We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, but a few things need adjusting.”
Review of AthenStyle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AthenStyle Hostel
Ranked #10 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but a few things need adjusting.”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Athenstyle for 5 nights with my boyfriend and we had a great time. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was a little crammed, although made up for the lack of space with comfy bed and big lockers that could fit our large back packs. They had a rooftop bar which had a nice atmosphere, a great view over the Acropolis hill and would be even better during the summer months.
The location was fantastic, very close to the metro, some markets, shopping, and plenty of places to eat out near by. The wifi access was good compared to most hostels I've stayed at, although we were on the 1st floor and I'm not sure if you would have access in the rooms if you were any higher.
They also had a kitchen, although no food could be eaten outside of the kitchen which in my opinion is ridiculous considering that you can't buy anything to eat there before 7pm other than a microwave pizza.

They had a hang out area downstairs which could have been really cool, but the owners have ruined it by asking for €5 just to watch an old movie down there, charging to play pool although it was broken at the time and the washing facilities are extremely over priced. It costs €10 just to wash your clothes and have one cycle in the drying machine which doesn't dry your clothes at all even after only filling it half way which we were told to do by one of the owners.
The hostel has a lot of potential although I feel like the people running it are more concerned about making a quick buck than providing people with great facilities and fun.
These disappointing aspects would have granted them only 3 stars, although the young staff members made up for it with their great attitudes and helpfulness.
I would recommend staying at this place if you're ever in Athens, but I think that it could be made a lot more enjoyable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    140
    68
    41
    20
See reviews for
30
68
126
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a great time staying at this hostel! It is perfectly located on the foot of the acropolis. the staff is really friendly and the rooms are clean and well equipped. Breakfast is continental and enough to start the day. They also have a rooftop bar/restaurant which is awesome to hang out and relax in the evening. The hostel is located in an area full of shops, restaurants and markets so there is a lot to do.
We totally recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSaw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel P, Front Office Manager at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Dear guest,
it was a pleasure to hear you had a great time staying with us, it's reviews like this that remind us we love doing what we do. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, happy travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hostel is in a great location for the sights of Athens. It is a two minute walk from Monostriki station with direct trains to and from the airport. The directions provided by the hostel are excellent for finding your way. Everything is in walking distance, but I agree with other reviewers that the area isn't very good, especially at night. The security is excellent however and the staff are freindly.

The rooms are large and clean. There is a free breakfast on the rooftop very morning with bread and fruit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

That was my first time in Greece, just arrived for the breakfast on the rooftop !!! Amazing view on the Acropolis you can almost tuch it!! hehe
Staff is great, room agreeable (I was in dormitory), commodity (internet-kitchen...) good.
I made a free guided tour around the Acropolis (suggestion from the reception of the Hostel), that was really incredible. The hostel is situated in the very center of the old town, so everything is close, you can visit walking.
And then at night, just enjoying party on the rooftop and a really good dinner with only local specialty (I recomand the moussaka!!!).

Guillaume

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niluge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
395 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked an ensuite room here on the basis that the location is right on the metro line between the port and the airport & we needed both. The ku cation us wonderful with a short walk to the acropolis and town. The rooms are quite basic and very noisy at night but with earplugs it was fine. The rooftop bar and restaurant is fantastic and the staff really helpful, if you buy food - do take your ticket to the window to place your order.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The location is good - 15 min walk from Acropolis. Roof top bar has excellent view to Acropolis. Staff fine. But food not great and is better and cheaper in nearby restaurants, and dorms/rooms cost way more than they are worth. Owners probably get away with it because of the endless flood of Aussies on Busabout tours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great hostel.. I only stayed a few nights after hopping the Greek islands but they had everything I needed.. Washing machines, wifi, computers and nice rooms with ensuites. Not a huge fan of Athens especially this area is very dodgy especially at night all shops have bars and garage doors .. Just take care when going to and from the hostel especially at night (though they do have good security.. Door always shut.. Need key cards to get into reception etc)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliseaashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 326 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
City Circus Athens
#1 of 63 in Athens
444 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 63 in Athens
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AthenStyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AthenStyle Hostel

Property: AthenStyle Hostel
Address: 10 Agias Theklas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AthenStyle Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud member of Europe’s Famous Hostels Association. Top ratings, premium location, famous Rooftop Bar (open all year round) and summer Restaurant with unbeatable views of Acropolis, unique vibe and Happy Hour. Variety of rooms located in two adjacent buildings: the main one with studio apartments and small dorms (4-6 beds) and newly renovated wing next door with bigger dorms (8-10 beds), quad rooms and few smaller dorms. Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. Book your bed now before it is gone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AthenStyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenstyle Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing