We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athens Center Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Athinaikon(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Arion Athens Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fresh Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cecil Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Soho Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,452)
Filter reviews
1,452 results
Traveller rating
624
664
131
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
624
664
131
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit marketrooftop barfood marketathinas streetfree tea and coffeemetro stationshort walkflea marketacropolis view roomtaxi driverreception areaconvenient locationwalked everywherebreakfast was excellentgreek yogurtrooms are smallclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,452 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

First night at the hotel... As we switched on the air condition the room is filled with bad smell of drainage. Reception couldn't change our room as the hotel is fully booked and the only remedy was to turn off the air condition and sleep in a hot room. So uncomfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Ber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Bet T,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. Please know based on your comments corrective action has been initiated to avoid any such issues from reoccurring. We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again should your travels bring you back to the city. Please do not hesitate contacting me directly in order to give an upgrated room and match all your expectations.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We booked another hotel (Hotel Hermes) but they asked us to stay at this hotel at discount price instead. I guess they were overbooked and didn't have a room for us. We knew about this hotel because of the roof top bar view, so, we agreed. The location is ok since it's walking distance from the metro station (can be a bit long walk with luggage) but the surrounding is not that great.
The hotel room was clean and well kept. One downside was the shower was not working well. We were staying for only one night, so, decided not to complain about this to them.
Our room had acropolis view, so, didn't want to change the room either.
In general, the hotel is good value for money (we paid 70 euro in June).
If you stay in the hotel, make sure you visit the roof top bar. The view of the city is spectacular.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Kelly K,
Thank you for accepting to stay at the Athens Center Square hotel and for your review with a positive experience over all. I am glad you liked the Acropolis view room and the roof top bar with "spectacular" view. As for the shower problem it's a pity you did not mention it on the spot as we would have gladly fount a solution. We value you as a guest and hope that you give us another opportunity to better serve you should your travels bring you back to the city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Ideal central location for getting away from driving and absorbing the vibrant area.which despite its chaotic atmosphere was a delight. Quality restaurants and bars surrounded the hotel, and inside was an oasis of peace with a superb roof top panoramic view. Parking was adjacent and the staff first class. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Higher the better for views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwmusic777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear dwmusic777,
"Oasis of peace" after a day out. ... How nice to read your fresh review with positive comments on our "superb" View from Roof terrace. Thank you for staying in our very centrally located hotel and for your review. We hope you will come back. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel a little over a week back. We arrived on a Saturday and took the walk from the station after catching the train from the airport. No issue with walking the relative short distance. But we missed the street as it looked like the market place (which it was). The markets weren't open but the area did not look like a hotel would be there. So we walked a bit further until we realised our mistake. The signs to the hotel were covered by other things which did not help.
Anyway we found the entrance and once inside we were surprised. It was very nice and the staff very helpful.
Our room was clean and as one previous reviewer commented smelt like cigarettes after the smell of the cleaner had abated. But luckily not to much as we do not like cigarettes.
The room was meant to be a double but consisted of 2 single beds. While pushed together, they did not make one single bed. They were still made. Up as single beds. But they were comfortable.
Location of the hotel is good and a little bad. It is close to the railway station and the tourist area. The Acropolis is also not too far away and an enjoyable walk through the flea market and restaurant district.
The roof top bar was great to escape the outside at night and the bar man very friendly. And the view of the Acropolis at night and at sunset was brilliant.
The bad was the location. The street at night is dark and we took a wrong street to a hotel recommended taverna. That street was lined with many males of African & sub continent countries. It was a little intimidating for my wife and we never made it to the taverna. These people were probably very nice but being the only female on the street at that time (early evening) it scared her.
The market was also smelly and had homeless people in the area.
However the souvlaki & gyros grill on the corner of the street with the hotel was cheap and good food. For 6.80€ we ate 2 gyros & drank a 500ml beer. We ate there the two nights we stayed at the hotel. The second night only cost us 10€ including 2 beers.
But back on the hotel, it is comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. In fact we got a great tip on the Sunday morning about the 11am changing of the guards ceremony at Parliament House. This is a must see.

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the rear as the market starts early out front. Also make sure it is a real non smoking room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear John M,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your positive experience on TA.
I am glad you found the hotel to be comfortable and clean, our staff friendly and the view from the roof top "brilliant'. As for the cigarette smell, our hotel is non smoking in all areas, but unfortunately we can not control it inside the rooms. Thank you for mentioning it so we take further action.

The hotel is just few minutes walk to the Acropolis, and Monastiraki metro station with direct line to the airport and port.The area may look different as it is in the middle of the fruit market. We have posted signs on Athinas Street kiosks giving directions. Generally, our clients have from our website the "directions" to the hotel and follow the kiosks signs, so they do not have any problem. Also the area is very safe even if you see graffiti around.

We thank you again and hope seeing you on a future trip to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were expecting more from this hotel, but felt it failed to deliver in a number of areas. The staff were lovely and helpful, but our room was very small, with the view of a wall and although non smoking, constantly smelt of smoke. Breakfast was just ok and a bit chaotic. Location is good for restaurants and metro, but it felt a little dodgy on a night. Overall had a great time in Athens, but felt the accommodation could have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwixxieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear TwixxieManchester,

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. Though I am pleased to read your positive comments on our friendly staff, I am very sorry we did not match your expectations. I am glad you found the location to be good for your needs. At night the market closes and not having the lively morning atmosphere it may look for some dodgy, but as you experienced yourself it is a very safe area. Action has been taken for the rest of your comments. I am sorry you did not ask the front desk to change you room, as they would have gladly done so, according to availability. If your travels bring you back to Athens please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I promise to do my very best for you.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews