We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They care!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #23 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

You can sense from all the little details that this is a well run hotel. We spent a happy six nights here, and would have no hesitation in coming back.

I'd read about the area and must agree that while it appears to lack investment ( to be polite), it is certainly safe, interesting and quiet at night. Wandering around the various sections of the market on the doorstep was fascinating. The location is close enough to most of the main sites that we used public transport only once during our visit, when going to the coast.

The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and enthusiastic. You felt that they genuinely wanted to make sure your stay was a pleasant one. The free tea and coffee with biscuits during the day was a lovely touch, and the free use of the computer with wifi was much appreciated.

Breakfast was fine, although after a few days it became a bit monotonous. Only one item ever seemed to change: one day bacon, the next sausage. Also, the scrambled egg didn't seem to be appreciated - most of it was left on the plates.

The room was everything it needed to be. Not too small, a reasonable size bed ( a bit on the hard side, but I'm picky), tasteful, clean shower room with a great big shower enclosure. Loved it! Everything was clean and well maintained throughout. Even the mosquito we had to splat on the wall in the night was noticed and cleaned away by the maid the next day. (Sorry about that).

Just as someone else mentioned, our room number ended in 7 and was next to the lift and its associated noise. After the first night we got used to it. There was certainly no noise from outside that we could notice either day or night.

All in all, a really pleasant stay in a lovely hotel that deserves its many positive reviews.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PollyBeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear PollyBeeLondon
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It’s great to know that we were able to create an exceptional experience and that your stay could not have been better. I am glad after experiencing yourself, you mentioned, that the location though it may looks shabby at night, it is indeed very safe and very close to all attractions. Thank you also for your compliments on our friendly staff. I am so sorry about breakfast and in order to improve I will pass your comments to the Kitchen staff. Thank you for your review mentioning details of the hotel room and hotel services as well as the low prices we offer. Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Don't be put off by the location of the hotel when you arrive, especially at night. Although it's only five minutes from Ermou Street, a main shopping area, by the time you walk up Athinia Street then find the hotel, you are away from the comfort of tourist shops and bright lights. At night when the markets and other shops are closed, the area looks a bit run down,with graffiti everywhere, but don't be alarmed. The hotel is in a small street opposite the fruit and veg market and when you go out the door in the morning the street is a riot of colour with vendors selling their wares.
The reception staff are welcoming and speak good English. I originally asked for a quiet room with an Acropolis view when I booked, but this request did not materialise, I suspect because I paid a very cheap Internet rate and the best rooms are reserved for those that pay full price, so I did not mind too much. I only paid 34 euro for a basic double room, but the price went up to 75 euro on 1 April. The room was fairly small, but very clean. There was a good shower, but again the bathroom was quite small. The room had a balcony but as we had an inward facing room there was no view. Instead they had erected a large colourful screen so you did not get a view of concrete, and had tried to made the balcony attractive with lots of plants in a raised area. We had room 107 and there was some noise from the lift which was close to the door of the room, but it wasn't too horrendous.
If you take the lift to floor 8, you can go on the roof terrace which has fabulous views of the city, including the Acropolis. I believe they have a bar open on the roof in the summer months.
Breakfast was served on the Mezzanine level, a basic serve yourself buffet with typical European fare including croissants, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, lots of fruit. There was also a dish of hot baked beans and very overcooked scrambled eggs. Lots of orange juice and also coffee from a machine, but you had to make tea with a bag and a cup of water.
We originally booked for one night, but decided to stay two additional nights. The manager on the desk could offer us one night only, but I then went on the Internet and booked two nights online for the same price he quoted, with no problems.
I would say this is an excellent value budget hotel ideal for an Athens break. In the evening we would recommend the Psyrri area close by, five minutes walk, where there are many tavernas and bars, and we thought much nicer than the Plaka district which is too touristy.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the lift, so avoid those ending with 1 or 7, eg not 101 or 107. Not all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Georgina M
Thanks for your wonderful comments, yes our location is great and close to everything. I see that you were able to explore Ermou street which offers great shopping. I'm glad to hear that you also enjoyed the room and found it clean and the staff was friendly and available to assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When arrived the first day i found kind of weird the location of the hotel, just in the middle of the market, however the inside of the hotel is quite updated and the hotel is peaceful.The toilets were clean and new. The breakfast should have been better i think.
I would recommend it if you are staying for a couple of days in Athens as its very close to Monastiraki square and very easy to access the historical ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ariap16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear ariap16
Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our hotel and for sharing your impressions. I couldn’t agree more about the location of our hotel. It is very convenient as it is very close to the city center and is situated in one of the safest areas of Athens. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and I wish to see you soon back in our hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I expected this place to be better, much better. For a much lesser price we had a much more enjoyable stay in another hotel in Athens. Its just that, the behaviour of one front desk staff was enough to make our stay unforgettable in another hotel in Athens and the behaviour of one front desk staff in this hotel made us want to just check out of this place at the earliest.

The location is average because of the local market right at the doorstep of this hotel, although Monastiraki is close by. Breakfast is very ordinary. Rooms are decently sized and were the only good part about this place.

Would never book this place again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChennaiChinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear ChennaiChinai,
Your experience at the Hotel is not the type of service we pride ourselves on delivering to our valued guests. This is why I apologize once again, because the service issues you encountered during your stay is not indicative but an unfortunate incidence.
As for your comment about the difference of price with the other hotel, please note that we are a 3 star hotel and the other is a 2 star, but price is mostly a matter of availability of the hotel.
As for your point on our breakfast, I am surprised that you find it average (comparing to the other hotel), as our room price includes hot and cold buffet, plus Greek corner delicacies with Greek yogurt with honey, halva, daco etc plus nicely decorated breakfast room.
We value you as a guest and hope that you give us another opportunity to better serve you should your travels bring you back to the city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Greece & we stayed in this hotel on the day we landed in Athens. It's quite close to Monastiraki square, lots if cafe's & amazing food joints. The access road to the hotel is not so impressive as it is a market area but the hotel is really nice & colorful, the staff is very friendly. don't miss the roof garden for the view of acropolis (especially in the nights).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ck_194b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear ck_194b
I would like to thank you for your positive review. Be sure that our staff will receive your kind words. We are so glad that you had enjoyed the view to Acropolis and Lycabettus Hill as it is really amazing. Finally, I would like to inform you that our neighborhood is one of the safest areas of Athens downtown and colourful because of the fruit market. Once more thank you very much for your kind words and I hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I would recomand it especially to tourists. Very clean, good breakfast, very good location (the center of the city, near Ancient Agora, close to Acropole - about 15-20 minutes walk).
Great view from the top of the hotel (the roof), open 24 hours, with a mini bar (functional probably only in the spring/summer/autumn - service was available in february only on request made at the desk).

Room Tip: Room on one side of the hotel are oriented towards a market. In the morning there is a little bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear claudiu d
We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and it is really rewarding to know that your expectations in terms of quality of food and excellent service were met. As you experienced the fruit market is colorful and lively in the mornings and quiet in the evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

nicely located, clean, good taste in its decoration, view to acropolis or down to Pireas from my 7th floor room, suitably placed for visiting traditional restautants and sightseeing and fot the subway, and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Nikos K
The kind and positive feedback about our helpful team members and rooms are really appreciated. Be assured that your kind words will be passed on. It is satisfactory to know that we add value to your trip. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing