We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at the heart of action or sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athens Center Square
Ranked #22 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Not at the heart of action or sights”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located along Athinas Street which connects Monastriki Square and Omonio Square. It is about 10 - 15 minutes walk up hill (very mild slope) from the Monastriki Metro station (Airport & Port lines meet here).

Monastriki Square is bustling with shops and flea market stalls, even until 10pm. From the Square, it is another 15 - 20min walk up (mild slope as well) to Syngtama Square. The entrance to the Acropolis (South Slope) and the Acropolis Museum are a distance away - another 15 mins walk from Syngtama, or 15 mins walk from Ancient Agora through Thissio Metro. If you don't want to tire yourself before reaching Acropolis, I strongly recommend you to take a metro to the Acropolis station. If you take from Omonia there is no need to change trains.

That being said about the location, the hotel is situated right smack in the Central Market of Athens. If you leave the hotel at about 8:30am, you will get to experience the bustling marketplace.

The free buffet breakfast was good as well. It offered a very good variety of bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt, fruits and eggs. There's also coffee, tea, orange juice and grapefruit juice. Free coffee and tea are available throughout the day (till 6pm) but because of the location, we didn't really get to come back to enjoy it in the day.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kooifei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    598
    116
    18
    10
See reviews for
147
693
104
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Only stayed here for one night, it was an average stay.

Great view of the Acropolis from the hotel rooftop! The room was also very comfortable and modern.

Had to leave at 3am the next morning and the staff were very helpful and allowed us to enjoy breakfast earlier as we were leaving.

The downside was the fluorescent lights that are on the outside of the building- even with the curtains shut the light was still coming in and making it harder to sleep. It was also a far way from the airport and the wifi would not work in our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is modern and clean, they have a great service, just an amazing terrace 8th floor view of all the major sites (check it out at night) .
the location very good close to many of the attractions , it has a decent complimentary breakfast, good internet (routers need to reboot more often).
I Highly recommended this place

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploratory77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, in a central location, only 5-10 minutes walk from Monastraki, which has a direct train to the airport.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, roof terrace view is stunning with panoramic views of all of Athens, with the centrepiece being the Acropolis.

There is a market directly outside, so try to get a room at the back of the hotel. I am an early riser, but could still hear the forklifts operating outside as the market was setting up.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived in to Athens on the 12th of August and stayed until the 16th of August. We contacted the hotel directly to book and we received quick and friendly response for our reservation. We requested a room with the Acropolis view. The room was perfect clean freshly decorated and on the 7th floor. The hotel emailed us 3 different ways to choose on how to get tho the hotel{we went the Metro and a short walk and it was no problem to find}. We enjoyed walking through the fruit and local market. All the sites were with in walking distance. Nice breakfast,beds and staff.We will be staying there again in the future. Great value for the Euro!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and we sleep well with out any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed mid August 2014 for 5 nights. Checkin was efficient, staff very welcoming and many of the instances very willing to help (taxis, metro info, local area, room issues, etc).
Breakfast exceeded my expectations, all things fresh and more than adequate for its class.\
Free coffee and tea at lobby until 18:00 was something that impressed me a lot; I have been to much 'high' places but didn't meet such generosity and hospitality.
The location was not superb, but was fine - don't take me wrong, it's still very central but next time I 'll seek for hotels near Syntagma.
For 52 euros/night the double room, including breakfast, I 'm more than pleased with this accommodation.
Very clean and good airconditioning.
Bathtub was a bit weird and bathroom a bit small.
Wifi sometimes not working (bad singal). However, there was a free PC-Internet in the lobby.
Other than that, the place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piskoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Athens Centre Square from August 6 until August 14. The staff at the reception (including those in training) are helpful, professional, friendly, and knowledgable. Also, Agnes at reservation was very helpful as we made our reservation directly through the hotel.The rooms are very clean and have everything you may need although some rooms are small. However, this may be the standard size in many European hotels. The buffet breakfast is good but as we stayed 8 nights it was repetitave.The location is excellent and it is about 5 minutes walk from one of the busiest squares in Athens. Its location across from the food market was not a problem to us as our room was on the 8th floor.
I would recommend to the managment to modify the signs on the front door to make the hotel more visible. Also, it may be a good idea, if feasible, to install some kind of ventilation system in the elevator as it gets hot in summer due to its small size.
We enjoyed our stay at Athens Square Centre and I highly recommend it, particularly, if you do not want to pay for a 5 stars hotel,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0ccer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#24 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,808 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Arion Athens Hotel
Arion Athens Hotel
#32 of 326 in Athens
641 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,503 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Property: Athens Center Square
Address: 15 Aristogitonos | Monastiraki / Plaka/ Psyri, Athens 105 52, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing