We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to subway”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #57 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Recently stayed here for a week. The neighborhood is not attractive; but the hotel itself is clean and one block away from the subway system. Daily breakfast was fairly good; it cost us $13 per day, but had a decent variety of foods. The Greek yogurt was exceptional! Our room was very small, but clean and had a new bathroom with a good shower. We had plenty of towels. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Athens subway system is cheap, easy to use and very convenient to this hotel. The only reason we might not pick this hotel again is that there were almost no restaurants in the neighborhood and it was fairly unkempt. However, a quick subway ride got us to the Acropolis area in minutes. A pretty good value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent six nights here and had a lovely room on the fourth floor, quiet with a balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, full range of food, including bacon and sausages, delicious cereals and croissants. Location less than 100 metres from the metro made travelling cheap and safe. Great base for a city break.

Room Tip: The higher the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmsie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We had the privilege of spending one week at the Lotus Hotel, and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone travelling to Athens. The facility is modern, clean, & everything you'd expect in a CBD hotel. But what made this place special is the staff - these are all very humble people who go out of their way to help. This transformed our stay into a truly memorable experience we'll treasure forever! This is a family owned & operated business that gives a unique personal touch. To Demetrius & Anna, Connie, Jola, Demetrius, Alexi, Thanos & those I fail to mention (sorry!) keep up the good work we'll miss you all but hope to host you in NZ one day soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPROULLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Easy to recommend the Lotus Hotel!The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was modern and clean. We did not have breakfast included in our fee, but did pay for it one morning and were happy with the many choices. The Hotel is located close to a metro station but we found the 20-25 minute walk into the center of town easy to do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Pros: We arrived not expecting a whole lot, as the hotel was part of a travel package and the price was not much. We were wrong. This hotel was immaculate, the staff efficient and helpful, and only five minutes walk from the metro. The room was quite small, filled with a queen sized bed. But, the bed was very comfortable, nicely appointed and very clean, the air conditioner was quiet and worked like a dream, the bathroom was also quite small but modern, lots of water pressure, clean and fashionable. It had a nice television, safe and small fridge. Concierge got taxis for us on time when we needed them, and were very polite and enthusiastic. We felt very welcome.

The breakfast was 10 Euros, which was pricey and while we could have done better at a restaurant, it was good. We had meats, cheeses, breads and croissants, granola, fruit, two types of eggs, real greek yogurt and honey, cappuccino and regular coffee (sorry, no greek coffee), mild and juices.

Cons. The hostess in the breakfast area messed up our first morning and told my girlfriend that cappuccino was not included in the 10 Euros, found out it was and apologized the next day. The neighborhood around the hotel was sketchy and dirty, but safe. We were able to go outdoors without fear to a local store and bar after midnight a couple of times.

Overall: Would highly recommend this hotel, with the pros FAR outweighing the cons. Glad we picked it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigJimmy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Lotus for two days. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel is modern, spacious and very clean. We took a superior room but the cost for bed and breakfast represented great value for money. The hotel is only a 2 minute walk to a metro station and a hop on hop off bus stop which can connect you to the port at Piraeus.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jackos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived from the Metro station after a pickpocket assault quite shaken. The staff jumped to our aid; checking us in early,arranging for free long distance calls in order to cancel cards; etc. The owner walked up with a shot of Mestika (super Ouzo) to calm me down. Later they guided us to the Police to file a report, and finally to the US embassy to replace my passport. BTW did I mention the restaurant is 1st rate too.
Rock Star staff at the Lotus. A+++++++++++++++.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlaw2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
498 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#63 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 282 in Athens
1,635 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
621 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing