be disappointed though. Be aware also that it is on a hosipal route and ambulance sirens can sometimes be heard from hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portlairge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

After one night at Hotel Areos, my husband said to me "You have to write a great review for this place on TripAdvisor!" This little boutique hotel is a diamond in the rough. My husband is a US servicemember, and we live in Germany, thus we have significant experience with European hotels. Hands down, this onehas been the best value for our money of anywhere we have stayed.

Our room was small yet very stylish, and we had our best nights sleep here of anywhere in Greece (including rooms 3 times the price). The bathroom was fantastic (something we realized is key to making a hotel room luxurious), and we loved the large shower with rainwater showerhead. My husband also wanted me to comment that the small, rotating red and blue LED lights in the ceiling above the bed made his day. They're fun, but don't worry: you can turn them off. :)

Breakfast (included in our price) was wonderful. It's not an American spread, but it's much more than the the typical European breakfast buffet and included some hot food. Add to that the chic atmosphere in the breakfast room, and coming down in the morning was a delight every day.

The ONLY downside to the hotel was the location. Yes, it close to a metro stop. Yes, it is nearly on top of the National Archeological Museum. And, yes, it is walkable to the main tourist areas of Athens (perhaps a 25-30 minute trek). My husband and I walked every day. However, we love it when our hotels are right on top of the night scene so that we can dance then easily walk home. We were too far from the action to do that here. Nonetheless, if we head to Athens again, this hotel would be our first choice. It's a steal!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Μaybe the best choice for a tourist in Athens. Very reasonable prices for such a hotel, extremely clean, nice rooms, spacious bathroom & shower cabin, newly renewed, good breakfast, very friendly staff. If you are tourist you will enjoy it. Close to Athens Archeological Museum. Only think is that it is not that close to a metro station (10’-15’ minutes walking).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sx_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel is close to Victoria station in Athens. Rooms are modern (apparently the whole building has been renovated very recently), very clean and have air conditioning. Ours had a balcony too. The adjacent street is somewhat noisy, but traffic noise is hardly noticeable with closed windows. The bathroom is equipped with a big shower. The hotel seems to have no wifi, but staff gives you a network cable for your laptop and Internet is free of charge.
Staff are very helpful and friendly in any regard. Overall this hotel is great value for money and highl recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mko_edersleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Victory Inn
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Property: Areos Hotel
Address: 19 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#28 Family Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing