We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #57 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Family and I stayed at the Athens Lotus Hotel for several days during the summer and we all enjoyed our stay there. The hotel room is clean, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are modernly decorated. One point taken off for the size of the rooms. If you're sharing the room, it becomes challenging finding enough space for your luggage and moving around the room.

The front desk staff and the restaurant staff are friendly and helpful. We were told several times by people who have traveled to Athens that the area around the hotel is not safe in the evenings, but we were always back in the hotel by 7 pm so we were fine. The metro which can take you everywhere you want to go in Athens is very accessible - a 5 min walk from the hotel.
I would recommend tacking on the breakfast when staying here as it was convenient and the food selection wasnt bad - loved the french toast and the honey!!!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room in the White Lotus area of the hotel as the room we had there was more sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Worldtraveller0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The room was lovey and a great value. There was little room to put stuff. For example, no counter/shelf to put a toiletries while using the bathroom. Just a small towel rack. Our room was in the building behind the main lobby and quite compact (not the rooms pictured on their website). The bed was very comfortable. The room was recently refurbished. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was very nice and included. Good quality and variety. Plenty to eat. The restaurant is convenient and also serves a reasonably priced dinner if you want to eat in.

There was a breakfast terrace advertised, which is one of the reasons we booked this hotel, but this proved not to be true. A disappointment but it did not ruin the stay.

While the location was primarily a working class neighborhood (i.e., not much interesting for tourists), it was a block away from the subway, which is very convenient for getting to all the sites in the city. Even walkable if the weather is not hot. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Note which building you are staying in. The rooms are very different in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santobottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The room was toooo small. no room for an extra bed so our 5 years old son was sleeping with us in the middle. I asked for a baby cot and they did not have. The manager told us to pay extra 15 euros per night to give us another room. He was not polite and he was not willing to help. We arrived around 8am and we asked for a piece of bread for our son and they told us to pay 2,60 euro although there was breakfast. They gave us tap water and a sweet. Breakfast was not for a 4 star hotel. The restaurant were they serve breakfast was too small and sometimes you had to wait for a table. Only one girl was there serving and sometimes she could not manage everything even though she was willing and helpful. Boiled Eggs were cold. In general I dont recommend it especially for families.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are too small. There was no room for an extra bed so our son was sleeping with us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Panayiotis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALotusH, Διευθυντής at Athens Lotus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Our policy is to accept all reviews, but in that inaccurate review we feel obligated to reply.

Guest arrived to our Hotel with reservation for double room for 2 adults and 1 child on parent's bed. Upon arrival guest claimed that he had reserved and paid for a double room with an extra bed and he was feeling deceived. We kept his telephone number and travel agent's reservation ID in order to find out about his claim while they were having a walk to the sightseeings.

We came in contact ith the travel agent and ensure us that guest reserved a double room for 2 adults and 1 child (<12 years old) on parent's bed. Travel agent made clear that guest was not deceived and asked from us when guest return back to our hotel to make a phone call to clarify any misunderstanding.

Then we informed guest by phone about the situation and proposed an upgrade to a bigger room type (ACROPOLIS VIEW ROOM) with an extra charge 15euros per night. An ACROPOLIS VIEW ROOM has normally the double price of a double room.

When guest returned , refused our proposal and asked for a baby cot as in the double room there is not enough space for an extra bed. We explained to guest that baby cots have a weight limit. His child was 5 years old, too big and too heavy for a baby cot. Trying to sleep on a baby cot could be dangerous, a responsibility we could not take.

For the rest comment's guest upon arrival ordered toasted bread with cheese and ham which coats 2.60euros.

We would like to inform that our hotel provides triple rooms, families rooms(up to 5 persons) in order our family guest have a comfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were very blessed to have been referred to this hotel. Very very comfortable, quiet, very clean and neat. All the personnel were friendly and hospitable. Breakfasts are superb and the restaurant also offers dinners. Close to the Metro station thus very accessible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Wynand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lotus Hotel is a family owned hotel. The rooms were very clean and recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable and area was quiet for sleep. The room and bathroom were larger than we expected and the pictures on the website and here are right on!! The restaurant and breakfast were very good. We ate breakfast there every morning and had dinner there twice. It did not disappoint even our picky children. Breakfast consisted of eggs, meat, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads, pastries jams and juices. It was very very tasty.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating even changing our TV to English for us to hear as we were getting ready for bed. They held our luggage when we got there early and suggested the National Museum about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. When we returned, the room was ready and they rapidly checked us in since we were going on about 30 hours since sleep. The gave us a great map and showed us areas to go and how to get there also.

It is near the Metro, but a little bit of a drive to the airport. The area around the hotel has a couple of restaurants within 2 minute walk, a couple of convenience stores for quick purchases, and has plenty of shopping along the streets and boutiques around 10-15 minute walk. Please do not be afraid to walk around the area, the people were nice and the out of the tourist area shops were best.

I would gladly stay there again if going to Athens. The money saved from the "higher end" hotels is well saved as the Lotus will meet all your needs in a boutique hotel setting. Save the money and take some tours to the islands, which they will gladly set up for you!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scftrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is at the center of Athens, near metro station. Is very clean, with luxurious furniture and linens by one of the best greek corporations: Cocomat. All the beds are king size and the rooms are spacious! Highly recomended

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darksidem00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great concierge service! The person who checked us in was wonderful and helped us immensely. With his help, we were able to book a last-minute ferry trip to Santorini and dine at some great local restaurants.

The hotel is in a run-down part of town, but my room (a corner room with hardwood floors) was small but very clean with 2 sliding doors and plenty of light. My mom's room wasn't so great--it was darker and with older stained carpet. But it's a good value as it is steps away from the subway station and only a few stops away from the heart of Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 282 in Athens
1,201 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Athens
498 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#63 of 282 in Athens
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 282 in Athens
1,635 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 282 in Athens
621 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#49 of 282 in Athens
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £35 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing