We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, close to metro, friendly staff”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, close to metro, friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there for a total of 5 nights (Three nights, then off to Santorini, and then came back for another two nights).

The hotel is about 50 steps away from metxourghiou metro station. The rooms were clean. The first room was small, but the second room in the new wing was quite spacious.

The breakfast buffet was very good and exceeded our expectation (included in price we paid for the room).

Wifi connection was barely adequate in the rooms and can be improved (especially in the new wing) and although we read on their website that there was a "business centre", we could not gain access to a computer to print our boarding passes. The front desk staff was nice enough to try to access our flights to print the boarding passes for us but it was not convenient.

The hotel staff were very friendly and nice. There are lots of mini marts around to purchase water, grocery, etc. Overall, I recommend this hotel for a moderate budget and easy access to metro.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozmajeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    360
    109
    30
    26
See reviews for
140
424
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in September. The rooms were clean, modern, and adequate, having a safe and clean towels. The front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. The two gentlemen at the front desk helped us with finding the best priced car rental company, which turned out very well, and also helped us with getting our cell phone to work. They recommended a great restaurant, which was in Plaka and had a great view of the Acropolis and the city. The location was in an average, slightly ethnic (Albanian?) neighborhood, which seemed pretty safe, though, as usual for Greece, a lot of the neighbors sat outside talking until late in the evening. The Hotel is less than two blocks from the Metaxourgeio Metro station, which was very convenient, because we took the Metro to our destinations every day. We did walk to Monastiraki and the Ancient Agora with no problem. We rented our car on the night before we left, and the staff gave us a parking pass to a garage less than two blocks away, and helped us park in front temporarily while we loaded the car. We had a great experience and would come back again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

So our trip was somewhat oddly planned out, which meant that we stayed in this hotel three separate times and in three separate rooms.

The good: the ladies in the dining room/restaurant were very nice, and two of the gentlemen at reception were also quite nice and helpful. The rest of the reception staff I found to be marginally helpful and sometimes quite short with us, particularly some of the men working at night. The food was good (we had breakfast and dinner there a couple times over the course of our stay). It is brought in from a nearby restaurant, but didn't take too long, and was quite delicious. The hotel is very close to a metro station, and one metro stop from a rail station, which is very convenient. Finally, the price is shockingly low.

The bad: the rooms are cute/tastefully decorated, but TINY. The first and second rooms we had barely had any space around the bed. We had two fairly big suitcases, and were constantly having to crawl over the bed or around each other to get around the room. (We saw some twin bed rooms while they were being cleaned and they were quite a bit bigger actually, but were right in front of the elevator... More on that later) The bathroom was also small. I am used to a small shower in my own home, but the ones in the hotel were so cramped that I constantly bumped into the shower walls. Word of advice: ask to stay in a room away from the elevator, because you can hear the "pings" of the elevator all night... You can even clearly make out conversations occurring in the elevator from inside the room with the door shut.

The ugly: there's no ugly. Overall, it was a decent stay, especially for the ridiculously low cost. The staff was professional (some much more friendly/helpful than others), meals good, location convenient, but rooms small.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

situated just of a large square, this hotel is close to many transport facilities. the staff are very friendly and all have a vested interest in the best upkeep of the hotel itself which makes for an even more enjoyable stay. the room was very clean and the house keeping was of an excellent standard. The location was not very good but encountered no problems and local bars and cafe's were also extremely friendly
I would recommend this hotel and would return again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Staff was really nice and helpful. We stayed in the new section of the hotel which was very modern, clean and comfy. The room was rather small but very clean and pleasant. Metro 1.5 blocks away which takes you to different parts of the city in just a few minutes. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogolga113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms quite new. The room was a bit small compare to what I saw in pictures but it was fine. It was one minute away from the metro station and 4 stops away from the acropolis so it was really well connected to the entire city. The área at night it is a bit scary and at the hotel they advised us to don't walk around an área close to the hotel. We didn't have any problems but maybe if I come back I will choose another área to stay closer to Monastikari or Plaka.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofimarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space. I liked the neighborhood, working class far enough from the busy tourist areas to be quiet at night but only a short 5 minute ride by metro to most any of the tourist highlights. Breakfast was more than adequate. One extra was while we were there there was a street market that appeared one morning outside the hotel clearly geared toward the local population; fruits vegetables clothes kabobs etc. we did some shopping while it was there for the day. The hotel is only one block from the metro. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank gary-the-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#57 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Property: Athens Lotus Hotel
Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing