We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well named location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #22 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ideal central location for getting away from driving and absorbing the vibrant area.which despite its chaotic atmosphere was a delight. Quality restaurants and bars surrounded the hotel, and inside was an oasis of peace with a superb roof top panoramic view. Parking was adjacent and the staff first class. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Higher the better for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwmusic777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear dwmusic777,
"Oasis of peace" after a day out. ... How nice to read your fresh review with positive comments on our "superb" View from Roof terrace. Thank you for staying in our very centrally located hotel and for your review. We hope you will come back. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel a little over a week back. We arrived on a Saturday and took the walk from the station after catching the train from the airport. No issue with walking the relative short distance. But we missed the street as it looked like the market place (which it was). The markets weren't open but the area did not look like a hotel would be there. So we walked a bit further until we realised our mistake. The signs to the hotel were covered by other things which did not help.
Anyway we found the entrance and once inside we were surprised. It was very nice and the staff very helpful.
Our room was clean and as one previous reviewer commented smelt like cigarettes after the smell of the cleaner had abated. But luckily not to much as we do not like cigarettes.
The room was meant to be a double but consisted of 2 single beds. While pushed together, they did not make one single bed. They were still made. Up as single beds. But they were comfortable.
Location of the hotel is good and a little bad. It is close to the railway station and the tourist area. The Acropolis is also not too far away and an enjoyable walk through the flea market and restaurant district.
The roof top bar was great to escape the outside at night and the bar man very friendly. And the view of the Acropolis at night and at sunset was brilliant.
The bad was the location. The street at night is dark and we took a wrong street to a hotel recommended taverna. That street was lined with many males of African & sub continent countries. It was a little intimidating for my wife and we never made it to the taverna. These people were probably very nice but being the only female on the street at that time (early evening) it scared her.
The market was also smelly and had homeless people in the area.
However the souvlaki & gyros grill on the corner of the street with the hotel was cheap and good food. For 6.80€ we ate 2 gyros & drank a 500ml beer. We ate there the two nights we stayed at the hotel. The second night only cost us 10€ including 2 beers.
But back on the hotel, it is comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. In fact we got a great tip on the Sunday morning about the 11am changing of the guards ceremony at Parliament House. This is a must see.

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the rear as the market starts early out front. Also make sure it is a real non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive experience on TA.
I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and clean, our staff friendly and the view from the roof top "brilliant'. As for the cigarette smell, our hotel is non smoking in all areas, but unfortunately we can not control it inside the rooms. Thank you for mentioning it so we take further action.

The hotel is just few minutes walk to the Acropolis, and Monastiraki metro station with direct line to the airport and port.The area may look different as it is in the middle of the fruit market. We have posted signs on Athinas Street kiosks giving directions. Generally, our clients have from our website the "directions" to the hotel and follow the kiosks signs, so they do not have any problem. Also the area is very safe even if you see graffiti around.

We thank you again and hope seeing you on a future trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were expecting more from this hotel, but felt it failed to deliver in a number of areas. The staff were lovely and helpful, but our room was very small, with the view of a wall and although non smoking, constantly smelt of smoke. Breakfast was just ok and a bit chaotic. Location is good for restaurants and metro, but it felt a little dodgy on a night. Overall had a great time in Athens, but felt the accommodation could have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwixxieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear TwixxieManchester,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. Though I am pleased to read your positive comments on our friendly staff, I am very sorry we did not match your expectations. I am glad you found the location to be good for your needs. At night the market closes and not having the lively morning atmosphere it may look for some dodgy, but as you experienced yourself it is a very safe area. Action has been taken for the rest of your comments. I am sorry you did not ask the front desk to change you room, as they would have gladly done so, according to availability. If your travels bring you back to Athens please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I promise to do my very best for you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here only for two nights on our way to Santorini but afterwards we wished we had an extra night! The location is unbelievable, when we woke up in the morning and left the hotel we were plunged right into the athens fruit and fish market! it was like stepping into another world! a great start to the holiday! it's very close to the metro station to the airport and also the metro to the port if you're catching a boat somewhere! it's a new hotel so the room was fabulous and had a lovely bathroom that was really clean! the staff were really helpful and quite funny too, look out for Dimitri, he's a great man to have a chat with at 1am in the morning! The best part of the hotel though is the roof top bar! we almost missed it but went up for the last night for the last 30mins it was open! Forget any restaurant or bar in Athens claiming they have a good view of the Acropolis, this is the BEST view you will find! and as long as your buying drinks (which are reasonably priced) they keep the bar open! Finally the city siteseeing bus tickets are cheaper if you buy them at the reception which was a nice touch too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilievangelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear IIievangelov,

We are thrilled with your positive review about the hotel, staff and location. We thank you for mentioning so many details that will be helpful to all TripAdvisor readers.
Our roof terrace View is indeed spectacular and I am glad you did not miss it!

I hope we will have the opportunity seeing you again on a future trip to Athens. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, or check the offers on our website.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent one night at the athens center square. The location is good, the rooms are clean and there is a terrace with a nice view of the acropolis. The negative points: the lights on the facade which threw light in the room at night and the noise in the street at 5am that awakened us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Sandra F,

Thank you for staying with us. It a pity we did not have the opportunity to change you room because you were disturbed from the light. Hope that we will have the chance to match all your expectation on a future trip to Athens. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double room on the red-coloured fifth floor.

+ Friendly and pro-active staff
+ Nice panorama view from the roof top
+ Centrally located at the city centre
+ Lots of restaurants open till late within walking distance
+ Clean room which size is okay; easily to store 2-3 large suitcases
+ Easy control of a brand new silent airconditioning with clean air flow
+ Enough fresh choices at breakfast buffet
+ Staff is providing extensive travel suggestions free of charge
+ Close to metrostation; just a short 3-5 minutes walk
+ I consider this area as safe

- Unreliable internet connection
- Housekeeping left a bag with some strange substance on the table
- Unpleasant smell in staircase at some floors
- Room might be dark; there are only lightning on the walls and at bedside
- The is quite hard which is not really suitable to sleep on your side
- The room is painted in one bright colour; this can work out in your advantage or not
- Around 5 AM you can hear the market; this is not really disturbing on the fifth floor

Considering the good and few improval points I will surely recommend this hotel to leisure travellers who are visiting Athens for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ying-Kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Ying_Kie,

Thank you for your detailed review which will help future clients make their decision.
Your non positive comments are being examined and correction action will take place wherever is possible. Please note that each floor has different colours at the choice of clients. So, should your travels brings you back to the city, please let me know your colour preference and we will try our best to offer it to you. Also, note that we have great offers all year round on our website.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I will start out with location. It is literally in the Athens Central Market! If you want fresh fruit in the morning - its only a few steps from your door. It is close to the Monastiraki Station, Monastiraki Square and a lot of shopping. It is a smaller hotel with a wonderful rooftop bar manned by an extremely friendly and kind man named Julius. The whole staff was very kind and helpful - I will mention Kostos, Maria and Olga - but the WHOLE staff was wonderful ( I apologize for leaving anyone out). The rooms were bright and clean with a modern feel. The breakfast was great. The laundry service was unreal - a huge bag washed dried and folded for only 9e! Simply put, great price, great people, great hotel. Stay Here!!!!!!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view. We stayed on the 4th and 5th floors, respectively, and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Jeffrey R,
We all thank you for your enthusiastic review and high score. Your recommendation is our reward to our efforts and is mostly appreciated. We look forward seeing again on a a future trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#29 of 282 in Athens
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Athens
#19 Family Hotel in Athens
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing