We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a simple lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna O Thespis - CLOSED

Taverna O Thespis
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Plaka
San Juan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great for a simple lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were near the museum and I had read about this tavern here. You can go around the fence of the Acropolis uphil two blocks and then down in the middle of a smaller side street you find this wonderful space they have created with shaded tables and trees. Very nice mid day break. We had simple steak and fried potatoes, very good. Also tried the fried cod with garlic sauce, not bad but not great. The garlic sauce is something I did not expect, but I am no greek food expert. Interesting, but maybe the steak was a better choice. Overall good food, excellent value and a very nice shaded space.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We went here due to the location (convenient, yet quiet & Acropolis views) and the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews. While it wasn't terrible, it was overall a disappointing meal. My wife did not like her entree at all, and mine was fine but nothing overly special. On a positive note, the wine included in the prix-fixe meals was enjoyable and a good deal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best part of Athens - YOU MUST EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Highly recommended by several tour guides we made a point of finding this wonderful restaurant located half-way up the stepped Thespidos Lane in Athens Greece. It was well worth the time to find and we think the traditional specialty of Bekri Meze (pork with sauce) was spectacular! Eat outside if the weather permits and enjoy the views.....you will enjoy authentic Greek food at its finest!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Our favorite taverna in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We went to Taverna O Thespis on each of our four stays in Athens during our five-week Greek trip in April and May 2012. We kept going back because of its wonderful location just under the Acropolis and above the Plaka, its reliably good, standard Greek taverna fare, and its relatively low prices. People who have given this restaurant poor reviews herein complain that the food is "standard." And? What is wrong with "standard Greek taverna food"? Standard Greek taverna food is wonderful! It is only when a restaurant serves food that does not meet the high standard of good Greek taverna fare that it should be avoided. Having eaten at dozens of tavernas throughout Greece, I can attest that Taverna O Thespis is NOT below standard. The food is quite good, and extremely reasonably priced by Athens standards. I loved eating outside in their beautiful vine shaded terrace, which has a nice view. The service was friendly, and prompt. I would recommend any of their fish or seafood dishes.
This was really our Athens restaurant of choice, for quality, price, and charming location.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Poor service, average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Went with a friend. Unfortunately we were seated indoor with a huge school group. A water poured water on our plate and barely apologized. Horta contained small stones. All the else was just average. Avoid of you can.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pireogatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna O Thespis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing