We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #24 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great rooftop view!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel was clean! There is a little rooftop bar that has an excellent view of the parthenon at night; it's worth a visit for a photo opp. We stayed on the "red" floor and found the room to be too dark at night. I recommend more lighting for those of us over 45. The bathrooms were nice. Breakfast was great; especially as they only served from 7am and we were picked up at the hotel both mornings at 7 so it was appreciated that they had the full spread beforehand. Staff was nice and helpful.
The hotel is located in a unique place... right in the middle of a fruit/vegetable market with a meat market beside it. We thought the location was odd but it was convenient and we quite enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We left the hotel by 7am both mornings before the fruit market set up. The fruit vendors yell and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank real-deal-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    618
    120
    18
    10
See reviews for
155
714
106
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, good bathroom, excellent rooftop bar with fantastic view. 10-15 minutes walk from most tourist sites and 5 minutes to metro station. Useful advice and maps from reception staff. Good wifi. Near the food market but only noisy during the day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

By day, the area surrounding the hotel is a bustling fruit and veg market. You literally step out onto the street to the smell of olives from the olive vendors across from the hotel. By night, the shops are shut behind metal gates covered in graffiti, and many migrant workers are out getting a cheap dinner at small gyro and kebab stands. It can feel quite unsafe when it's dark because the streets are not well lit, and most of the people on the street are men.

That said, the hotel is modern, clean, and well appointed. The prices cannot be beat for that area of the city and for that level of service. We got a deal on the executive view suite and it was incredibly spacious and comfortable, although the view was limited. Check out the rooftop balcony!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located within walking distance to Athens main attractions. Room was clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Rooftop view of the acropolis in the evening was fantastic but bar prices are on the expensive side. Buffet breakfast was ample and immediately in front of hotel is the local fruit market. At night, the market is closed and lighting a bit dim. However, we felt very safe as there are usually people around especially a brightly lit eating joint just a few steps from the hotel. Strongly recommend for budget travellers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was so friendly could not do enough. Kind of away from things HOWEVER do the hop on hop off Athens tour good for 2 days. Stop 15 is one block from the hotel so you can get anywhere. The free breakfast is delicious. The view of the acropolis from the roof top bar amazing!! Across the street meet, fish an veggie market very authentic greek culture as well as some shops cheaper than in town. To the right of hotel on the corner a cheap really good authentic greek food!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. Walking distance to most of the main archeological sites and a variety of restaurants and cafés. The room was a good size for a European hotel though the bathroom was a little small. All in all, very happy with our choice of hotels.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Prior to staying at this wonderful hotel, I had read negative reviews about the "unsafe" location. Never once did I feel unsafe in my stay there. Yes, there is lots of graffiti in the area, some of it on the side streets rather ominous looking, but graffiti cannot harm you, and those same side streets lead to vibrant streets full of local and fun restaurants and cafes. Yes, the area just outside becomes deserted in the evening, but it's a market, and markets close at that time! Also, the area feels like a "real" Athens neighborhood with a nice mix of locals and tourists (mostly locals). Great gyros/souvlaki place right on the corner too!

The breakfast buffet was very nice, but if you like quiet, go early as at any hotel buffet.

The staff are wonderful, and I would like to especially thank Maria, Sophia, and the older gentlemen whose name I never got, for their kindness and help. I would also like to thank Julius the rooftop bartender for his helpful hints about travel within Athens and Greece. I cannot say enough about how professional and helpful the staff are.

This will definitely be "my" hotel on future visits to Athens. Highly recommended!

Greg

South Korea

Room Tip: Higher floors quieter rooms. I did not have a room facing the Acropolis because the view from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,862 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,731 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Property: Athens Center Square
Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing