We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #58 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Near Metro, small rooms but adequate. Breakfast not as extensive as another hotel we stayed in, but adequate. Upscale bathroom. Comfortable. Good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UncleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

...that allows you to visit every must-see in Athens in a matter of minutes. Everything was fine in this new hotel except for the wifi signal that used to drop from time to time.

Good rooms, well air conditioned, good shower...A good place to spend a few nights in Greece.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOVAL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great hotel overall. Stayed here for 4 days. Good staff, big rooms

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked this hotel on line after trying to find a reasonablly priced hotel for a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids under 8). In short, the Lotus surpassed our expectations.

The hotel is located in a residential neighborhood, within 200 feet of the Metro. We were well received at check-in, which was quick and seamless. We received some help getting our luggage up to our room. There was free parking, which was located down the street in a private building.

Our family suite was really two rooms connected via a private hallway. The kids got their own room and so did we. Each room was modern, with large beds, lots of room to move about, small televisions and good size modern bathrooms.

We ran into unexpected problems with our flight (it was cancelled at the last moment) and the hotel staff went out of their way to help us. They assisted us with a check-out in the middle of the night, made arrangements to have our car ready for pick up and even watched the kids while we loaded the car.

The hotel is right near the metro and within 10 minutes of most major tourist attractions, including Omonia Square, the Acropolis, etc.

I really have no negative comments whatsoever.

Good job ! and we will be back !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GST_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We had reserved a family room for 2 parents and 3 kids (14,12 and 10). The room was actually two separate hotel rooms and part of the corridor that connected those rooms. Both rooms had a double bed and in the bigger one there was enough room for an extra bed. Since we had two rooms, we had also two bathrooms. The rooms very nice, clean and really comfortable.

The hotel is very near to the subway. The subway is a very convenient way to get to the downtown of Athens. Once we walked there but the surroundings between the hotel and the center are not very nice - or at least we didn't find a nice route. The taxis in Athens do not take 5 persons (in principle) but when you ask nicely, they do take 2 adults and 3 kids. For us taxi to the airport was as expensive as subway tickets would have been - and the trip was more convenient.

About 200 m from the hotel there is a square where you can find nice restaurants. These restaurants are mainly occupied by local people, the quality of food is similar to Monastiraki and the prices are lower than in more touristic areas.

When we were in Athens in July 2011 there was a general strike (e.g. public transportation didn't work) and there were riots at Syntagma square (people were rioting against the savings). Thanks to the hotel staff we were always aware of the areas that were safe for tourists. When it turned out that our daughters antibiotics didn't work, they did a lot of work to find a doctor that could write a new prescription for her and the pharmacy that was open (all doctors and pharmacies were on strike, too). In these extraordinary conditions the service at the hotel was excellent!

I can really

Room Tip: Family room is an excellent choice if you are travelling with more than 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pivilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Athens Lotus Hotel was everything I'd hoped it would be aside from some technical issues they were dealing with while we were there. The room was fantastic with a HUGE balcony, the walls were thick and the bed very comfortable. It was a great hotel to finish off our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Superb hotel, well placed, clean, good food , great staff, very helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 284 in Athens
1,216 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#59 of 284 in Athens
620 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 284 in Athens
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#57 of 284 in Athens
956 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#21 of 284 in Athens
1,438 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#24 of 284 in Athens
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £40 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing