We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic budget hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #21 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012 and were very impressed with the Center Square Hotel.

The location is great, as it’s right in the centre of the old town (Plaka district). It’s a 5-10 minute walk to Monastiraki Square, where you’ll find a metro station, which can connect you to the rest of the city. There are loads of nice restaurants and cafes within walking distance, where you can get a traditional souvlaki (highly recommended!), or a coffee. The acropolis and other historical sights can all be reached easily by either walking or hopping on the metro.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern and has all (if not more) of the comforts you would expect from a good 3* hotel in Europe: the bathroom has a good, powerful shower and the room was cleaned every day. The buffet breakfast was again very good for a 3* hotel. They offer free tea and coffee in the lobby until around 6pm and there’s also a nice roof terrace with views over Athens and the acropolis, which was a nice surprise. (We were a little weary when the cab dropped us off outside the hotel, as it’s located just off the main road in front of a busy, loud market and looks quite run down, but don’t let this put you off; the area seemed very safe and the hotel itself is very clean and modern.)

What really sets the hotel apart is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (especially Olga). They went out of their way to help us plan our trips around the city, recommended restaurants, bars, tours and pretty much anything else we asked for!

If you’re looking for a good, friendly budget hotel in Athens, then I’d recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y_B3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

A big thank you from all of us for taking the time to write such a positive review on TA.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are really glad to read to that we matched your expectations.

We hope to see you or any of your friends on a future trip to Athens.

Thank you again.

Kind regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    591
    113
    18
    10
See reviews for
140
682
101
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Excellent service, combined with very good quality rooms and central location, near the metro. Superb terrace with view over the Acropolis. Modern, right on the Athens market and near Monastiraki. Ideal choice for budget travellers, either on tourism or business. I intend to repeat for my next trips to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecotemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great. The rooms are clean and well maintained. There are nice amenities like free wifi, buffet breakfast included, and a rooftop patio. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I must make special mention of the day I forgot my purse in the dining room and the woman working there put it away in a safe place until I came back. I cannot say thank you enough for this!!!!! The location is within walking distance to the major attractions: acropolis, ancient agora, etc. I recommend this hotel and returned on a second occasion.

However, the surrounding neighborhood is somewhat iffy. There are some homeless people and junkies... None of whom bothered us at all, but you need to be careful and do not bring valuables with you that you don't need. Get an acropolis view room or do not look out your window which will have a view of the people roughing it in the park and alleyways.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
We are very pleased to read that as far as what it concerns the hotel facilities, the friendliness of our staff and the easy walking to all mayor attractions you were satisfied.
Referring to your comment about the homeless people that you may see in the near by streets it is something that the local council is working on and we have seen already good result.

Thank you for recommending us and for taking the time to submit lovely pictures!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Athens Center Square is a decent hotel in central Athens, and will likely meet the needs (and the the pockets) of most people.
Location: The hotel is inside a fairly narrow lane called Aristogeitonos (off Athina Street) which wears a deserted look at nighttime but by day is a bustling market. The Athina connects two of the three large squares in Athens, Monastiraki and Omonia (the third being Syntagma, the biggest and most important of the three).
One might expect a hotel off the Athina to be 'central', and it is, but travelers need to be aware that (a) Evripidou street, which is one by lane away from the Aristogeitonos, is infamous to Athenians to be a prostitute-hub; and (b) Omonia, a large square about 15 minutes' walk from the hotel is an even larger hub of all kinds of shady dealings. Having said that, there should be no reason to (a) mistake Evripidou for Aristogeitonos, even in one's drunken stupor in the dead of night, for ACS has a very funky yellow-blue-green lighting pattern that’s unmissable (see Tripadvisor's icon for the hotel); and (b) there's no reason for a traveler to be anywhere in the immediate vicinity of Omonia anytime after 8pm. So while moderate caution needs to be exercised, there's no reason to be unduly perturbed.
One might add that some rooms, and the roof-terrace, have great views of the Parthenon.
Rooms: Tastefully designed, well appointed and clean. There were fresh fruits and two small bottles of wine on the desk, all complimentary, in spite of my arrival at an unearthly hour in the early morning.
Service: This is where the hotel really scores. The folks at the front desk are cheery and ever so helpful, be it with travel advice or questions about the room.
There were a few English channels on TV - BBC, CNN, etc. - which was great.
The one minor - and its really minor - hitch was the wi-fi. My connection seemed to drop every few hours and needed to relogin after this period. And the speeds aren't super quick, its just about enough to stream videos. Its certainly not something I'd complain about, but the system could be just a wee bit better.
Food: Breakfast is on the house, and the spread is fantastic. There's the usual continental fare, complete with breads, cereal, cheese, juices, cakes, etc., and there's also a small corner with some Greek specialties - sweets and pasties with sesame seeds. Open 7-10. I wouldn't consider having breakfast elsewhere. The ladies here too were friendly.
There is a rooftop restaurant, which a spectacular view of the Parthenon, but it was deserted the night I went up, for reasons unknown. I suspect most people go to rooftop restaurants at Monastiraki square, which is closer to the Parthenon and therefore have better views. My personal recommendation is the rooftop of the hotel "A for Athens" which is right at the square. Great crowd, good music, nice drinks, and most importantly an unbeatable view.

Room Tip: Not a room tip per se, but general advice on location: In order of where you'd want to stay, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnceInALongWhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

How nice to read that we matched all your expectations and needs.
Thank you for mentioning so many positive detailed comments. Concerning your comment about the roof top, may be it was not open yet when you were there. Normally it operates May to October weather allowing.
As for the area, I agree with you that if someone is careful he will not have any problem. The street were is the hotel is very lively in the morning and quiet in the evening when the fruit market closes.
Thank you for mentioning our supportive and knowledgable staff. We all love taking care of our guests, which we consider as guests in our home.

Hope to see you again

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givat Olga
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked this hotel long before, because of good reviews and the fact that I wanted a room with Acropolis view. First disappointment was its area. It's awful. It's not nice and colourful local market like I thought, it's real oriental bazaar, with homeless people, beggars and etc. Second - we had really hard time finding the entrance - I didn't imagine hotel's door are the picture of market stalls! Third thing - the room. It's so small! I had to look at Acropolis from my bed, there was no other place. And it's far from cheap.To see the Acropolis shining far away is rather expensive. The end was good - very helful manager transfered us to the more comfortable room but without Acropolis view. But the view there was extremly beutiful and we enjoyed evenings on a very large balcony. And their bathroom is a masterpiece. And breakfasts are very good. So it's up to you - to go there or look for an other place.

Room Tip: As higher as possible and Acropolis view rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing us for your short stay in Athens.

I am pleased that our well trained and friendly staff did the best they could during and they finaly matched your expectations.
For a new, design, three star hotel, with great popularity and just few minutes walk from Monastiraki square, our prices are very competitive.
If you ever decide to book again in our hotel, I will be very happy to assist you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

first of all> the location. it is CENTRAL. right across the street from athens market, on athinas, 300 mtrs from monastiraki towards plaka and acropolis, and 300 mtrs from omonia sq.
second> the hotel is located in the middle of a market area. yes, there are homeless people around etc but instead of complaining about the location people should think that this is a result of economical politics and lack of interest for governments towards poverty, and not the fault of the hotel.
the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are new and modern.
there is a wonderful terrace with perfect views of the acropolis.
there is a bar and a computer area in the hall
breakfast is good and abundant
all this for around 100 euro, 115 euro if you want a room with a view, which is really spectacular at night.

Room Tip: pay more for a spectacular view, especially at night the view of the acropolis is unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay in our hotel and that you were satisfied with the room, bathroom, price and quality.
Thank you for your positive review and your high score.

We hope to see you or your friends on a visit to Athens.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Going to a TripAdvisor award winning hotel I had a very high expectations which were not met in my experience. The hotel was just... average. The location is ok, but not excellent (a good walk from Metro and the square in front is not as nice as it looked like in other reviews) and the smell when approaching the hotel is not the one of a flower market. The room is above average, especially for the price, but breakfast was a bit bellow average.
Staff was nice, but there was a problem with the internet: we stayed for four nights and on three of them there were problems, making it nearly impossible to use it!
All in all, an average hotel quite over-rated here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jv_lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
Athens Center Square hotel was awarded as a" Trendy hotel". It is a new design, very clean, three star hotel, at a good competitive price. It is located in front of the picturesque fruit market (not the flower market) and just five minutes from Monastiraki Metro station with direct lines to the airport and port.

I am sorry if you were expecting more and also for the unfortunate insedent of the internet.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#29 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Property: Athens Center Square
Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing