We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”
Review of AthenStyle Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AthenStyle Hostel
Ranked #10 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really hate to give a bad review but I'm very disappointed. My partner and I were booked to stay here only for a few short hours as our flight didn't get into very late, our check in was at 12AM and we were set to leave at 5.30AM the next morning. We went to our room to find that there was only one bed left, the hotel had overbooked and we weren't the only ones as other people has the same issue. After much stuff around we ended up sharing a single bed. Paid €40 for a very uncomfortable two hour sleep (we didn't get to bed until 3AM) in a single bed. No refunds were offered. Would not recommend to anyone.. EVER!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellyse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    139
    68
    41
    20
See reviews for
30
67
126
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

as for the tytle, this is not simply an hostel...
it is a place where you fell like at home, where you can relax or have fun, meeting lot of nice people.
the terrace is simply magic, you can have dinner or happy hour with the Parthenone brighting in front of you.
location is exactly in the middle of the historic center of Athens and at the same time close to nightlife bars and restaurant, rooms are new and clean, staff is always nice.
really a place to go!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

It is across the road from Monositriaki Square and train station. It has a great cheap bar and restaurant that looks at the Acropolis. The rooms are simple but all you need for a cheap night in the city. I stayed here 3 times in between different tours. One room had a huge awkward looking painting of a naked woman across from the bed but once your asleep you don't see it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hostel was just a few minutes walk from Monastiraki metro station. It was really close to the square and restaurants. And of course, you can reach Acropolis Hill by foot. The terrace bar was nice and you have a great view of Acropolis. The staff was helpful, the room was spacious and clean. It was a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loraharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Front Office Manager at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at AthenStyle. We are right in the middle of Athens, so as you said it is very easy to walk to all the archaeological sites. Also, our hostel is located next to Monastiraki square, one of the most central squares of Athens, an area full of restaurants and the heart of nightlife. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Athens Style gave us everything we needed. It was within easy walking distance of all ancient sites, and it was great having breakfast looking at the Acropolis in the sunshine. It was friendly and helpful if we needed directions or anything. Beds were comfortable enough, and there was less noise than I expected - a few noisy people on the stairs when the bar closed was the extent of it. It is a hostel, not a 5-star hotel - a bit rough and ready; we had to find a kettle and mugs ourselves in the kitchen, the shower tended to drain via the floor in the bathroom after a while, the tv was a bit limited, etc., but nothing major or tragic. The friendly and relaxed atmosphere was a big bonus and it couldn't be beaten for location.

Room Tip: We're an older couple - we had a private room with bathroom and cooker. No compalints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonhr-g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra B, Front Office Manager at AthenStyle Hostel, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Dear guest, we are glad you liked your stay at AthenStyle hostel and we thank you for your feedback. We are always trying to improve, so any suggestions are more than welcome. And most of all, we are happy that you felt comfortable at our hostel. We are always trying to make you feel part of our big international family and enjoy your holidays. We hope you visit us next time you come to Athens. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I started my visit to Athens from this hostel and regret it very much. I had a reservation for two nights but after one I decided to move to different hotel. AthenStyle refused to give me back money for the second night even though I checked out on time.
The room Crete was in the other building. It was supposed to be closed but the doors were blocked open by staff and anyone could get inside just from the street. What's more there were no safe lockers - only a locker but without a lock. Theoretically you could buy one for 2 euro but they run out of them.
They provided only one bedsheet for a bed so I had to sleep on it without covrer or under it, on filthy mattress. I felt itchy after sleeping in the bed and had to use antibacterial toner on my skin. The a/c was blowing directly on my bed so It was very uncomfortable, but in other parts of the room it had no effect.
Shower was dirty and I had to press button for water every 3 seconds, water flow was terrible and I waited long for lukewarm water. It was worse than beach showers.
In hostel there's no curfew so it was very loud all the night and I couldn't sleep.On the other hand there is no friendly, social atmosphere at all. So If you travel alone don't expect having a nice company. Only noise.
The lobby staff was just crazy and not too friendly - one middle age woman who yelled all the time "dooooors!" and some kids who don't know nothing about anything.
Breakfast was poor - bread , margarine and cheapest jelly. And some watermelon. Food served in so called restaurant poor and expensive - portion of reheated moussaka was 10 Euros, just like in any street restaurant for tourists.
There are only two good things I can say - location is perfect and there are nice views from rooftop bar.
I wouldn't never advice anyone to go there, it is only lost money and bad memories from vacation.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff and close to lots of sites! Very walkable location and just a two minute walk from the train station that goes to the port and the airport. Staff was really nice and helpful with recommendations. Tons of affordable dining options nearby. Clean sheets and blankets, too. Thanks for a good stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
3,232 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
1,806 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 325 in Athens
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
City Circus Athens
#1 of 63 in Athens
443 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Athens Backpackers
Athens Backpackers
#4 of 63 in Athens
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AthenStyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AthenStyle Hostel

Property: AthenStyle Hostel
Address: 10 Agias Theklas, Athens 105 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AthenStyle Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud member of Europe’s Famous Hostels Association. Top ratings, premium location, famous Rooftop Bar (open all year round) and summer Restaurant with unbeatable views of Acropolis, unique vibe and Happy Hour. Variety of rooms located in two adjacent buildings: the main one with studio apartments and small dorms (4-6 beds) and newly renovated wing next door with bigger dorms (8-10 beds), quad rooms and few smaller dorms. Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. Book your bed now before it is gone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AthenStyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenstyle Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing