We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff, constant powercuts. Stay somewhere else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of AthenStyle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AthenStyle Hostel
Ranked #11 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude staff, constant powercuts. Stay somewhere else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a friend at the end of July 2013 (aged 21/22). Having stayed in a lot of hostels in the past, we were generally both very unimpressed with the standard of service offered by staff and by the standard of the dorms. We stayed in the building next door to the hostel, which can only be described as a crack den. Graffiti everywhere, syringes on the floor and generally just a mess.

We stayed in the room "Crete" which was a total disappointment. We found out very quickly that the air conditioning was so weak it was barely worth having it on. When another girl in our dorm brought this to the staff's attention, a woman walked in and said "it is not broken, it just doesn't circulate- I can't do anything."

There were also multiple powercuts when we stayed and we were told not to use our adapters in the sockets or we would be fined. Call me ridiculous, but I don't think expecting to be able to use the power to charge your mobile phone is over-ambitious. Constant powercuts proved to be a complete nightmare as it meant our doors weren't secure (it is a keycard that is used) and when I asked if we could be moved elsewhere as I didn't feel comfortable sleeping in an unlocked room, staff were unhelpful and told me it was too much of a "hassle" to move.

In addition, the bathrooms in the dorm were filthy and the shower only worked by keeping your hand on the button... Even then I question whether it was even worth having.

Internet only works in the lobby. Not a particularly social hostel either.

Breakfast proved also to be a disappointment, offering only bread, jam and watermelon. All and all a complete rip-off for 22 euros. This hostel completely ruined our last two days in Greece. The only positive I can offer would be the location.

My advice? Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    135
    67
    39
    18
See reviews for
27
67
118
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This hostel was really great. The location was perfect, just around the corner from ruins, markets and restaurants. The room it self was perfect for 3 girls. Very clean and spacious with a kitchenette. The staff were very helpful and although we never got the chance to go up, the hostel has a rooftop terrace for dinner and drinks with a night view of acropolis! We only stayed 2 nights but not consecutively though wish we had.

My only criticism is that it was hot and our aircon did virtually nothing to cool the room down and that this hostel is a base point for bus-a-bout and of course these people have know courtesy to anyone else in the building, so we were awoken at almost every hour of the morning to screaming, laughing and thumping around, so if your a light sleeper good luck!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmaine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friend and I and her 3 teens stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. Location is within walking distance to all things in old Athens including great eats, ancient sites and city life. The rooftop bar had a great view of the Acropolis. The breakfast was adequate, not great, but filling. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet with lockers and an in-room bathroom (8 person bunk room and we had it to ourselves. The AC was minimal due to their "green" policy of the AC being 10 degrees less than outside- and Athens is HOT, but it was bearable. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a computer room, kitchen and air conditioned lobby with wifi We would stay again. Not as sure how it would be if we were sharing with strangers due to the one small bathroom for the 8 beds.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwestlinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

First i would like to say that i have been backpacking Europe and staying in hostels for 7 weeks now. Athens Style Hostel was not the worst, but it certainly wasn't the best. This hostel has a nice environment, it feels safe,it has running water, and is in a great location. If you are looking for a hostel that meets basic needs than Athens Style will be fine for you. On the down side, the internet here is horrendous- disconnecting every couple minutes. The bathroom was covered in mold and the air conditioning barely works. The kitchen is small, smells of rotten food, and the stove burners take a good 15-20 mins to heat up. You are not allowed to eat your own food outside of the kitchen (which would be fine if it wasn't so hot and smelly). For those staying in Athens for longer than a day and a half beware that the hostel concierge is not very knowledgeable about anything besides the main tourist sites. Id only recommend this place for people staying 2 nights or less.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We like this place a lot - cool, young and worldly clientele. Clean and efficient. Great central location - nice common areas. Wifi did not work great for us but there is a basement with common computers. Very nice stay. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We're still here, trying to attract enough wifi signal to leave this review. Both times we stayed here (either side of a Busabout Greek Islands trip) we were not housed in the main hostel building, which is apparently fine, but in the building next door.

They've obviously recently bought a couple of levels and converted them into dorms. Our key cards stopped working (not kidding) five times during our stay. This meant 10 trips up and down either 5 flights of stairs or the death-trap elevator with no door, no emergency call button and rated to carry only 150kg (ie my friend and I minus our bags). One night the iron gate downstairs had a key broken in it, meaning nobody closed it as they thought they'd be locked out. That meant nothing would stop someone walking straight in off the street and right up to the dorm room doors. Very safe.

Toilet door wouldn't stay shut without someone inside. Shower flooded right out into the bedroom. 4-bed dorm was creatively turned into a 5-bed with a cot set up on the floor. Several of our tour group were dudded out of their key deposits because the staff could not keep accurate records.

I've stayed in worse, but frankly the service and lack of basic functioning facilities (ie opening and closing doors with working locks) leaves a lot to be desired. Also, 5Euro to watch a DVD in the lounge? ... Busabout should think again before basing their trips here next season. At the very least, the hostel should clearly specify that bookings of certain room types will treat you to a non-secure stay in the adjoining crack den.

Also, I just cut my foot open on a bare screw poking out of the lounge room floor. Now bleeding. Awesome.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the MAIN building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timkennedyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItalyTravelgirl, General Manager at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Wow! What a long review, thanks for taking the time to write all this, our free WI-FI must be working well then... I see you are not used to leave reviews to the places you stay at, this being your second review ever so I am not quite sure if you are used to staying in hostels at all?

As you say, our rooms are located in two buildings. The one building has on its roof the bar, the other rooftop is where the restaurant is located. The Rooftop is famous for the breathtaking views to the Acropolis and the city, and our Happy Hour is popular all over Europe - have you visited the Rooftop at all? You don't mention it in your review at all, and it is really a shame if you missed it!

Coming to your safety concerns I would like to reassure you that the lift you have been using is 100% legal and approved by local authorities for public use and maintenance is held regularly as required. It is not one of those all automatic WOW ones, but so are most lifts in Athens. We are very proud of our lifts in both buildings, as most hostels in Athens do not have one and you have to carry luggage up the stairs!

We are the top rated hostel in Athens and have recently won the 2013 "Excellence Award" from Tripadvisor, this is why not only Busabout recommends our property (although you are free to choose elsewhere to stay on both ends of your trip) but also the Europe Famous Hostels have selected us as the only property in Greece.

However problems can occur, and one of the guests happened to break the key in the lock that night. We strive to give the best service in the city, and we did respond to the problem with our 24-hour handyman who took the broken key off the lock within 30 minutes (even if it was night!) Therefore, the door has always worked and continued to work that night after you went to bed.

Key cards can be demagnetised if you keep them together with your mobile, but our staff is always available to help you 24-hours a day and make a new key for you.

All in all, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our property not so much for your review but because you didn't make the best of your time in Athens which is our main goal! I hope you will come back and give us a chance to show you how good we are in making this happen, Happy Travels!

Sofia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hostel was very nice! The room was fine, small but fit four comfortably. It had a private bathroom which was very clean and a good size. The beds were the best I had on my trip (super comfortable). The whole hostel was very clean! Internet was only in the lobby (but that is common at a lot of hostels). The rooftop restaurant/bar had great views of Athens. The breakfast was very sparse (but again that is common of hostels). It was also in a good location, close to Monistraki square, however if you go much further into Psirri it may get a bit sketchy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piglover217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
City Circus Athens
#1 of 60 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 60 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AthenStyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AthenStyle Hostel

Property: AthenStyle Hostel
Address: 10 Agias Theklas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AthenStyle Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud member of Europe’s Famous Hostels Association. Top ratings, premium location, famous Rooftop Bar (open all year round) and summer Restaurant with unbeatable views of Acropolis, unique vibe and Happy Hour. Variety of rooms located in two adjacent buildings: the main one with studio apartments and small dorms (4-6 beds) and newly renovated wing next door with bigger dorms (8-10 beds), quad rooms and few smaller dorms. Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. Book your bed now before it is gone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your AthenStyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenstyle Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing