We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gazohori

Gazohori
Ranked #1,663 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Psirri / Gazi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A great find in the heart of Athens!!.. ended up visiting on 2 occasions whilst there for a week!

Vibrant atmopshere & delicious food!!.. be sure to try the meat balls/pitta & the pork!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurax85x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Students' corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Greek mezes, wine, greek music, good prices considering the quality. Near to the metro station Kerameikos. I highly recomend it to students, tourists and those who want to have good food and fun with their friends near to the center of Athens.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank irini_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
207 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We visited Gazohori yesterday night. We were company of 4 friends. We were searching a place with good music and good but not expensive food.

Gazohori is placed near the square of well-known nightlife place in the center of Athens called Gazi. The one member of the company had visited several times the place in the past. So after searching a little bit the area we decided to go there. I found the place good but overcrowded. I skipp this as almost all places which are same are like this especially in this area. We found a good place to sit but then we realised that we were near the door which was mostly open...so it was cold!!!

As i work in a same restaurant this period of time i decided to make the order. We ordered Keftedakia (meatballs), fried potatoes, Saganaki (grilled cheese) and Pork Tigania (Pork pieces). All wwere very good except from the Tigania... The meat was like chewing gum.

The keftedakia were good and the potatoes so we oredered them second time. The service was not so quick because for twenty tables were only 2 waiters as I count.

The price was not so good for the portions that they serve. Not expensive but a little bit overpriced.

Finally a good thing was the compliment sweet that we were served at the end. Chocolate pie, Ekmek, Kazan Ntibi and Panacota. All were great. We put excellent in this!!!

Probably I will go again sometime...Stay away on Friday and Saturday night!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Funky Funky Funky!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Gazahori is well funky! Situated in the uber happening Gazi district in Athens surrounded by bars and clubs I was a bit sceptical if I was going to get a good feed here, I was not disappointed!

We went on a Wedensday night and pretty much every single table in this restaurant was mobbed. We managed to grab a table outside and was able to watch the world go by as we munched on our middle eastern inspired meze. We started with some salty saganaki in a spicy sauce (which by UK tastes wasn't overly spicy), we also had the Sudzuk which were fennel infused meatballs in tomato sauce. We then shared a small variety plate which contained a selection of pastries, grilled meats and yummy potato salad.

Sit out and watch the world go buy with a beer and some tasty stuff. Reasonable prices and decent enough service (although it took a while to pay!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad feelings after eating their foods and drinking their boos..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We visited twice this restaurant, we did have much fun, BUT after we left, all of us felt like been poisoned. I don't know if it was the food or the drinks, I know for sure that I will never come back. It a shame...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gazohori also viewed

Athens, Attica
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Gazohori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing