We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice simple hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice simple hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights.
Staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice. Room was simple and clean. The bed was really comfortable. I think everyone else has already covered most of it but I just wanted to mention about the area.

My husband and I spent most of our time in Athens walking and I mean a lot of walking. Sure the rare isn't as posh as the suburbs close to the embassy area but the suburb the hotel is in is more or less the real Athens. The people that lives in this area comes from multiple ethnic background therefore making it a little bit 'rough' but definitely not dangerous. It's actually really interesting to walk around to see how the real Athenians live. Only complaint was that at around 10pm someone in the neighbourhood still thinks karaoke is a good idea.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiddlestick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    345
    104
    30
    25
See reviews for
134
411
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location and beautiful boutique hotel.I would recommend for couples. Very quet rooms, confident staff. The gentelman on reception orgenised a table for me to proposal on very famous Athens restaurant on the top of the Lycabettus and kept secret for me. Very apriciate for that. thank you. If i will be again in Athens i will book this hotel without a second thought!

King Regards for Lotus!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Petryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this hotel on Last Minute and the amount we paid was incredible considering how clean the hotel was, how safe we felt in the area...literally a minute to the Metro stop. The metro was 2 stops to the city centre again showing how good value it is. The hotel itself was spotless and we had a great nights sleep here for the 4 days we stayed! Only thing we were disappointed with was we were told that they had room service when we arrived late and when we phoned it was unavailable...not an issue but wish we had been told it at reception when we checked in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dartboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I find very amusing the reviews that state that this hotel is in an unsafe / dangerous location. For some people safety is a relative notion, but those that claim this is a dangerous area should provide some facts rather then their feelings. Me and my wife stayed for 9 nights and we walked at almost any hour in the day or night and nothing happened. On a Friday night we went to a club and walked for 30 mins from the club to the hotel from 2:30 AM to 3:00 AM (we even passed through the "dangerous" Omonia square). We were usually getting back to the hotel anywhere between 20:00 PM and 24:00 and we never had any problems. Yes, it is an area with immigrants and there may be bad looking people around (homeless, beggars, etc.), but we didn't had the slightest incident.
The hotel is located about 50 meters away from the Metaxourgio metro station, which is 3 stops away from Syntagma.
We booked a superior room (in the new wing). The room was big, clean and nicely decorated. Even if it was on the first floor we didn't had any problems with the noise since this is a quiet area. We couldn't use the safe in the room (it was locked in an open position and there were no instruction available). Also, since the safe wasn't fixed to the wall / cupboard, in the unlikely event that somebody would've forced the room door and wanted something from the safe it could've get the safe itself (it only weights around 3 kg, empty) :).
We got slippers and bathrobes.
The breakfast was ok, but surprisingly it lacked olives.
The wireless connection worked fine.
The tap water is really good (it tastes even better than some bottled water we had :)).
On Wednesday there is a local market organized on the Chiou street (a greek habit) which was really nice.
The staff was very friendly.
If you want to save some money on the trip to the airport use the X95 bus. It runs all night from Syntagma and it cost 5 EURO to reach the airport from here.

Room Tip: Only saw the superior rooms that were great. On 1st floor we had good wi-fi connection and the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Run from this place. Could not agree more with previous review that stated - 'Location : The hotel is situated in one of the worst parts of Athens were drug addicts and a lot of undesirable people are, it is a pretty unsafe area and at night even worse, you can really feel it the all time.'

Regret I did not see the below review before I arrived at 9:30 PM two weeks ago. My wife and I left by 10 PM and was charged the full 4 night stay. Despite managers saying they place safety first, it is not the case. Parking is located 3 blocks away, and a dangerous walk. Call the local police station and they will confirm the amount of crime in this area, one of the worst locations in Athens. There is a reason the hotel is pictured at night, a daytime exterior picture would show the slum this hotel is located in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALotusH, Ιδιοκτήτης at Athens Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Visitors of trip advisor,
We would like to inform you that this review is totally false and we believe that it would be better to know the whole story!
Mr Steven has booked our hotel about 1 month before his arrival through Expedia.com with a very good offer! His reservation was non-refundable ,which means that he has to pre-pay the total amount and in any case the amount cannot be refunded(those were the terms of his reservation)He came at the Hotel on the day of his arrival and he asked to cancel the reservation,because finally he didn't want to stay at the Hotel! The reason was that he has found a friendly house to spend his whole stay in Athens! At this point it is worthy to mention that he liked our Hotel ,he liked the location ,he like the staff,the decoration of the lobby , his room...EVERYTHING!
In fact his said that Athens Lotus is one of the most beautifull hotels he has ever been!
So, From our part we tried to explain him that the reservation is non-refundable and we cannot give him his refund(in addition the reservation was made through Expedia so we have not yet took the money!! )
Finally he left the hotel by leaving this review as a souvenir!
We are always welcoming to all kinds of reviews,even the bad ones...but we will never accept a review which was written for revenge reasons.
If you read the magority of our reviews you will understand ...


Thank you for your time!
The ownership of Athens Lotus Hotel
Gerakinis Dimitris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs - England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for my birthday weekend in Feb 2014 (3 nights). We booked a superior double room which was located in the new part of the hotel.The size of the room was good and had everything you would need apart from tea and coffee making facilities, which would have made it perfect. the room was very clean and serviced every day with clean towels. The bed was large and very comfortable. They need to provide instructions for using the room safe as we managed to lock it (empty) on arrival and couldn't open it again until the manager came the next day....definitely user error but meant we had to carry everything around with us on the first evening. Breakfast was included in our booking and it was a small but nice spreads of what you would expect of a continental breakfast. the Hotel is located up a small side street off a busy square. there is a metro station 3 mins walk from the hotel in the square which will take you to central Athens in 10 mins for about 1.40 Euros. The metro is very easy to navigate (wouldn't recommend walking into central Athens at night from the Hotel).

Room Tip: Go for a superior double in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is conveniently located near the metro station in a quiet street. The hotel looks relatively modern and is strangely split into 2 buildings because our hotel room was at the back of the hotel through to an adjacent building. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpfully told usabout areas where we should go and visit. The room itself was smaller than normal hotel rooms but for the price it was def clean and had everything we could ask i.e.our own bathroom, AC, TV and free wireless!
I'd highly recommend this hotel. It ticks off so many boxes......location, amenities, helpful staff, price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhavika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Property: Athens Lotus Hotel
Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing