We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crisis? What Crisis?”

Smile Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 3,632 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Thissio / Makriyanni
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Crisis? What Crisis?”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

After spending the afternoon in our posh hotel around the corner paying 33€ for three small beers and four small souvlaki, whilst listening to screaming children that hogged the swimming pool, we were keen to escape. TripAdvisor to the rescue - 5 minutes later we were sitting in 'Smile' and 33€ later we had had, half carafe of wine, a large beer, Greek salad, two sizeable and delicious main courses, finished off with 'donuts' and ice cream AND an impromptu Greek language lesson. No guessing which was the best value!
We'll be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    390
    147
    46
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I tried couple of restaurants in the area but I wasn't satisfied until if came across this Greek restaurant. The portion were good, and tasty. I ordered some meatballs which were served with a rice with safran. A good choice

Helpful?
Thank kirikou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice meal!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Seems like a kind of kitchy touristy place, but it was really tasty and really hospitable! One of the best and cheapest meals we had... a great place for a short bite between museums and sites! Also, the free wifi is lovely. Definitely recommend the soulvaki here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyGrebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good value for the money!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We ordered from the "Crisis" menu...we got a glass of wine, a Greek salad, bread and an entrée for 7.5 euro. It was delicious! If you are in Athens on a budget or just need a good lunch, visit Smile Cafe!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wendylawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Found this place through a flyer on a lamp post and the kids wanted to go there immediately. I didn't expect much but I got a pleasant surprise. It says family run and it is, all the family are there and the daughter who served us was genuinely pleasant, not just being nice for a tip like normal waitresses. Chatted to my 11 year old son like he was her best friend and he loved it.

I ordered a named beer but she asked why didn't I try a local beer so I did, not only was it great, it was also cheaper, that never happened in a restaurant before!

Food was excellent and plentiful, if you are in Athens eat here at least once, do it on your first day and I promise you will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smile Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Smile Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing