We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ADEQUATE FOR THE PRICE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xenophon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Xenophon Hotel
Ranked #234 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ADEQUATE FOR THE PRICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

I have used this hotel several times when passing through and looking to keep costs down. It is a no-frills establishment and this is reflected in the price. As previous posts say, it could do with interior decoration, but I have always found the bathrooms OK, and on occasions I've had a decent-sized balcony for no extra price. The staff are usually helpful with taxis and directions. The internet is expensive but functional. I do not understand why hotels charge for internet, as it must turn away a huge proportion of potential customers. It is a good location for getting to the Kifissos bus station in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    21
    9
    13
See reviews for
8
17
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

It is located in a walking distance of 7 minutes from the Kato Patisia station (green line, subway). So that is OK, but there are more convenient located hotels in Athens, especially if this is your first time in Athens. The price is nice and the hotel is a typical city hotel. I have been offered several rooms at my stays and only one of them was very small and not comfortable at all. But the rest were nice. Clean rooms and bathrooms, but kind of aged-looking. Free internet was not available, which is not nice at all.
Breakfast is nothing special, so you can avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elympos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times but none of these stays was the same with another. One time I was given a huge room, with very nice veranda, plenty of space and a small separate livingroom (although I had asked and finally paid for a single room). Another tima I was given a completely different room: small and worn out. Another tima I was given something in between. The worst thing is not the room size. It is its location which although it is very covenient as the train stops right in front of it, is its drawback at the same time. What I mean is that, you have to take the train which, unlike the metro, is full of beggars and illegal immigrants and this may be really annoying at peak hours. I would recommend another hotel near the metro and not the train.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel moved us several times trying to give us a room with A/C. We never did get that necessity in August in Athens. It was aweful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The hotel is only renovated outside. Inside is terrible! The rooms and the walls are old and were broken like happened an earthquake. The bathroom was miniscule and uncomfortable - the window would not stay open too. The clean was average. There was a terrace but no table or chairs too. We didn't eat breakfast there.. thanks god(!). There was a wireless connection with internet but I had to pay in order to use it. There wasn't a cable tv and the greek channels were unable to view them correct because the hotel didn't have a central antenna but a little tv antenna. The only positive was that the staff was kind and there was a parking lot for the car.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stelios_Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

We took the suite thinking that it would be spacious and nice. The bathroom was miniscule and uncomfortable - the window would not stay open. There was a terrace but no table or chairs. The door into the suite was difficult to open and once inside very dificult to get out. The channel changer did not work. The breakfast was totally inedible but the coffee was OK - thank goodness for something. All in all a most unpleasant and disappointing experience.

  • Liked — The barmaid was pleasant
  • Disliked — The b reakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athens
Hotel Platon
#228 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Athens City Hotel
#147 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Athens Odeon Hotel
Athens Odeon Hotel
#187 of 325 in Athens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exis Boutique Hotel
#171 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#110 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hotel Giorgio
#2 of 5 in Acharnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenophon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenophon Hotel

Property: Xenophon Hotel
Address: 340 Acharnon, Athens 111 45, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenophon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Xenophon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing