We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, average location”
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
Ranked #57 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 25 September 2010

The hotel itself is very nice and has a very good standard.
The location is only average, as you can't find any good restaurants, bars or anything like that close to it. However, it is a 2 minutes walk to the next subway station, so easy to get wherever you want. At night the only chance to get back is by taxi. So the savings you might have by not going into a hotel in Plaka, will be gone by taking a taxi at night. Still I would choose this hotel instead of the one I had in Plaka!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-tea2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights in total. Our double room on the 4th floor with small balcony was excellent. ( lift available ) The bed was very comfortable, good shower and toiletries provided. Big white bath towels, and bathrobe and slippers. The room was clean, air conditioned, with a small bar fridge and safe.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice, from a cooked breakfast to cakes, cereals, fruit, yogurt and lovely greek honey!
A few minutes walk straight up the road to the metro, and very easy to get into the tourist areas of Athens.
The area is safe and we never felt uncomfortable when walking....their is a large police station on the main road.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, all spoke very good English.
Could not fault this hotel, and would recommend...but book early as it was full when we were there!
There is building work across the road, but this did not disturb us ,as the room had air conditioning and so the windows were shut, so not a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. The location itself is OK, it is right beside the Metaxourghio station, but it isn't the best area. Having said that, you can be at Akropoli station 20 minutes after leaving your room!

The rooms are fine, if a bit small (but normal for these smaller European hotels.) The bathroom was excellent. The breakfast buffet is very good and well stocked. The breakfast room is a pizzeria for the rest of the day, but we didn't use it. There is one taberna just around the corner - handy if you arrive into Athens very late, and the small cafe across the road doesn't look the best, but it is great for a late night beer before retiring! Two half litre beers and two bottles of water for €6 is good value.

The hotel has free wifi but I found it an absolute pain to use. Frequently unable to actually get on the web, and when it did connect, it took an age. Maybe the wired connection is better but you have been warned!

The streets get busy around the hotel from about 7am-ish and there is construction going on across the road, so a room off to the side or to the back would be better. When the construction is finished, it would not be loud at all.

This is a well-priced hotel which has a good location for those who are in Athens to get out and explore the sights. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newryman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This is a great hotel that is located 3 stops away from Syntagma stop which is the main metro stop for Plaka. This hotel is only a block away from it's metro stop and going to and from the airport and around Athens was so easy. The hotel itself is quite clean, quiet and comfortable. I am not sure why people think this is in a bad area. They must not be used to big cities. It's quite safe to walk to the metro and back. Yes, there are no restaurants or sites within 5 min. walking distance but it really is no big deal. I'd rather stay here than a noisy and busy Plaka area. Complementary breakfast was excellent especially in a city where breakfast does not seem to be that important. Internet did not work very well but it is available wireless. We were really glad that we stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T.B.Patriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend. The location is great just a 3 min walk from Line 2 of the metro, which is the same line as the Acropolis and Syntagma (Central Athens & interchange to Line 3 for airport). The local area doesn't have much to offer but being so close to the metro meant this wasn't an issue and we never felt unsafe even late at night.

The hotel itself is very charming with a small bar / restaurant. The room was clean bright and contemporary with a modern bathroom and a flush toilet that worked (luxury in Greece!!). Not enourmous but have stayed in much smaller in NYC (yes thats despite what the Americans say about european rooms !!). We had a safe, mini bar and the air con was on all the time for no extra charge. Despite being near a major road and opposite a building site it was really quiet and we had no noise disturbances either from within the hotel or external. There was also a lift which gave us no issues.

Breakfast was a hot & cold buffet served from 7 - 10am we only ate twice but had no complaints.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Theres free wi fi (if you have brought your laptop) and check out is 12 noon.

A great little place that I would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This really is a lovely hotel. The rooms have been recently renovated so they are fresh and clean and modern. The breakfast that is provided each morning is extremely substantial. The only potentially negative comment is the area that the hotel is located in - a couple of dodgy areas/streets surround it - but we never had any issues and all the other aspects made it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel. I rolled in at 2am after arriving on the late flight to Athens and was greeting by cheerful staff, and my 3 night stay was exactly what I wanted. The staff were all very helpful with directions and advice, and I saw that this was the same with everyone staying at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was really good (cooked, cereals, fruit, bread and pastries). The room was either recently decorated or very well maintained, with modern furniture and a comfortable bed. It's only 40 metres from the nearest Metro station. I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robwest7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 281 in Athens
492 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#84 of 281 in Athens
1,608 reviews
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#62 of 281 in Athens
923 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#34 of 281 in Athens
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £40 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel with the best access to the centre of Athens, the Acropolis, historical monuments and museums, as well as the airport, the port, and railway and metro stations.The Athens lotus hotel, a neoclassical building dating from the early 20th century, fully renovated in 2009 as a 4-star hotel, is the starting point of a new activity that prioritizes aesthetic rejuvenation and hospitality.In the historical centre of Athens, 50 metres from the Metaxourghio metro station, within walking distance of the National Archaeological Museum, the main railway station and the suburban railway, the hotel is an ideal home-base for direct access to all of the cities important destinations, as well as to the airport and the port. Additionally, the hotel has free private parking facilities for its customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing