We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Location and Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #22 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Location and Price”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel with a great location and staff. Rooms are nicely appointed, great full breakfast. and an incredible view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar. We left at 3 am for the islands and they had a great continental breakfast ready for us. Ask for a first floor room with a patio. Great location for all tourist sites. It's opposite a wonderful fruit and vegtable open market. The staff was heplful at all times. The best value for your money in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great for us to read that you thought that our hotel was the best value for money!
We are pleased you were satisfied with our special service of offering all night long breakfast, for those clients who have an early check out.

All our staff sends you their best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    598
    116
    18
    10
See reviews for
147
693
104
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Clean rooms, shower is small but everything was new and clean. No mold. The beds are very firm but I found that to be with all European hotels. 10 minute walk from metro station or to Plaka. 20 minute walk to the Acropolis. You get off Montrasaki station from the airport and go up Athinas street. I avoid arriving late at night as the streets are dark around the hotel and may seem unsafe/scary. Our five nights there were incident free and there were lots of cops around however.The fruit market in front that others have negatively commented on actually seemed really cool and made our stay feel more local. Breakfast was excellent and tasted fresh every morning. Rooftop bar was trendy and had a nice view. The man who worked at the front desk was kinda cold, but I think that's how he is because he answered all my questions. Lady who worked there was nice. I would return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.
We are pleased you enjoyed the local atnospere of the fruit market and the very central location.
We offer, as you said, fresh and of good quality breakfast buffet. As you noticed the area has improved and there are no problems around.

Hope to see you again.

Bets regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here for one night on route to the Islands. It was a short night - in at 11pm and out at 5am to get ferry. The hotel is good. Very close to the Metro and the Plaka if you want to go out for something to eat or drink. Yes there is rubbish on the ground and you see some dogs not on leads in Athens at the moment ... but I would never have called it a clean city. If you get to stay for a few hours in the morning definitely go to the fish and food market across the road from the hotel . A great visual experience. I've stayed in many small hotels in Athens where you don't want to spend too much as its only a night and this is definitely the best one I've stayed in. And this year it was only 59Euro for a double which I thought was very good. The one 'negative' was the guy at reception who can be surly and told us that it would cost 20euro for a taxi to the Pireaus. Having decided to take the metro we overslept and ran onto the street and hailed a taxi... it was 10euro.. strange?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to see our clients coming back and still be satisfied.
I am pleased you found our hotel of a good value and with very easy access from the metro station with direct line from airport and port.
Concerning your comment on the taxi driver to the port, I can give the following explanations:
I was told that day time with traffic, the cost is appr. 18 Euro including the 3 Euro of telephone appointment.
If you travel at around 5 am and obviously with no traffic and no appointment, the amount you have paid is very fair.
It is good that clients are informed in advance what they are expected to be charged, so they are badly surprised.

I thank you again for your helpful review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frampton on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a good value hotel in a great location. Very clean, decent buffet breakfast, walking distance from all the main sites, friendly and helpful staff and you really need to check out the view of the Parthenon from the roof top bar

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and high score.
It is so great to read that you thought that it was of great value.
Thank you mentioning the view from roof top as well as our friendly staff.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This is very central hotel, very clean and lots of good amenities. The area is busy and during the day but quiet and dark at night. But you are only a few minutes walk from Monasteraki Square and we didn't feel unsafe walking home at night.

The hotel staff and very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, but the highlight was the roof top terrace. Enjoy a drink from the bar and check out the Acropolis lit up at night. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your positive comments, which will help future clients to make their choice when looking for a hotel in Athens.

I am glad you enjoyed the very central and safe location as well as the fantastic view of the Acropolis.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Spent 3 nights here and loved it. Room on the 8th floor had a massive balcony, huge shower, 2 wash basins - all modern and funky. The place was spotless.
Breakfast was the best that I had whilst in Greece. Huge selection and very tasty. Roof top bar was great to have a glass of wine and look over the city.
We didn't experience any problems with the location. Its in a working part of the city and we liked stepping out into the middle of it all. At night, the street was empty - we never saw anyone hanging around on any of the evenings that we were there. During the day, there are people drinking in the street near the hotel but they didn't even look at us as we walked by. Location meant that we walked everywhere but the metro is close by also.
The staff here are incredible. Debbie in the roof top bar and the fabulous Olga on reception both made sure that we could make the most of our time in Athens. Friendly, funny and so helpful. Thank you to both of them.
Fab hotel, fab staff - great visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your "Fantastic" title and review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our well trained staff has helped you out.
Thank you for mentioning the changes and improvements of the area.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens,

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Athens Center Square is a modern, fresh and clean hotel. It has lots of fun design elements to look at; it may inspire you to do some redecorating when you get home! The different colored lights in the windows at night are a nice touch, and every floor has a different color theme (6th floor is orange, 7th lavender, 8th lime green, etc.). We were really pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. For such a reasonable price, it feels luxurious. The rooms are an adequate size and the bathrooms are also nice, although dimly lit. The beds are quite soft for Greece, and we had a really good night's sleep here. A wide variety of food was served during breakfast.

It's true, like some of the other reviews say, that the area outside the hotel could be nicer. Yes, the markets are a bit smelly, but even so, I think the location is pretty great, because it is so central. You can walk to Plaka in 15 minutes or so. The elevators are a bit of a hassle. Very small, and often taken, especially around the time breakfast is served. Still, it's just a minor inconvenience, and all in all this hotel is exceptionally good value for money. The rooftop terrace with a view of the Acropolis is just icing on the cake. I plan on staying here the next time I'm in Athens!

Note to management: The posters hanging in the hotel saying "please give us five stars on Tripadvisor" only make people question whether the five star reviews are genuine, so if I were you, I would take them down. You run a great hotel - this fact alone will inspire people to write about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank January_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that in our hotel you had a good sleep and enjoyed the variety of our breakfast.
But most of all we are glad you thought that it was of great value and that you are planning in staying with us again on a future trip to Athens.
Thank you for your comments that will help us improve. We did already action.
Your photos are exceptional! Thank you for submitting them.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#27 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
641 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,504 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Property: Athens Center Square
Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing