We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Accommodation in Athens w/ great Rooftop patio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Center Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #20 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean Accommodation in Athens w/ great Rooftop patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our room was clean and well appointed. The hotel is near the metro. I wasn't a fan on the area around the hotel - I felt safe, but it wasn't quaint by any means. If you are up for a walk you can also walk to the main sites from the hotel. The hotel has a very nice rooftop lounge with a great view of the acropolis.
We had a little trouble finding the hotel, so my advice is to look up - as it is a big building and the name of the hotel is on it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Euro_101
I thank you for staying at our hotel and for your positive review. I am glad after experiencing yourself, you mentioned, that the location though it may looks shabby, it is indeed very safe and very close to all attractions as it is just few minutes’ walk from Plaka area in front of the colorful fruit market. Referring to your comment about finding our hotel, on our website there are "directions" on how you can find the access easily! I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.
Have a wonderful new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    581
    113
    17
    10
See reviews for
137
672
100
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was my first visit to Athens and did a ton of research on hotels prior to my stay. We picked Athens Center Square because of the reviews, price, and location. My boyfriend and I were both pleasantly surprised with our 4 night stay.

I like to walk and explore new cities so instead of taking a taxi to our hotel from the airport, we took the Metro. Just a note on the Metro, it is clean and very easy to use but be careful to look after your things. Anyway, from the Metro stop we only had to walk about two block to the hotel entrance. The hotel did a good job instructing people how to get there.

The room itself was very nice, clean, and large. The bathroom was huge. We opted for a room with a balcony which was a nice feature at night. The morning breakfast was decent, pretty typical breakfast food for a hotel. The entire hotel seemed clean and the staff was very nice.

The best part about the hotel was the location. Not having been to Athens before I didn't know everything is pretty much within walking distance. But this hotel is conveniently located which makes walking to any part of the city very easy. We literally walked everywhere and only took a taxi once to get to the bus station to continue our trip. Walking in Athens can be tricky though, we got "lost" almost every day but it was so great seeing more of the city than we would have if we took the Metro or a taxi everywhere.

Yes, you have to walk through the daily produce market to get to the hotel entrance, and it can seem a little seedy at night but we had no issues whatsoever. This is something we were a bit concerned with given the economic problems in Greece right now. We did see a few protests and a large military/police presence but nothing got out of hand on our visit. Definitely take a walk through the meat market across the street....well, I felt like a piece of meat walking in there, but it was quite a site to see.

Overall, this was a very good hotel for the price and location. If we go back to Athens I wouldn't be as concerned with picking the right location within the city because it's completely walkable. I like to stay at new places when I travel but I wouldn't rule out Athens Center Square for future visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Abigail F
Thank you for your detailed review following your stay at our lovely hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us in one of our beautiful modern rooms. We are very glad you liked the location of the hotel which is just few minutes’ walk from Plaka area in front of the colorful fruit market and we are glad that after experiencing yourself, you mentioned, that the location though it may looks shabby at night, it is indeed very safe and very close to all attractions. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future in order to match your expectations once again.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at ACS 4 years ago just when the hotel opened and had a great time there, so decided to go back again, especially since we love the neighbourhood and location. Sadly, we were quite disappointed this time as the hotel was not up to our expectations. For example, we were surprised to find that the toilet in the room was dirty (and I mean VERY dirty, like someone had used it and forgot to use the toilet brush) when we checked in. The staff kindly offered us a room move without any questions, but this first impression did not set the right tone for the rest of our stay. Still, it was very good value - and the location is fantastic. Just across the street from the very lively and busy central market (fresh fruit, vegetables, meat, fish and poultry), and a 5-minute walk from Monastiraki and the touristy areas of Plaka down busy Athinas street. Breakfast was good - large choice of food though a bit bland. Staff was nice too, but it depended on who was on duty, with some staff clearly more friendly and professional than others. Overall I'd consider staying here again but I would expect that the room is spotlessly clean when I check in next time!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to welcome back clients,as our location is new and indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens. Obviously, I am disappointed to read your experience with us was not up to your expectations and I really apologise.I imagine that there must have been a misunderstanding between the front desk and house keeping. We would greatly appreciate if you give us information, through our e-mail (acs@athenshotelsgroup.com) about your stay in order to understand what happened, investigate and get back to you the soonest possible. Please accept our apologies for the error, and hope you will give us the oportunity to prove our good standard on a future trip to Athens.
Waiting for your reply. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very well located for all the sites and transport. Staff very helpful. Continental breakfast included. Good selection of breads, fruit, cereals, eggs, meats ,cheeses as well as a couple of hot options. Free tea and coffee in the foyer. Other reviews commented on the location with the market right outside the door, however felt safe and great to see the markets at work (did not disturb sleep in any way)
Rooms were large by European standards.
My husband and I had a top floor room facing the Acropolis and we're not disappointed.
Would stay there again. Provided we could get the Acropolis vow rooms.

Room Tip: Recommend top floors facing Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywanderer070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear happywanderer070
Thank you for your feedback and a great detailed review of our hotel. We are so happy that you found everything to your liking, in particular your amazing room, the variety our buffet ,the level of service provided and all that the central location has to offer.
We will be looking forward to your next stay!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a nice, stylish hotel in downtown Athens, just north of the major tourist sites.

The hotel staff is very friendly and professional and the rooms are comfortable. The bed was actually surprisingly large for a single room. The rooms have free wi-fi as well.

It's a short walk south to the main tourist area, and there's a little restaurant on the corner that is open late in case you need a late meal.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has really cool lighting that makes the hotel a hip stand-out in the area. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! We are most pleased we were able to earn your endorsement, but also the detailed review that will be helpful for the next clients. Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosh haain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Good location in psiri near market a few minutes walk from metro and most attractions nice service fair breakfast hotel reception crew very helpfull especialy olga and elias
There is a problem with water presure in shower on 7th floor note this

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Llazarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for your review about our staff and location .I am surprised,referring to your comment about the shower, it must have been an independent accident as our clients value the pressure of the water. Hope to host you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

lovely hotel, very helpful and friendly staff especially olga and the trainee gentleman. the y could not of been more pleasant and helpful. room was great. as a lone female traveller felt safe around the area although little nervous walking up to hotel at night. just need to be aware. brilliant 4 days in athens made even better by this lovely hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind words. It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our attentive's staff warm help and also that we were able to look after you and make you feel safe. That said I do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#18 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Property: Athens Center Square
Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing