We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athens Diamond Homtel
Ranked #55 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent location, near Syntagma Square. Room is very very small, barely enough to move about. I had a single, so maybe the double might be bigger. Decor is very contemporary modern, nothing extraordinarily exciting. Adequate for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crashlander8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel was amazing! Rooms were a good size with nice balconies( we had a corner room ). Breakfast on the roof was lovely! We couldn't get enough of the greek yoghurt and fruit! Staff were super friendly and helpful! The only criticism we had was the size of the actual shower, but hey, we have a big shower at home, and that is not the reason we travel! All in all, a fabulous hotel, very highly recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllieandSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Athens Diamond and the hotel is great. The location is absolutely the best. There are great restaurants close by, and it's right next to the main shopping street in Athens. It was an easy and enjoyable walk to the Acropolis, and to the other main ancient sites. The front desk was very friendly and fluent in English. It's easy to get cabs from the main square which is a block away. Our room was spacious and was decorated like in a purple/mauve theme. We noticed each room was very unique. The breakfast area is on the top floor, and the food is fine. The elevator is a bit small, but it does the job. We found Athens as a whole very beautiful and the people were very nice. The prices were very reasonable, especially compared to other European capitals. We found the food better in Athens than we did in Italy or France. The only negative we experienced on the entire Greece trip had nothing to do with the hotel, but with the Athens metro. We decided to take the metro to the Hotel, but we made the mistake of not validating our ticket in the beginning of the metro line. When we arrived in the metro main square, the police roaming the metro station asked for our tickets (since it was obvious we were just arriving as we had a lot of luggage). We tried to explain it's our first trip to Greece, we only speak English, and we didn't realize we had to validate at the beginning. We even showed the receipt of the purchase. But no avail, we were cited for traveling the metro without a ticket (even though we kept showing the ticket to the officer). So tip is to validate in the beginning, or take a taxi. We took a taxi on our departure, and it was very reasonably priced, since we reserved ahead of time. If we go to Athens again, we'd definitely stay in this hotel again, but we'd take a taxi into the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of January and really enjoyed our stay. The room was of a good size, the bathroom as well and even if the room was facing the Mitropoleos street we didn't found it noisy.
Room was clean, beds rather comfortable.
The staff that we meet were friendly and open minded.
Maybe the only negative if we call it like that was the breakfast which was not too rich and with poor quality of coffee and the unreliable wi-fi connection.
Overall, we left Diamond Hotel having good memories, thank you !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Misfits7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fantastic price and located right in the town which gives you really easy access to all the key hot spots. Visit the museum its breath taking. Don't avoid the little tavernas believe it or not the tastiest food we had was from little stalls serving incredible kebabs.

The hotel staff are really friendly here and could not do enough for us. The room i stayed in was huge really clean and lovely bathroom. The shower was amazing!

I had a balcony over looking the city streets which was nice.

Be warned the safest part of this holiday was the increased poverty and being an animal lover there are hundreds of stray dogs in the city, the council apparently but it was heart breaking to see, please get an extra meal to give them a treat.

Over all the night life was incredible, brilliant hotel, fantastic sights.

Would visit again in the same hotel.

Room Tip: i stayed in 204 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It appears that Athens Diamond itself are a few hotels located rather close to one another. We stayed in two separate rooms at the Diamond HoMtel.

Reception was extremely friendly and helpful upon both check in and check out. There is free internet and laptop usage in a loft room off of the lobby. Breakfast was varied - self service. There was something for everyone and as it was only @ 2 euros extra on the booking, it was well worth it. They arranged taxis in seconds (although you can easily find one outside the door if need be) and allowed us to store our luggage until our later departure.

The rooms were spacious and they even had a single bed pull out from one of the lounge chairs so would really suit a family with a child or an extra friend who is traveling. All the usual amenities were there as was a little fridge and coffee / tea area with wine glasses, cups etc. No mini bar however it was nice that there was a facility to make your own mini bar which is probably more desirable than drinking some hotels overpriced drinks.

Location was superb. If you want to be in downtown Athens then you can't go too wrong with this place. It is sat right in the entrance of the Plaka area and you can see the acropolis from the rooftop restaurant. It is two minutes from the Syntagma Metro and there are an abundance of excellent restaurants and cafes located close by. I was going to book us at one of the 5* hotels along Syntagma however due to the recent economic pressures, there can sometimes be protests out on Syntagma Square and I wanted to avoid any unnecessary noise in front of the hotel.

You can see that although they strive to be a boutique hotel, it isn't a plush boutique but rather a DIY sort of boutique where someone had a decent vision for design but used accessories from Poundland to execute them. None-the-less in terms of service, location and price - it deserves a 5* rating on tripadvisor. However the quality of decor let it down slightly and to set expectations I've given it a very good 4*.

I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on two different floors both located next to the lifts. There was no noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Young stuff, very helpful and willing to assist with everything. Rooms are spacious, shower is a nice surprise and decoration is modern; good fit for young couples and travellers. I liked the breakfast being served at the roof garden, nice view. The location is central but this has the downside that you might hear noise from the street during the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 281 in Athens
966 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Best Western Amazon Hotel
#42 of 281 in Athens
979 reviews
Syntagma
Electra Hotel Athens
Electra Hotel Athens
#36 of 281 in Athens
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 281 in Athens
1,794 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#47 of 281 in Athens
598 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 281 in Athens
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Homtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Homtel

Address: 24 Voulis | Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Athens Diamond Homtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATHENS DIAMOND HOMTEL is located in Athens city center that opened its doors in May 2010. It aims to attract people who appreciate quality and provide high standards for the demanding guest. The Athens Diamond hoMtel consists of 20 luxurious suites and rooms with unique character, elegantly decorated, for guests who seek stylish and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Diamond Homtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing