We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from this hotel !”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“stay away from this hotel !”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I just left this hotel .. even though my booking was non refundable. I preferred to leave than stay in this horrid place. Perhaps first is to ask how it possible got the rating of a 4* "boutique" hotel.. it's a 2* hostel at best.

Lumpy mattresses, hard pillows, tiny rooms, no wifi, small windows, (changed two rooms) and in both showers didn't work nor did the drain. When I asked for another change - the unfriendly, unprofessional staff suggested I change hotels .. and then got a bogus (Greek) booking.com customer service to call me and tell me that he is there to protect me from the hotel "throwing me out into the street."

The area is not "hip" as advertised. It's more of rundown area where local Greeks will tell you to take care at night.

If you are looking for a 4* hotel then this definitely is not the place for you. Steer clear and far - pay a bit more and go to real hotel. There are no facilities, absolutely nothing that would qualify this hotel more than a 2* hostel.

Room Tip: Anywhere else but this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    360
    109
    30
    26
See reviews for
140
424
58
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visited this hotel after the recommendation by our travel agent and the reviews here in tripadvisor. The hotel itself is very good, clean, with good furnitures, bathroom, shower, etc. The service is also very good, helpful and friendly. The breakfast, one of the best i had in the lastest month with fresh juices, good coffee, and delicious yogurt! The only thing i didn´t like in the room, is the mini bar, it is mired in the closet and doesn´t work well so it works as a heater for the room! I would take them out now. The other bad thing is the location, even though is close to the agora or acropolis, the neighborhood is kinda unsafe and ugly, there aren´t any cafes or restaurants around, so you have to use the subway for everything. Just around the corner, there are 3 mini bus terminals, that give service to Tirana, so you can imagine the "festive" and insecure atmosphere there at 8 pm. It is a shame the location of the hotel, because the hotel is good, however we felt very uncomfortable with the lonely streets and suspicious people around the block.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank velezmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve9280
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have just returned to the UK after a week at this hotel. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and adequate size. The bathroom spotless, plenty of hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simple, but more than enough choice and all that was needed every day. The hotel is about 1 minute walk to Metaxourghio metro station - this is two or three stops from the very centre of Athens, so travel to the centre was only 5 or 10 mins - easy to pop back to freshen up before going out again in the evening. It didn't feel unsafe, and I was a single person walking alone. My only criticism was there was no lock on the bedroom window - no-one would have climbed up - but being able to lock the window closed, would probably have helped the double glazing seal on the window - that said after around 10pm, the street was fairly quiet anyway. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Athens . Good value , good accommodation and good service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve9280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have been in this hotel for three days in the end of February. About good things: close to the metro station, convenient location, friendly and helpfull staff, clean room and decent breakfast. As for bad things: the room was extrimely small and the bedding were wet, so we should swich on the heater almost during all night and open the window.
There were no slippers so, if you need one you should ask at receiption in advance. Resume: defenitely not a 4 star hotel. I would prefer to say a good 3 star.
By the way, on the right side of the hotel there is a nice tavern with traditional greek food. Have a nice trip;)

Helpful?
1 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights.
Staff was friendly. Breakfast was nice. Room was simple and clean. The bed was really comfortable. I think everyone else has already covered most of it but I just wanted to mention about the area.

My husband and I spent most of our time in Athens walking and I mean a lot of walking. Sure the rare isn't as posh as the suburbs close to the embassy area but the suburb the hotel is in is more or less the real Athens. The people that lives in this area comes from multiple ethnic background therefore making it a little bit 'rough' but definitely not dangerous. It's actually really interesting to walk around to see how the real Athenians live. Only complaint was that at around 10pm someone in the neighbourhood still thinks karaoke is a good idea.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiddlestick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location and beautiful boutique hotel.I would recommend for couples. Very quet rooms, confident staff. The gentelman on reception orgenised a table for me to proposal on very famous Athens restaurant on the top of the Lycabettus and kept secret for me. Very apriciate for that. thank you. If i will be again in Athens i will book this hotel without a second thought!

King Regards for Lotus!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Petryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this hotel on Last Minute and the amount we paid was incredible considering how clean the hotel was, how safe we felt in the area...literally a minute to the Metro stop. The metro was 2 stops to the city centre again showing how good value it is. The hotel itself was spotless and we had a great nights sleep here for the 4 days we stayed! Only thing we were disappointed with was we were told that they had room service when we arrived late and when we phoned it was unavailable...not an issue but wish we had been told it at reception when we checked in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Dartboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#56 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#20 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Property: Athens Lotus Hotel
Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing