We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tiny room, great location,and best value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Diamond Homtel
Ranked #64 of 325 Hotels in Athens
syria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“tiny room, great location,and best value”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

the location of this hotel is unbeatable, few steps from sintagma square, easy access by bus x95 from airport which stops 100 meter away at mitropoleos street. few steps also from ermu the main shopping street in old athens, minutes only to plaka and easy walk to all major sites.
TiNY is the exact ward that describes this hotel.. tiny reception, tiny elevator, smallest room i have ever stayed in ( may be because it was my 1st time in a single room !!).
however, the hotel is modern and up to date, excellent receptionists especially the great yanni who managed to contact the airport many times to ask about my lost bag...
the breakfast was solid and good , WI FI is free in all areas.
best value for money.. 81 euros per night..!!! what a deal for a hotel at the very center of athens.
recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marwan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    238
    81
    28
    14
See reviews for
72
334
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Diamond Hotel in Plaka Athens for few days the end of June 2013.
Its location is extremely convenient with a lot of tourist “places to visit”, restaurants, and shopping, at walking distance.
The entrance and the lobby are tiny and the single elevator is only good for two regular size people.
As soon as we arrived a young man took our luggage from the sidewalk into a tiny room before the lobby, which look like the bar, and promised to have them in our room as soon as we register.
We were a bit disappointed because the space was so tight, but we had no choice. We registered and given the electronic key to our room (if I can remember correctly it was #305).
As soon as we opened the door though, UAWWW! The room not only was a good size, but had a separate sitting area with a couch and a round table with very good quality chairs. There were two big windows and In general the room was very clean, with modern furniture, very comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and very nice décor and lighting. The free Wi-Fi was working perfectly and the internet speed was very good
The bathroom was very large and modern, and the shower extra large with pressure water valves and hand shower.
The breakfast area is tight but with modern decor and furniture, and the breakfast very good with lots of choices including fresh fruit., and very friendly and helpful personnel.
All areas were clean and new looking and the price reasonable.
With no hesitation I recommend the Diamond hotel to every body that is looking for a nice place to stay in the heart of Athens.

Room Tip: Be careful if you decide to use the stairway . It is steep and without railing to hold on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Conveniently located almost next to Syntagma Square means the hotel is easy to access from the airport by both the metro and a bus (line X95) and it's just a short walk away from some of the most important sights.

The room I was given was on one of the lowest floors. Despite this, it was surprisingly quiet with no much traffic could be heard from the street, especially when the balcony doors were closed. The air conditioning worked well on a hot summer day.

As the hotel has been operational for couple of years only, you would expect it to be in good condition. This, indeed, was the case. I didn't notice any stains on the walls and the furnitures were like new. The only thing that could have been fixed was the floor tiles, that were cracked / loose right at the entrance inside the room. The floor at that point was hollow without any support.

Breakfast was included in the price and it consisted of salad, warm pastries, eggs etc. For such a small hotel, the variety of the breakfast was quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joge_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The location is something one can surely emphasize. It is located right in the city center, the Syntagma station is one minute of walk. The hotel is overall nice. The WiFi works. Some of the hotel parts probably already need a renovation, as these were probably made of lower quality materials, but not some major issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clovek55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Athens Diamond Hotel is very centrally located and is close to shopping, restaurants and a great souvlaki shop called Costa's (by the little church around the corner...highly recommend this). The room and bathroom we stayed in was large and in an eclectic style however we found it hadn't been maintained well over time. Little things like mismatched lighting and broken curtain rails brought down the tone of the room. It was also very hot in the hotel which wasnt centrally air conditioned. The room did have A/C though which is essential in summer. Also the shower really needs replacing - it's a jet shower and didn't work and the handheld shower wouldn't stay on its stand. The shower also wasn't cleaned very well. Service was ok, but no personal touches. Overall ok for a short stay but really needs to update in order to match the promotional photos on their website.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Spacious rooms with a delicious breakfast. More items on the buffet than any place we stayed on our 18day trip. Great location in walking distance to many attractions. The hotel was very hot in the summer, but that will be the case with Athens in general.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dmwpmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYdney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Centrally located right in the middle of the shopping district (just off ermou) between plaka and syntagma. This is a modern and quirky boutique hotel. It is quite tiny so don't expect someone to take your bags to your room if arriving at an odd hour. Additionally, their lobby is small consisting of just a reception desk, a few computers up a few steps, and a few chairs and tables a few steps down at the entrance.
Breakfast is included and quite worthwhile. Breakfast staff are friendly and helpful, as was Yianni at reception.
The rooms are decorated in all different designs using mostly white as a base. They are fun, modern and comfortable. They definitely have character. They also come with a balcony.
Next time I'm in Athens I'll definitely be staying here. It's modern, unpretentious, very well priced and best of all the location can't be beaten. What more would you need for a city hotel?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyalleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#40 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Athens Diamond Plus
#108 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Plaka
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#65 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Homtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Homtel

Property: Athens Diamond Homtel
Address: 24 Voulis | Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Athens Diamond Homtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATHENS DIAMOND HOMTEL is located in Athens city center that opened its doors in May 2010. It aims to attract people who appreciate quality and provide high standards for the demanding guest. The Athens Diamond hoMtel consists of 20 luxurious suites and rooms with unique character, elegantly decorated, for guests who seek stylish and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Diamond Homtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing