We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ta Giouvetsakia

Ta Giouvetsakia
Ranked #1,694 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$24 - US$48
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Plaka
Description: Ηistorically located in Athens, in the scenic area of Plaka (Athens old town), just below the Acropolis Hill , Taverna “Ta Giouvetsakia” welcomes you.This traditional, family owned and operated -for more than 50 years- tavern, is specialized in Greek cuisine.​​Over the years, Taverna “Ta Giouvetsakia” became a meeting point for actors, politicians and families that were looking for quality.
1 review
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and friendly staff in the heart of Plaka. Beautiful and fun environment, tons of tourists but with a local flare! Kostas and Manos make you feel at home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvaniaLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    80
    61
    38
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not the best experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I can see others have had a good experience at this restaurant but it was a big miss for us. When we arrived, we were told that we might not get a table, then they suddenly decided yes we could have a table but we would have to wait a while. We understood that, but mayhem followed.

They came and gave us menus. We looked through them and after a while they brought out meals which weren't ours - we hadn't yet ordered. We told them we hadn't ordered and they weren't our meals. At this, they took our menus away but didn't take our order. They seemed to still think we had already ordered. A few times we tried to get their attention and explain we were stil waiting for our order to be taken but this seemed to be interpreted as we were waiting for our order to come. When people arrived after us and not only had their orders taken but meals served we got rather annoyed. Finally we made them understand and the orders were taken - lamb souvlaki and chicken souvlaki. We had seen other people ordering and it looked nice. My husband got lamb with the flat bread, yoghurt and salad accompanimnets. I got a chicken kebab and a serve of fried chips. When I asked why I didn't get a plate of food like my husband ie chicken souvlaki, not chicken kebab the answer was "that is how the chicken comes". Again it took forever to get attention for the bill.

They also advertise free wifi and I got it up and running but not without a great deal of trouble - the staff couldn't seem to remember the password and when it did run it was quite slow, very slow.
We didn't leave a tip.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very nice food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Fantastic food, very serviceable staff. Nice atmosfaire at the center of plaka. Don't miss giouvetsi and pita giros.
At the end they offer us Greek halvas.
We ll comeback soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andpapado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
464 reviews
391 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A traditional taverna on a touristy street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Of all the tavernas on Adrianou, I think this is the most authentic one. The waiters are old school and the atmosphere inside and out screams tradition. I went for a light lunch and asked the waiter's advise. I had spanokopita, a healthy portion of two large pieces, and the octopus in vinegar with a glass of white wine. It was an enjoyable experience but there were a lot of flies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stumbled upon Giouvestsakia, while looking for lunch in the Plaka. As we passed the outdoor diners, they confirmed the food they were eating was as good as it looked.

We enjoyed a great meal of tzatziki and fried cheese, then chicken gyros. Delicious!

There are four or five modern WCs available, being kept constantly clean by a staff member.

Ask for Constantine and tell him you would "love" to eat there, and you'll be treated like royalty!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJefferson515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ta Giouvetsakia also viewed

 

Been to Ta Giouvetsakia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing